We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience!”
Review of Bankhead Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bankhead Farm
Ranked #1 of 2 Broxburn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 January 2011

We stayed in the 3 bedroom (luxurious beds and ensuites to all rooms!) 5 star self-catering accommodation on the farm for the Christmas break.
It really was the most amazing find. We arrived late on Christmas Eve (my bag was 'mislaid' by the airline) to find a warm and spacious housie ready for our stay.
We loved the views, the log fire, the cosy lounge, the beautiful Christmas tree, the lovely finishes throughout, the perfect location for exploring Edinburgh and the surrounds and the pure luxury of all the little extras.
We wish we were still visiting! Thank you for a superb holiday getaway.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clean-Sleuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Bankhead Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 44 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2010

what a find, rooms are very nice and furnished to a high standard. breakfast was really good, nice selection of fresh produce. check in and check out no hassle and really good value.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duane30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

You will not be disappointed if you stay here! Bankhead has spectacular views and is in a fantastic location for Edinburgh. The owners Robert and Heather are warm and welcoming, with a special mention required for Heather's poached eggs! The view from the dining room is amazing and the lambs were entertaining to watch.
The rooms are modern and spacious with every mod-con, including wifi and a wonderful jacuzzi bath. There is a communal area . We will definitely be back!
If you want to get away from the toils and stresses of modern life, please come here for a complete chill out and a very warm welcome from such wonderful people. The best!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maccylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

I stayed at Bankhead before my wedding and it was simply a DISASTER!! There was no water! Lousy breakfast and the owner and another man were banging outside our door until 2am. I got no apology off them and they weren't honest about the fact there was no water the next morning. In fact, they were rude when I mentioned it.

I would never recommend this awful place to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Byfie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BankheadBob, Owner at Bankhead Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2010

I apologise that your stay did not meet our usual high standards. This was due to a broken balcock which caused a loss of water for a few hours. We did offer bottled water and an alternative room. We take great pride in our hospitality and cleanliness. I realise that you were unhappy with your discount. There was no charge made for late check out at 2 p.m. or for the 3 cancelled rooms. The charge for the double room cancelled at 10 p.m. on arrival day was less than half the fee for booking and was only incurred after turning away passing trade at 7.30 p.m. I hope that your pictures came out well and captured the panoramic views. Yours is our first complaint in over 10 years and is taken seriously

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank christine1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BankheadBob, Owner at Bankhead Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jean-Luc L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BankheadBob, Owner at Bankhead Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flavio99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broxburn
Mercure Livingston
#3 of 4 in Livingston
544 reviews
Airport
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Champany Inn
#1 of 2 in Linlithgow
186 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
1,960 reviews
Bankton House Hotel
#4 of 7 in Livingston
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bankhead Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bankhead Farm

Address: Dechmont, Broxburn EH52 6NB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > West Lothian > Broxburn
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Broxburn
Price Range: £55 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bankhead is a quiet tranquil spot in Central Scotland with superb panoramic views of the Pentland and Ochil Hills and over the Forth to Fife. We offer Good quality B&B or Self catering accommodation. We are ideally located close to Broxburn, Livingston, Linlithgow, Edinburgh and Glasgow. Edinburgh airport is under 20 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bankhead Farm Broxburn, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing