We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, very good food”
Review of Gurkha Kitchen - CLOSED

Gurkha Kitchen
Price range: US$8 - US$39
Cuisines: Indian, Nepalese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Welcome to The Gurkha Kitchen, an Nepalese and Indian Cuisine at Boxburn.The Gurkha Kitchen offers such authentic food from the Himalayan region that you may get completely lost in the fresh herbs and spices. Forget that you are in the Broxburn,‎ West Lothian of Edinburgh, and let the aromas of cardamom and cumin take you to the land of the tallest mountains in the world. Enjoy the panorama photographs of the Himalaya as you savor the flavors of Nepal and India. Nepal is the country known as birth place of Budhha ,Highest peak in the world Mt. Everest and great bravery of Gurkha soldiers.Gurkhas come from the hills of Nepal and have been recruited to serve in the British Army for almost 200 years. The incredible bravery and loyalty of these remarkable people has won them great respect and affection. Today, the Gurkhas remain an important part of the British Army. In more recent times, Gurkhas have served in the Falklands and Gulf Wars, Iraq, and Afghanistan. Peacekeeping missions have taken them to Kosovo, Bosnia, East Timor and Sierra Leone. We are here to serve Nepalese traditional food with friendly manner of service together with great quality freshly prepare food by Nepalese Chef with his own style at its most authentic and vibrant form. Our aim is to stand out from the crowd to enhance Traditional Nepalese food in most significant way as in Nepal.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent value, very good food”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Had a £6.95 lunch and it was the best value meal I've had for a very long time. Very nice food, excellent surroundings and terrific service. We will be back at dinner time to sample more that this excellent restaurant has to offer

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingtame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GurkhasKitchen, Manager at Gurkha Kitchen, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam
Thanks for sharing your Experience In TA.
IN fact This Lunch special Menu is Meal Deal Offer to try our food .
We have got varities of dishes with lot of choices in Regular ALA CARTE Menu .
We encourage you to try our dinner menu we hope you will not get dissapoint.

THanks _/\_
GUrkha KItchen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    18
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“The Gurkha Kitchen Broxburn”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

A taxi driver suggested this restaurant as one of two options. We are so pleased we decided on The Gurkha Kitchen. Our meal experiences were deliciously exquisite. We would definitely return. the dishes were prepared with skill, care and were presented to please.

The staff were attentive and gave good service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ZAC_ZACL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GurkhasKitchen, Manager at Gurkha Kitchen, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Sir/ Madam
GUrkha KItchen Team Feel Pleasure to see your views on TA about our Restaurantant and got to know that you enjoyed our food.
Thanks to Taxi Driver that we got the oppurtinuty to serve you.
HOpe to See you again Very Soon

THank You _/\_
Gurkha Kitchen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Busy Indian, nice decor, average food, staff pleasant”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Following the reviews on TA we decided to try the Gurkha Kitchen. We were a little disappointed. We eat around the UK and love Indian food. The portions were large but the chicken was a bit bland and dry. Curry sauces were ok, perhaps that's a bit hard, they were good. Liked the atmosphere, it was a busy Friday night. Wouldn't rush back

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank johncuk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GurkhasKitchen, Manager at Gurkha Kitchen, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam
We would like thank you for giving your precious time to share the experience about our Restaurant.
Satisfied customer are our Asset and reward. And for that our whole team try to give maximum effort. Unfortunately sometime we lack. We are extremely sorry about the experience you have got in our restaurant but your feelings definetly gonna motivate us to reach the destination.
We hope you will give us one more oppurtinity to serve you and hope that you will find the difference .
HOpe to see you again

THanks _/\_
GUrkha KItchen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent quality and value”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Visited this restaurant last Saturday and very was very pleasantly surprised. Great staff, polite friendly and attentive, without intruding. The food was excellent and plentiful. Great value for money and beats any restaurant in the area hands down. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

This was our visit after moving back to Broxburn and we very impressed with both the quality of the service and food. Great value for money and we would definitely recommend. We look forward to returning.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AvidTraveller012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gurkha Kitchen also viewed

Broxburn, West Lothian
Livingston, West Lothian
 
Broxburn, West Lothian
Broxburn, West Lothian
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing