We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food”
Review of Gurkha Kitchen - CLOSED

Gurkha Kitchen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$39
Cuisines: European, Asian, Nepalese, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to The Gurkha Kitchen, an Nepalese and Indian Cuisine at Boxburn.The Gurkha Kitchen offers such authentic food from the Himalayan region that you may get completely lost in the fresh herbs and spices. Forget that you are in the Broxburn,‎ West Lothian of Edinburgh, and let the aromas of cardamom and cumin take you to the land of the tallest mountains in the world. Enjoy the panorama photographs of the Himalaya as you savor the flavors of Nepal and India. Nepal is the country known as birth place of Budhha ,Highest peak in the world Mt. Everest and great bravery of Gurkha soldiers.Gurkhas come from the hills of Nepal and have been recruited to serve in the British Army for almost 200 years. The incredible bravery and loyalty of these remarkable people has won them great respect and affection. Today, the Gurkhas remain an important part of the British Army. In more recent times, Gurkhas have served in the Falklands and Gulf Wars, Iraq, and Afghanistan. Peacekeeping missions have taken them to Kosovo, Bosnia, East Timor and Sierra Leone. We are here to serve Nepalese traditional food with friendly manner of service together with great quality freshly prepare food by Nepalese Chef with his own style at its most authentic and vibrant form. Our aim is to stand out from the crowd to enhance Traditional Nepalese food in most significant way as in Nepal.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Great food and service. Friendly staff. We enjoyed it immensely. We were tired and looked around for somewhere nice to eat which took sometime, then we saw this restaurant and gave it a go. Which turns out to be the best thing we did. Great restaurant, would thoroughly recommend it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    18
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Fantastic authentic food, fabulous service and stunning decor! You won't find food like this anywhere elce in broxburn! Well worth the trip and you will be amazed at the price!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicholson95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This restaurant is definitely worth a visit, the staff are friendly, the food is amazing, very fresh and tasty and the décor is lovely. We went for lunch and were so impressed we went back for dinner the following week.

Will be going back soon!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Weelinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best curry we've ever had!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were recommended this restaurant and it didn't disappoint; the food was superb, the atmosphere buzzing (we were there on a Saturday night) and the staff busy but attentive.
Our food was served quite quickly after ordering; portions were fine, well cooked and tasty. Flavours were nicely balanced and not overpowering.
One terrific surprise was the price of the wine - for a restaurant, it was quite cheap! Several bottles were in the £10-12 range - for the same wine in other restaurants expect about £20, so all in a mighty fine place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pierre369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GurkhasKitchen, Manager at Gurkha Kitchen, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Sir
Heartly thanks for giving your precious time to share your experience of our restaurant.
Team Gurkha Kitchen feel pleasure to know that you enjoyed in our restaurant and you found the place with good food with reasonable price and with varities of drinks as well.
Hope to see u soon.
Thanks
Gurkha Kitchen Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“I'd drive the 30 miles again!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Broxburn is not a place that I expected would have a restaurant serving delicious food. How wrong I was. My wife and I dropped into the Gurkha Kitchen at 5.30pm, before going to watch the local schools show. I'd looked at the reviews and thought it looked interesting. Well, its even better than that. The food was extremely tasty; not over-burdened with spices; delicately cooked and well served. The veg platter to start was different to the 'usual Indian' style - tasty and nicely presented. The Gurkha beer is worth taking - smooth and light ..a perfect compliment to the food, although my wife started with one of the Gin based cocktails - delicious she said! Onto the main courses and I had what I'd remember as a fish curry although it was described eloquently in the menu! It was delicious, and I'd recommend it unless you are a Vindaloo maniac. Mrs had a Chicken dish which came in an enormous bowl.. a bit like an oval casserole dish. Made with fruits in a tasty, creamy sauce, it suited her tastes for good food which is not spicy, and with chicken which was cooked to perfection. Sure enough, it was far too big a portion for her to finish so I took over and polished the plate clean. Along with the chapati and coconut rice!
We finished at that as it was time to go round the corner to the school show - the extremely pleasant waiter gave us the bill, and remarked that few folk managed to finish the chicken dish! Haha, remarked my wife... thats why he's as big as he is!! referring to my girth.

The meal was that good that we took the takeaway menus and gave some to put in the teachers staffroom.
If you are ever near Broxburn, its worth a visit to the Gurkha Kitchen - different from the usual Indian restaurants, and has raised my perception of Broxburn no end! Broxburn's a really nice place after all, so sorry to its villagers!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GurkhasKitchen, Manager at Gurkha Kitchen, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam
Team Gurkha Kitchen heartly appreciated with you for giving us the oppurtunity to serve you. and like to thank you for giving your precious time to share the experience about the Broxburn and of course about Gurkha Kitchen Restaurant.
In fact, that Gurkha Special Dish was bit bigger in portion size but Gurkha Kitchen team always feel pleasure when we see the clean plates from the guest table. Satisfied customer is our asset and your review is our reward.
We will always try to continue to give our best.
Thank for your motivation and support this is alot for us.

HOpe to see you again.

Thank you _/\_
Gurkha KItchen Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gurkha Kitchen also viewed

Livingston, West Lothian
Broxburn, West Lothian
 
Broxburn, West Lothian
 
Broxburn, West Lothian
Broxburn, West Lothian
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing