We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating with our French Friends”
Review of Le Central

Le Central
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Coulon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Eating with our French Friends”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We visited to this superb restaurant in Coulon on a Friday evening during June. It is in the heart of the village with adequate parking close by and disabled parking right outside the hotel. It has a nice atmosphere, the tables are well spaced, allowing for quiet conversation.We were a party of 4 adults and a 7 year old.The service was attentive but not over bearing.
The menu was interesting and the wine list extensive.We were given ample time make our choices while having an aperitif. We choose the 38 euro menu. Although there was a child's menu,there was nothing our 7 year old liked. we asked if he could have some pasta and they willingly obliged.
The starter of beetroot marinaded trout was delicious( highly recommended) Our main courses of succulent duck, tasty lamb and fish could not be faulted. Deserts were equally delicious and beautifully presented
.As stated by other reviewers, there is inner courtyard for those who enjoy eating outside on a summers evening, a great option.
We rate this as one of the best restaurants in the area, excellent food and great value
Suggest making a reservation during the tourist season

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holly1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    110
    24
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Turnhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good quality, good price”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We visited Hotel restaurant Le Central by visiting Coulon, France. We didn't know what to expect, so it became an excellent surprise. We took the 'local menu', it was good, our eyes and our taste were enjoying.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lieve2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

See my hotel review for more details. Suffice it to say that it was the best deal in town and a delightful experience. Ask for a table in the inner courtyard. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank retired-ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Visited with partner and 15 year old son while on holiday on the recommendation of friends who live nearby for an evening meal. It was a wonderful experience for all of us. The dining room was beautifully set up and the service was faultless. We had one set menu which was just under 20 euros and the others ate a la carte. Lots of choice. I had oysters (as did my son) followed by a beautifully cooked piece of sea bream and a raspberry macaroon desert with local angelica. My partner and son had rack of lamb, which they said was delicious.Central offers excellent wine by the glass at very reasonable prices for the quality of the restaurant. Carafes of water were miraculously refilled without us noticing. We will definitely return next year and are saving for the gourmet meal. In total for 3 the meal with wine was the equivalent of £120 (or £40 per head) so excellent value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maggie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“A real fine dining experience - absolutely faultless”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We booked this restaurant based upon TA reviews and it did not disappoint. Choosing the gourmet menu we enjoyed a terrific dining experience with courses of the finest ingredients incredibly presented, the lamb was probably the pick. The wine menu is equally extensive and offers some real value in its selections. Service was excellent with discrete but attentive staff. We visited on a mid-week evening and the place was busy, so booking is a must.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Central also viewed

 

Been to Le Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing