We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and Quiet”
Review of Taylard House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taylard House
Ranked #1 of 2 Gamlingay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I arrived wet and tired after a long walk in heavy rain. Sue gave me a friendly welcome and made me coffee straight away. The house is large and next to the church (old vicarage?), traditionally furnished and full of books which you are welcome to read. My room was big and light, just next to separate toilet and bathrooms which I had to myself. Very peaceful night's sleep - completely restorative.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Taylard House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

This is an excellent B&B.

Sue and Andy were very friendly and welcoming at all times.

A very comfortable quiet bedroom and drawing room.

Breakfast was freshly cooked and very good.

Would go again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snowdenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

A friendly welcome, somewhere to put my bike, and a welcome cup of tea. The room was large with a very comfortable bed and a good en-suite shower room. The house is very characterful.

Breakfast was freshly cooked and high quality.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CbgTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed here end of March 2012 for just one night. Both hosts were very friendly and helpful. We were offered tea on arrival with caramel chocolate digestives :-) The room was large, clean and bright with a pleasant view over the front garden. It was a very quiet location so managed to have an excellent nights sleep. As with the bedroom, the bathroom was large and very clean. An excellent cooked breakfast was provided, with tea and orange juice (porridge and continental breakfast was also available) I Would highly recommend to anyone. If I had to mention anything negatives at all, I would suggest some tea making facilities were avavailable in the room as I often like a cup in the evening or on waking in the morning.

Also I can highly recommend the Indian Restaurant (Jannah) which is a 5 minute walk away. We arrived without a reservation were promptly seated. Both the service and the food was excellent. Try the Jannah Curry (has a fried banana on top).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wackojacko007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We needed a B&B for an overnight stay when we went to a birthday party. We were made to feel very welcome and given keys so we could come in as late as we wanted. The owners also kindly provided a list of taxi companies and contact details for us. The room was a very high standard and very comfortable. We were able to ask for breakfast at the best time for us and it was delicious. We would certainly stay here again and cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RubyBHound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

As a family group we stayed in three rooms at Taylard House in September 2011 whilst visiting a relative in Gamlingay and we were made to feel very welcome, a home from home.

The house is set in nice, well kept gardens and the rooms are of a high standard - we would highly recommend a stay here..

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strimstrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Wonderful b& b, the best we stayed in in England whilst touring. Hosts were welcoming nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful breakfast and outlook onto garden. Hotel and supermarket within walking distance. Every need catered for. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The front room overlooking the garden.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie5161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gamlingay
5.5 mi away
The Waterfront Hotel, Spa & Golf
5.1 mi away
Abbotsley Golf Hotel
Abbotsley Golf Hotel
#4 of 4 in St Neots
130 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Cambridge Belfry - A QHotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Potton Nest Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Fullers Hill Cottages
Fullers Hill Cottages
#1 of 1 in Little Gransden
85 reviews
5.1 mi away
No photo provided
The Eltisley
#1 of 1 in Eltisley
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taylard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylard House

Address: 4 Church Lane, Gamlingay SG19 3EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Gamlingay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gamlingay
Price Range: £53 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taylard House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taylard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing