We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply lovely.”
Review of Taylard House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taylard House
Ranked #1 of 2 Gamlingay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I have just returned from staying at Taylard House for 2 nights with my mother staying in their twin room.

Its a lovely location, a beautiful building and next door to a stunning church and a real delight to hear the bells ringing on Sunday morning. The grounds of Taylard House are very well maintained and I imagine very pleasurable to sit in if the weather is favourable. The house itself is large and exactly what you expect from the pictures. There are lovely homely touches for example to the bathroom (toiletries/flannels etc) that make you feel a welcome guest in an (unintusive) family home. Oh, and I must mention, 100% value for money.....and a very adorable dog!

I hope to return. Also I must say this is someone that lone travellers would feel suitably comfortable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woueza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2012

Sue and Andy are such friendly and warm hosts at this charming bed and breakfast. It is a home away from home and you will be made very welcome. Breakfast was great, our room was very comfortable and clean. There is a lounge for guests which is a big plus. The grounds are beautiful. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katrinaeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Like most people we were attending a wedding at South Farm and our two night stay at Taylard House could not have been more perfect. Charming house and owners. Lovely bedrooms with everything we needed. Comfortable beds. Excellent evening meal and breakfast. Nothing was too much trouble. Lovely touch to have a 'private' taxi. I have no hesitation in recommending the place.

Room Tip: Two rooms are en suite. The other twin and single share a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Very friendly welcome and lovely atmosphere. We attended a wedding at South Farm and they arranged taxi to and from venue. Clean room, comfy bed and very good breakfast - bacon was just about the best we've had! Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yardley_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed for 2 nights for a wedding at South Farm. Sue and Andy were very welcoming and obliging
providing us with champagne glasses, iron, needle and thread and arranged taxi transfers to South Farm. Rooms were large, very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Breakfasts were superb with plenty of choice. I would highly recommend this b and b.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsay1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Wonderful house, full of character. Clean, comfortable rooms and a lovely breakfast (great company too!). Also, they went above and beyond to reunite me with my treasured leather jacket which I foolishly left behind. A lovely, warm place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCW351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This spotlessly clean, spacious, Rectory opposite the villiage church is surrounded by a beautiful, abundant English garden. The rooms are light and airy, the breakfast delicious and the owners (or Debs who may look after you) kind and welcoming. We were let down by another B&B for our wedding weekend at South Farm and Taylard House saved the day. Originally not available that weekend, Sue and Andy kindly let their rooms to us for some of our guests, all who couldn't rate it highly enough. If you are having a wedding at South Farm this is a fantastic place to house guests in a selection of rooms, in a more luxurious setting - the website photo's really don't do it justice. Sue even put out a cot for a couple with a young baby. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Taylard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylard House

Address: 4 Church Lane, Gamlingay SG19 3EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Gamlingay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gamlingay
Price Range: £53 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Taylard House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Taylard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing