We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valley of the horses”
Review of The Queens Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Queens Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Garston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Three miles off the M4 but a million miles away at the same time. We broke up a motorway journey with lunch here rather than call in at any of the ghastly 'services'. From the food to the washrooms, you can tell the owners care. After a week in Cornwall we weren't having fish so dined on homemade bread, steak and ale pie and a beautiful duck leg with haricot bean and chorizo cassoulet and wilted greens. Covered and open outdoor areas to choose from on this summer day but the inside dining room was very attractively decorated.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MosLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

I booked the Queen's Arms last minute after a business trip was confirmed. Adam could not have been more welcoming and flexible, offering me a room (at a lower price) in the main hotel rather than involving a walk outside. Extremely comfortable bed and pillows, I did sleep well. The shower was fabulous and products very pleasant and useable.
I had a delicious dinner, with both staff and customers being very friendly - great service and the breakfast was excellent (and flexible in timing) as well. Dogs welcome and well-behaved - just like being at home (except the cooking is better than mine!)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were looking for somewhere that combined three key ingredients for an overnight getaway; great food, a friendly pub, and comfortable accommodation. The Queens Arms comes very close to being perfect.

Firstly the bar, here there's a selection of perfectly kept, local ales and extremely friendly staff and locals. There is no better feeling than to be able to sit at a bar where you have just arrived for the first time, and to instantly feel at home, relishing the couple of hours to come.

The quality of the food in the restaurant was top notch, and would stand comparison to more expensive establishments. It is certainly at the upper end of the scale for gastro-pub type offerings. The wine list was also very pleasing with some really interesting and sensibly priced wines.

Our room (the Orvis) was excellent, with a very comfortable and generously sized bed. The only negative was that the noise from the kitchen fans could be heard with the window open. I'm a light sleeper, so perhaps being over-critical.

Overall, I felt that our stay was excellent value for money and very reasonably priced. We would certainly go back, and also to recommend to others.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cota247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Difficult to summarise without sounding too critical of a nice place with extremely friendly staff. Dog friendly and welcoming. But the cost does not match the experience. Diffference between B&B and HB £70 a night! Food was OK, but average Pub food and not good value against the price. Fish & chips £12 a portion. Room comfortable but a little small, and the furniture dated, rickety and most certainly in need of replacement. Overall, have definitely had better value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Wonderful ambience, excellent and reasonably priced food.

Unusual to find a "real" pub these days!!

Trip Advisor told me it had to be at least 200 characters so I'm filling it in with this rubbish. Said it all in the first two sentences.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nobby53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This pub is slightly off the beaten track but well worth a visit for ale and a snack at the bar and/or some fine dining in their comfy restaurant area. The food is freshly cooked and promptly served by seemingly happy staff. For the Valley of the Racehorse the Queens offers the best value in the region.
The atmosphere is welcoming and even some of the hardened locals have a kind word by way of a greeting.
If only they would put the liver and bacon back on their menu.
We understand from guests who have stayed there, that the rooms are very clean, comfortable and inexpensive.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

This is the second time that I have visited this pub with my in laws, I can not fault the food and service they are second to none. The interior is great with fantastic antique chairs and a cosy atmosphere. I would highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank koyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Garston
7.1 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Wantage
180 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Faringdon
148 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,906 reviews
5.7 mi away
Crab & Boar
Crab & Boar
#1 of 2 in Chieveley
749 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Arms

Address: Newbury Road, East Garston RG17 7ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > East Garston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Garston
Price Range: £102 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Queens Arms is ideally located just 3 miles from J14 of the M4, the corridor between London and the South West within close proximity of Hungerford (12mins), Newbury (20 mins), Marlborough & Swindon (30 mins). Heathrow is just 50 mins away. The village of East Garston is in the heart of the Valley of the Racehorse and the North Wessex Downs, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The Queens Arms has 12 ensuite rooms, with super comfy beds, fine linen, TV and super fast broad band. Features also include a friendly bar with fireplace, excellent restaurant and a covered outdoor area. The large garden is enclosed, perfect for children and dogs, all of whom are welcome. For private parties, weddings, business meetings and conventions there is The Queens Lodge, a private & exclusive venue with its own south facing enclosed terrace & garden. The Queens Arms has won Best Hotel Award for the past two years and is recommended by Sawdays and The AA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Queens Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Arms Hotel East Garston
The Queens Arms East Garston, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing