We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming venue”
Review of The Queens Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Queens Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Garston
Certificate of Excellence
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming venue”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We have stayed here regularly over the past 5 years , owing to group of tremendous friends whom live in the area. It is a really friendly pub , with great food and individually themed rooms done in a very nice way .
From my room i was over looking some lovely paddocks and had a very nice bathroom . A pleasure to go back to at the end of a long day .
Having been to Newbury Racecourse for a day out we found ourselves hungry very late in the evening and upon asking for food we were accommodated with some gorgeous pizzas , when they could have simply told us the kitchen was closed 10 out of 10 for that service.
We are already planning our next trip back and will once again and look forward to staying at The Queens

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andyg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    50
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
20
54
9
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Three miles off the M4 but a million miles away at the same time. We broke up a motorway journey with lunch here rather than call in at any of the ghastly 'services'. From the food to the washrooms, you can tell the owners care. After a week in Cornwall we weren't having fish so dined on homemade bread, steak and ale pie and a beautiful duck leg with haricot bean and chorizo cassoulet and wilted greens. Covered and open outdoor areas to choose from on this summer day but the inside dining room was very attractively decorated.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MosLyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks.
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I booked the Queen's Arms last minute after a business trip was confirmed. Adam could not have been more welcoming and flexible, offering me a room (at a lower price) in the main hotel rather than involving a walk outside. Extremely comfortable bed and pillows, I did sleep well. The shower was fabulous and products very pleasant and useable.
I had a delicious dinner, with both staff and customers being very friendly - great service and the breakfast was excellent (and flexible in timing) as well. Dogs welcome and well-behaved - just like being at home (except the cooking is better than mine!)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We were looking for somewhere that combined three key ingredients for an overnight getaway; great food, a friendly pub, and comfortable accommodation. The Queens Arms comes very close to being perfect.

Firstly the bar, here there's a selection of perfectly kept, local ales and extremely friendly staff and locals. There is no better feeling than to be able to sit at a bar where you have just arrived for the first time, and to instantly feel at home, relishing the couple of hours to come.

The quality of the food in the restaurant was top notch, and would stand comparison to more expensive establishments. It is certainly at the upper end of the scale for gastro-pub type offerings. The wine list was also very pleasing with some really interesting and sensibly priced wines.

Our room (the Orvis) was excellent, with a very comfortable and generously sized bed. The only negative was that the noise from the kitchen fans could be heard with the window open. I'm a light sleeper, so perhaps being over-critical.

Overall, I felt that our stay was excellent value for money and very reasonably priced. We would certainly go back, and also to recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cota247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Difficult to summarise without sounding too critical of a nice place with extremely friendly staff. Dog friendly and welcoming. But the cost does not match the experience. Diffference between B&B and HB £70 a night! Food was OK, but average Pub food and not good value against the price. Fish & chips £12 a portion. Room comfortable but a little small, and the furniture dated, rickety and most certainly in need of replacement. Overall, have definitely had better value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Wonderful ambience, excellent and reasonably priced food.

Unusual to find a "real" pub these days!!

Trip Advisor told me it had to be at least 200 characters so I'm filling it in with this rubbish. Said it all in the first two sentences.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nobby53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

This pub is slightly off the beaten track but well worth a visit for ale and a snack at the bar and/or some fine dining in their comfy restaurant area. The food is freshly cooked and promptly served by seemingly happy staff. For the Valley of the Racehorse the Queens offers the best value in the region.
The atmosphere is welcoming and even some of the hardened locals have a kind word by way of a greeting.
If only they would put the liver and bacon back on their menu.
We understand from guests who have stayed there, that the rooms are very clean, comfortable and inexpensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Garston
6.8 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,781 reviews
4.9 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
7.6 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Membury M4
Days Inn Membury M4
#2 of 4 in Hungerford
280 reviews
7.4 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
7.6 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Arms

Property: The Queens Arms
Address: Newbury Road, East Garston RG17 7ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > East Garston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Garston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Queens Arms is ideally located just 3 miles from J14 of the M4, the corridor between London and the South West within close proximity of Hungerford (12mins), Newbury (20 mins), Marlborough & Swindon (30 mins). Heathrow is just 50 mins away. The village of East Garston is in the heart of the Valley of the Racehorse and the North Wessex Downs, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The Queens Arms has 12 ensuite rooms, with super comfy beds, fine linen, TV and super fast broad band. Features also include a friendly bar with fireplace, excellent restaurant and a covered outdoor area. The large garden is enclosed, perfect for children and dogs, all of whom are welcome. For private parties, weddings, business meetings and conventions there is The Queens Lodge, a private & exclusive venue with its own south facing enclosed terrace & garden. The Queens Arms has won Best Hotel Award for the past two years and is recommended by Sawdays and The AA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Queens Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Arms Hotel East Garston
The Queens Arms East Garston, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing