We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Charming Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Queens Arms

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Queens Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Garston
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Charming Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for one night in this charming rural hotel, set within a peaceful village and with a delightful beer garden where, apart from the odd car going past, the only sounds to be heard were the birds singing in the trees!

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel very welcome, and throughout our stay nothing seemed too much trouble for the helpful, smiling staff. Dinner in the restaurant was wonderful; the atmosphere was relaxed, the service warm and friendly, the food first class and the wine perfect. Breakfast the next morning was excellent too.

Our bedroom was comfortable with lovely furnishings and a spacious shower room which was modern and very clean. My only complaint (and it is a very minor one) is that the room was uncomfortably warm during the night, even with the window open...a fan would have been useful!

Overall, a great place to stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    47
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
18
54
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hungerford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

I recently arranged to meet some friends at The Queens Arms, East Garston, with it being in such close proximity to the M4. We had no booked and unbeknown to us, the pub was holding a Pilsner Urquell tasting night with BBQ and live music. Despite our lack of booking, and the fact that the pub was extremely busy, we were made to feel very welcome. The menu was explained thoroughly and the staff seemed knowledgable and happy to be working that night as there was a great atmosphere on both sides of the bar. I have since revisited the pub on a lunchtime with my dog and 2 nephews, all of whom were totally fussed over and catered for with treats and colouring books respectively. I highly recommend The Queens Arms and hope to stay there in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonW336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We regularly eat at the Queens & it rarely disappoints. They tend to get very busy at weekends particularly in the summer so best to book for then but mid week is quieter. There is always a friendly greeting for locals & visitors alike & dogs are welcome so great for a pint & a light lunch in the bar if you've been for a hike on the beautiful Lambourn Downs. The menu is varied & delicious & often uses local ingredients like wild mushrooms in season . There are good pub staples like excellent steaks & fish & chips & the asparagus , spinach & pine nut risotto I had last week was to die for. The PUDS are delicious too!
It's a great place for a weekend break at any time of year. The bedrooms have a cosy shooting lodge feel to them & there are lots of places to visit within easy reach.

Room Tip: Each room is different & some are quite small but very cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We visited the queens arms for dinner on Friday evening, the bar and restaurant were both very busy but the service and food were second to none. The young manageress was fantastic as was all the staff, the service was quick and friendly especially considering how busy it was, and we hadn't booked. I had the gin cured salmon to start which was truly delicious as was my main course of pollock, my wife had the beetroot and goats cheese salad and the half chicken again which she said was delicious. We both finished with the orange and chocolate cheesecake which we must say was the best we have ever tasted. A truly wonderful experience and we both can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patriciaspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

We have just returned from a little tour of England to mark the fact that spring has finally chosen to make an appearance! Part of our trip included a long weekend stay at the Queens Arms and should be singled out as the highlight of the week!

When we arrived on friday night the bar was buzzing and we were a little apprehensive that it would not be the quiet getaway that was so long overdue. Our fears rapidly disappeared when we met the manager who immediately welcomed us, provided us with drinks and helped us to get settled in. We ate both nights and were impressed by both the wide variety of the food and the standard to which it was produced. It was both visually appealing and delicious! The staff were helpful, friendly and most importantly engaging throughout. Breakfast was a particular highlight as we were pleasantly surprised at the wide selection and the generous portions provided! Overall a wonderful stay in a clean, well run, friendly and efficient establishment! We will most definitely be returning!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Good_Food3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We booked a weekend away for my wife's birthday. Fantastic homely pub where we felt very welcome by all the staff.
Before we checked in, we had a refreshing drink in the garden on a sunny afternoon. Really enjoyed the locale ale Sarum IPA.
Our room ,,Cording,, had lots of Sun light and really comfortable bed and large bathroom with double powerful shower-amazing! The food has been great we shared a cheese soufflé follow by the burger, best Ive had in a long time and the lemon sole for my wife which she really enjoyed too. We didn't want any dessert as we were so full already but we went for the recommended "orange and chocolate cheesecake"
,,delicious,, which came with a candle, so thoughtful that they remembered it was my wife's birthday.
We were really lucky with the weather over the weekend and decide to go for lovely walk.
When we asked for directions we were also offered Wellington boots by one of the staff. How lovely of her.
We can't recommended this place enough and will differently be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank martinlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungerford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

Have been to The Queens on many occasions, and have always found it very unfriendly and unwelcoming.

Walked there yesterday with my young children, about a 2 mile walk from a surrounding Village. I arrived a few minutes before 12 noon to be informed that they had a private function and they would not serve me. I explained that I had walked 2 miles with young children and asked if I could just get a drink to take to the garden. Unfortunately this Public House doesn't welcome local business and would not even allow this even though the function hadn't even started.

I have had very poor meals in the past at The Queens but decided to over look these. It is a shame that a small business cannot look outside the box and look after local people. Would it have done any harm to have given the kids a drink outside before they had to walk 2 miles home?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rupert R, General Manager at The Queens Arms, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
I am so sorry we were not able to look after you and your children on this day. As you know we had a wedding party for a local girl who had booked the whole of the inn. The party started at 11am and was in progress when you arrived with guests in the garden and terrace and photographer in full swing so we were unable to look after you in the garden. It is not often we close for a private party for the very reason that it means we can't look after other locals turning up on the day! On this occasion it was an exception to the rule as she had grown up in the village.
I hope I can persuade you to return again in due course and allow us to look after you as expected. We truly do appreciate local support as without this we would have no business and the village have no pub.
Please do let us know when you return and we will endeavour to make things up to you.
Best wishes, Rupert Reeves
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Garston
7.6 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#1 of 16 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
The Bear Hotel Hungerford
#2 of 4 in Hungerford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Crab & Boar
Crab & Boar
#1 of 2 in Chieveley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
5.2 mi away
Three Swans Hotel
Three Swans Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hungerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Membury M4
Days Inn Membury M4
#3 of 4 in Hungerford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Arms

Property: The Queens Arms
Address: Newbury Road, East Garston RG17 7ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > East Garston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Garston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Queens Arms is ideally located just 3 miles from J14 of the M4, the corridor between London and the South West within close proximity of Hungerford (12mins), Newbury (20 mins), Marlborough & Swindon (30 mins). Heathrow is just 50 mins away. The village of East Garston is in the heart of the Valley of the Racehorse and the North Wessex Downs, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. The Queens Arms has 12 ensuite rooms, with super comfy beds, fine linen, TV and super fast broad band. Features also include a friendly bar with fireplace, excellent restaurant and a covered outdoor area. The large garden is enclosed, perfect for children and dogs, all of whom are welcome. For private parties, weddings, business meetings and conventions there is The Queens Lodge, a private & exclusive venue with its own south facing enclosed terrace & garden. The Queens Arms has won Best Hotel Award for the past two years and is recommended by Sawdays and The AA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Queens Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Arms Hotel East Garston
The Queens Arms East Garston, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing