We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Leffe' the Tibetan pup 1st weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bull Inn, Stanford Dingley
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“'Leffe' the Tibetan pup 1st weekend away”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Thank you for a lovely weekend at The Bull, What a lovely welcome we received from the bar staff on the friday evening. The accomodation was very clean and the bedroom a good size, and spacious. We felt the breakfast and meals were cooked and presented well and good value.It was great to find a pub that let dog stay as they are far and few between. Our pup Leffe enjoyed Lola the spaniel company as it was his first holiday.We found all the staff very friendly and helpful, and the locals. We shall be telling all our friends about The bull and the beautifull village.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    32
    29
    17
    14
See reviews for
37
37
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We had spent much of the day at the nearby Wolf Conservation Trust and found The Bull in a 2006 Good Beer Guide. We had not booked as we were not sure if or when we would go. Being too preoccupied to have lunch we arrived hoping they would be open for an early dinner. They open at 18:00. We arrived at 17:45. Perfect.

Using the Post Code from the guide (RG7 6LS) we were taken straight to the Bull and found parking out the back, including one disabled place. Immediately in front of us was an annex that obviously contained guest accommodation. This was déjà vu as the block is identical to several other blocks we have seen around the country. The disabled space is by the path to the accommodation, giving more room than a standard space for transfer to a wheelchair.

We wheeled down to the road, along the front of the pub and then over the gravel area to the disabled access ramp. Do not do this! There is a slightly overgrown path before the road that cuts out the need to cross the gravel and was our much easier return route.

We got a very friendly welcome and after a long day headed to the toilets to use the facilities and freshen up. Before doing so you need to ask a staff member to unlock the disabled access toilet. As the door self locks after use this request needs to be repeated if more than one visit is needed. Although some may find this an embarrassment or nuisance it does mean that the facilities are not soiled and spoiled by able bodied drinkers.

There was easy internal access throughout the pub/restaurant but beware of the dip to the right of the fireplace in the bar where many feet have worn down the floor. The menu was good but a little pricey. The service was fast and attentive. We had potted shrimps and fried buffalo mozzarella for starters, calves liver and lamb (I should have asked for "well done") for main and were too full, even after missing lunch and an active day, for any dessert. With two soft drinks this came to £60.00. We were offered and accepted water with the meal.

Would we go again? Yes. We would like to sample lunch next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newbury
Level Contributor
87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We keep giving this place another chance. The Bull has a growing reputation locally so we thought we would give it a go. It does have lovely Timothy Taylors bitter and great wines here at sensible prices. The food was good although the portions of halibut were on the small side and the potatoes cold and hard. The microwave strikes again! The wait for the food was too long. It took an hour for the starters to arrive and then another twenty minutes for the main course which is hopeless. Having invested in the place, why don't the proprietors of these pubs lead from the front, be visible and turbo charge the service. It could have been great.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kingtutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2012

What a beautiful place in a beautiful setting. Gorgeous food and lovely local atmosphere. I love vsiting the Bull everytime. We spent NYE here last year and it was one of my best ever. The food is lovely. Make sure you play the 'ring game' when you're there too, gets very addictive.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hannah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We live locally to this pub and on the whole like the atmosphere there. We have however been disapointed on two occasions now with the evening meals we have had there. Lunch time seems to work well. We were with another couple on this occasion and we found that the meal yet again was a little disappointing. I had a thai salad with my tempura prawns as a starter but the salad was overbearing - far too sharp with fish sauce and lime juice, and ratther too much liquid. My husband had scallops which were over cooked and dry, and in fact the plate looked very unappetising. The steak was cooked nicely but the cafe sauce was very oily, and the chips overdone, funnily enough as per the other review. A real shame as it is a lovely pub. We also felt that the 'front of house' was a little over confident, which was a bit annoying, there did not seem to be enough 'experienced' staff around who would have perhaps brought some order to the rather haphazard service, including behind the bar. All very young staff for a busy Saturday evening!

The lunches there are very good, and muh more relaxed, and the food has always been good. It is lovely to have the pub running again, but please look at the evening a little more carefully.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mikkathedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Picture postcard English pub. Go on a Sunday when they host their classic car rally. Great fun. B&B is also very good and great value. Food is honest pub grub served with a smile. Worth a visit for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HungryShireHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We must have caught them on a bad night, lovely location let down by the food. 2 of us had the rump steak with Cafe Paris sauce - the steak was tough and the sauce was too greasy, the chips were fried to a crisp and the salad was far too oily - applying your own would be a better option as not everyone likes dressing. The other choie was the pasta which was very ordinary.
Might give it another try as the other reviews are very complimentary

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RedDevil69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stanford Dingley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford Dingley
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading West
3.4 mi away
Best Western West Grange Hotel
3.0 mi away
Royal Oak
Royal Oak
#1 of 1 in Yattendon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
8.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn, Stanford Dingley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn, Stanford Dingley

Property: The Bull Inn, Stanford Dingley
Address: Cock Lane, Stanford Dingley RG7 6LS, England (Formerly The Bull Country Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Stanford Dingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stanford Dingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull Inn, Stanford Dingley 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bull Inn, Stanford Dingley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Country Hotel Stanford Dingley
The Bull Inn, Stanford Dingley Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing