We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank God for pubs like this...everyone should go there!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bull Inn, Stanford Dingley
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Thank God for pubs like this...everyone should go there!”
Reviewed 2 February 2013

At a time when chain coffee shops and restaurants are causing so many local pubs to close down I am so pleased The Bull has been taken over by such a brilliant young couple - chef and manager. I went to this pub with my mum and my 2 year old daughter. The great thing about it is that it manages to combine a beautiful and absolutely delicious dining area with an extremely relaxed and friendly bar area. All covered with the most brilliant and exotic flower arrangements I have ever seen!

The food was delicious, really great. We ordered 4 starters plus chunky chips so that we would have space for the dessert! We had a three cheese souffle, beautiful field mushroom soup, rarebit tart and mozzarella tomato salad. The soup was exactly as you'd want it to be, so full of flavour with generous servings of soft bread and butter. The other starters were excellent, with just the right amount of sauces, drizzles and garnish. The staff were quick, friendly and extremely helpful, a great atmosphere. My daughter had a bit of everything and loved it, especially the chips and soup!!

The desserts were even better, a terrine of three sorbets which were so fresh and flavorsome and an amazing amaretto infused dessert which my mum hasn't stopped talking about since!

I really recommend this pub, for both locals and visitors. It is such an asset to our British cooking and culture.

Room Tip: Phone up and ask the staff anything, they are extremely friendly and helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HollieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    32
    29
    17
    14
See reviews for
37
37
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

I have been living locally to the pub for many years, & have always loved the building. The new landlord & landlady have really done wonders! I had visited with a couple of friends, but hadn't booked. It was very busy, the fires raring- the smell of mulled wine & food when we arrived. We were kindly welcomed at the bar by staff, who offered us a drink, & an option to have a drink first or head through to a table. Once we had ordered our food, we were surprised & spoilt to be seated at a table by the fire! My starter was the local wood pigeon, perfectly cooked pink for me. Once finished- on to main course. There was no rush or panic, a nice time to let yourself settle. I had lemon sole accompanied by crayfish butter & a selection of vegetables. I have to say, for a midweek lunch, it was busy & we had excellent service. The food matched the service so well, with chatty staff who were in no rush to go home, whilst enjoying well priced wine & taking in the atmosphere. I have booked to come again & cannot wait to try more of the menu!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete-annestravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is a lovely pub in a pretty village but be prepared for high prices. Mains are £16 - £18 and starters about £7 so not a cheap venue but the food is good and tasty. There is a nice friendly atmosphere and bar snacks are available.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Yesterday we had the most delicious Christmas Day lunch here... the staff team are delightful, the menu varied and the food wonderful.
the restaurant was full and everyone there was so impressed, we will certainly recommend to anyone that listens and we will come back!
the character of the pub is great, I started coming here as a 17 year old with friends from school... I have come back here as a 50 year old with my family- and my parents still live locally!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Accommodation not bad value but breakfast very disappointing.It is the first time I have stayed anywhere B and B where there is nothing but the full breakfast.There was no fruit juice or cereal etc. beforehand and no toast and preserves etc. afterwards.Breakfast is very regimented, you have to give an exact time that you will be there to eat and the breakfast is ready at that exact time even if you are not.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 15rugbyfan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2012

When we arrived we were welcomed by a warm log fire and smiling faces behind the bar. We were shown to our room personally which was very spacious and clean with a huge shower. When we returned to the bar we were welcomed by a lovely atmosphere and felt no pressure to move to our table for dinner. When we did move through we weren't badgered to order and were given recommendations for both wine and food that were spot on. The food was delicious (especially the venison) and of course, the pudding!! As well as being good value. We found the bed very comfortable and the late breakfast option a real plus! Breakfast was gorgeous and agian, the staff were fantastic. Only wish we could've stayed for lunch and a leisurely walk around the beautiful setting. I find that people are more likely to write reviews if they have had a negative experience so I wanted to make a special effort to praise this lovely inn.

Duncan and Kim Wilks

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

There is a real dearth of decent pubs around the Reading area, in our experience. We nearly always try to come off the motorway for lunch when travelling back from visiting family in Hove to our home in Stroud, Gloucestershire, but we've had no end of trouble finding anywhere decent when we come off near Reading.
By the time we got to this pub, we were famished and getting a little desperate. The Bull's sister pub down the road was inexplicably not serving food, despite notices outside to the contrary, and recommended that we try here. Things looked good when we arrived. The place was packed out with families, but the staff made a considerable effort to fit us in in the restaurant, despite being fully booked. The menu prices were a little steep, but seeing as it was Berkshire and we were desperate we hoped the food would be good enough to warrant the price.
How wrong we were! We both ordered the pheasant terrine with beetroot chutney, which is a starter on the menu, but more than enough for lunch. We were provided with two slices of free bread and a generous nob of butter, plus a free jug of water which we didn't ask for, which is unusual and was a pleasant surprise. However, the terrine itself was dry, too fatty and largely tasteless, and the tiny piece of toast that came with it was really not enough to warrant the £8 price tag. The beetroot chutney was delicious, but it didn't save the dish at all.
The restaurant itself was far too crowded out with tables, so that we were almost sitting on other diners' knees and could hear every word of the conversations around us. This meant that we also noticed when the table next to us had to send their skate dishes back to the kitchen because the fish was off (smelling and tasting strongly of ammonia in one case). Again, for a restaurant that appears to want to be considered "high-end" this was an appalling oversight.
We left without eating a dessert, as we'd really had enough of the noise and the need to squeeze through crowds in order to go anywhere, along with the substandard food.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lizterryreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stanford Dingley hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford Dingley
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading West
3.4 mi away
Best Western West Grange Hotel
3.0 mi away
Royal Oak
Royal Oak
#1 of 1 in Yattendon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
5.2 mi away
Best Western Reading Calcot Hotel
8.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn, Stanford Dingley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn, Stanford Dingley

Property: The Bull Inn, Stanford Dingley
Address: Cock Lane, Stanford Dingley RG7 6LS, England (Formerly The Bull Country Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Stanford Dingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stanford Dingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull Inn, Stanford Dingley 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Bull Inn, Stanford Dingley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Country Hotel Stanford Dingley
The Bull Inn, Stanford Dingley Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing