We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the way, but worth a drive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bull Inn, Stanford Dingley
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Out of the way, but worth a drive”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was a wonderful 'Laterooms' find and was fantastic. OK. I agree that the room was a little tired (however they are renovating) but you are only sleeping there. The real magic happens in the pub ... the food was outstanding .. the wine recommendation 'perfect' .. and the service was faultless ... I really can not stress this enough ... Please go and stay!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RavingBonkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    32
    30
    18
    14
See reviews for
37
39
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My husband and I have stayed at The Bull a number of times and have had no reason to complain. This time, however, standards seemed to have slipped with regards to the servicing and cleanliness of our room. We stayed in Room 4 and can relate to some of the feedback provided by a previous reviewer on this site. The bathroom hadn't been cleaned and rubbish from the previous occupier was still in the bin. There was no shampoo included in the toiletries and the toilet was loose from the wall. The tea tray only contained one cup and saucer although there were two of us occupying the room.

The following morning it was clear that the shower wasn't draining away and after my husband had taken a shower, the shower tray was full of water. I therefore had to take the fastest shower in history to prevent the water coming over the top of the shower tray and flooding the bathroom.

We reported all of the above to the staff at breakfast that morning and were assured that the issues would be sorted out as soon as possible. We then went out for the day. On returning to our room at approx 4pm that afternoon, we found that none of the problems had been attended to. There also didn't seem to be anyone around who was capable of sorting out the problem with the shower. My son (who lives in the village and luckily was with us) offered to try and unblock the shower for us and was able to do this. I don't know what we would have done to have a shower if he hadn't been able to do this as all the other rooms were occupied. My son mentioned the other issues and was promised that these would be sorted out. On returning to our room we found an additional milk had been added to the tea tray but there still was no additional cup and saucer! Also, no shampoo had been placed in the bathroom.

We didn't eat at the Bull this time but have had no complaints in the past and the food and service has always been really good.

The above feedback is purely around the accommodation and lack of attention to rectifying this once it had been brought to the attention of the staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Friends from Reading recently re-discovered "The Bull" after an absence of 20 years and we recently met them there for Sunday lunch.
We ate in the conservatory - you can also eat in the bar area.
Of particular note were the friendly and attentive staff - nothing was too much trouble and service was fast, efficient and always delivered with eye contact and a smile!
There was a good friendly atmosphere with everyone from couples to families enjoying themselves.
There were some very well kept beers and ciders and a good selection of wine (including by the glass).
The menu was far more extensive than is usually found in a pub on Sundays and the food was of excellent quality, well cooked, and very well presented. Portion sizes were generous (with one exception - two scallops for £9 was a little mean).
For starters we has two superb generously sized lobster salads, one scallops and three excellent oysters.
This was followed by two roast lamb (bonus point for the addition of great Yorkshire puddings!), one roast beef, and one moules and frites.
Finally,we managed to squeeze in an amaretto parfait and cheesecake (two of us were two full to manage more!).
It's not the cheapest Sunday lunch, however overall offers excellent value for money.
We have told our friends that we don't want to eat anywhere else when we visit them!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BOBOK777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midgham, Berkshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

5 of us had a wonderful lunch at the Bull on Saturday. They were very accommodating with different requirements, the service was excellent, and our sandwiches beautiful - 4 of us had crab sandwiches and my daughter had a fish finger sandwich. The quality of food was excellent and presentation great. We've had great meals before, and we will be back again. Thanks so much.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaddyRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

When to this highly recommended pub/restaurant. Greeted by enthusiastic staff. Fabulous atmosphere in bar and also the restaurant area. Nice choices on menu. My guest was given shrimp in the salad and not lobster but the staff more than made up for it with providing the lobster with our steaks. The steaks were both over cooked my rare was medium. Other than that first rate night. The house rioja is truly wonderful. Definited return booking!

Room Tip: Only ate in restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Admittedly, we didn't originally plan on coming here to eat-- we went to the Old Boot Inn first (the reason we came out to Stanford Dingley) but they had finished lunch service before we got there.
So coming to the Bull Inn was a happy accident!

Upon arriving the bar staff was very friendly and helpful, allowing us a table in the dining room to just have sandwiches. The they provided us the free wifi password which really helped so much because we were a bit unsure of how to get back to the motorway.

Then -- sort of surprisingly- the very basic sandwiches we ordered were anything but basic! What a delicious and filling lunch for a couple of tired travelers.

A great experience and wonderful staff!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hhols2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Picked this B & B / Pub out of several in the region as we had tickets to tour Highclere Castle. We were so pleasantly surprised. Great accommdations, great food and some of the friendliest people we have ever met in England!! We will definately be back the next time we visit our family in Wales. Just loved it and the surrounding countryside.Thank you Laura and our lovely breakfast hostess..Bernadette!! :-)
Joan and D. Geoff Powell
Rochester, NY. USA

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stanford Dingley
3.0 mi away
Royal Oak
Royal Oak
#1 of 1 in Yattendon
184 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,781 reviews
4.9 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading West
8.1 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
633 reviews
7.2 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bull Inn, Stanford Dingley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bull Inn, Stanford Dingley

Property: The Bull Inn, Stanford Dingley
Address: Cock Lane, Stanford Dingley RG7 6LS, England (Formerly The Bull Country Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Stanford Dingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stanford Dingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bull Inn, Stanford Dingley 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bull Inn, Stanford Dingley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Country Hotel Stanford Dingley
The Bull Inn, Stanford Dingley Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing