We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Transferred to this hotel... Thank GOD!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Lancashire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Transferred to this hotel... Thank GOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

I was part of a massive corporate booking and was meant to stay at one of the other Travelodges in Newbury near the other services. Upon arrival, I was told that I have to move to the Chieveley M4 Services as the hotel was double booked.

Wasn't very pleased but I think that was the best thing that had happened. The Duty Manager at Chieveley and his front desk night receptionist were both very pleasant and welcoming. They were apologetic even if it wasn't their fault. The Hotel Manager offered me free breakfast and he even arranged a parking space at the back for me.

The room I was given is really clean and the new bed is really comfortable. I have stayed in other Travelodges before but this one is an exemption. My colleagues who 'luckily' weren't double booked from the other Newbury hotel told me how disgusting the rooms were and the rude lady who they've encountered so I am guessing my transfer to Chieveley services is a blessing in disguise!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank MarkWiz143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    82
    62
    24
    28
See reviews for
79
93
24
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed for one night on our way to Bournemouth ,the room was very clean and the bed really comfortable ,we didn't hear any noise from the traffic despite being so near the motorway The staff we dealt with were nice and friendly and check-in was very quick and easy , would stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

Very convenient location for Newbury races, M4 and other major routes despite this rooms are quiet. Clean and with baths rather than just showers, free parking and easy access to facilities of 'Services' nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsbridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

The new refurbishment at Chieveley W4 Travelodge is a great improvement over our normal experience, which in the past has been very mixed.Bed are very comfortable. Only issue was the provision of one bath towel and hand towel for two people - a seeming over-site by the servicing staff. Oh that the rest of Travelodge was like this one!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We often stay at this Travelodge, the staff are always helpful if needed. The rooms are clean and well decorated and Travelodge can't be beaten for value for money. We have just returned after a night there, we had a good nights sleep on a large, very comfey bed with two plump pillows for each of us, it looked very clean and inviting! The room was warm and the heater was easy to use. Free parking too and although we were not far from busy roads, we heard very little noise. We will use this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank carole777_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
153 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

Arrived here quite late and was greeted by a big smile and a prompt check-in
Plenty of parking spaces
Recently refurbished to a good standard - I never heard any road noise previous people have complained about but always take ear plugs just incase (didn't use them)
Good standard room but my oh my that mattress - just put in sleepeze dreamer mattresses- absolutely amazing

Great value, great nights sleep & services on site if you need feeding

Wouldn't hesitate to use again

Room Tip: Rooms on far side quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mashcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

this is a great hotel on the junction of M4 and A34. it is very quiet so always a great nights sleep. it has free parking for guests, just remember to register your vehicle when checking in. there are services right next door or cheivley village just the other side of the motorway if you require food. the hotel is clean and staff very helpful.

Room Tip: if you need an early night and good sleep request a room at the back of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigsdSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chieveley
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
3.2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.0 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
2.7 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
11.7 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford South (Didcot) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4

Property: Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4
Address: Oxford Road | Moto Service Area A34, Chieveley RG18 9XX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Chieveley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chieveley Newbury Hotel Chieveley
Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4 Berkshire
Travel Lodge Newbury
Newbury Travel Lodge
Newbury Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing