We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Reception staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Reception staff”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Starightforward to find; lovely Reception team who were friendly and knowledgeable regarding where to eat (we arrived quite late). Free parking. No noise from outside the hotel or from other guests inside but an annoying droning from within the hotel and my partner did not get much sleep - take ear plugs (I slept better!) such a shame about the noise as otherwise we would have had a perfect stay - no we did not tell staff. Very clean and well furnished and not basic. Useful venue if going to the Wolf Experience at Reading. Very reasonable price for rooms too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Elle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    85
    64
    26
    30
See reviews for
82
97
27
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
317 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

This is not the best Travelodge I've stayed in, in fact it's the worst.
I was happy with the check in and the free parking if you are staying here, the reception staff were pleasant and polite.
The room was clean on check in, although there was only one towel for 2 people! They never made the bed during our stay, when they do in other travelodges, and the toilet paper wasn't stocked up after us staying there for 3 nights! So we run out and had to pop to reception to stock up!
The rooms face other rooms and we got a full view of a naked man walking about his room one day and another lay on his bed another day, this forcing us to close our curtains permanently.
Finally the noise from the traffic and the wagons in the morning reversing with "warning reversing" drove us insane! So after 3 sleepless nights we were glad to check out!

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank starrtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Chieveley hotels

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel is close to both motorway and Newbury it is very clean and inviting the room was very large and comfortable with every thing we wanted i was attending a rugby festival in Newbury with my 14 year old grandson and 1 of his team mates so the size of the room was just right with 2 single beds for the boys and a double for me

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank colinjuliechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Stayed at the Travelodge, Chieveley for a 2 week business trip, as all other hotels were booked and thought I would be disappointed staying at the Travelodge, but to my surprise I was greeted by an excellent smiling lady at the reception "Ginette". Other staff (Rowdy, Ian..etc ) including the house keeping staff were really cheerful - which made the stay more like a home away from home. This was my first trip to the UK and they made it even more memorable, I didn't come with a mindset of a 5 star hotel - for the price I booked at the travelodge, it was a great value for money, room was very spacious, comfy beds, bathroom was clean - the tub was a bit small for someone my height 5"10 though. I had my breakfast and dinner at the Chieveley motorway services which is walkable - not much of an option there, but you could get fish and chips and for coffee lovers you got Costa. Although I'm not a fan of eating burger, you do have burger king.
Do make sure if you want the wifi, you add it to your booking prior to check - in, else you need to call the wifi services to get it done.
The only negative point against the travelodge is that its not in the town, so someone like me who is here on business trip has to dependent on the cab - but then again you do have another travelodge on the london road (not sure how it is).

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the the motorway, else your nights will be sleepless - that's what I ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ravzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

very reasonably priced rooms we had were excellent, clean and every thing worked.
Food is an issue a breakfast box is available but it is very poor and far too expensive for what you get, we drove to the local sainsbury and had a full cooked breakfast for the same price





  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank christopher p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We booked a room for two adults and two kids - £27. No better and no worse than the many other basic hotels which charge a huge lot more. Staff very friendly, room and bathroom perfectly ok, beds comfortable. Just remember to bring your own breakfast.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Harfnarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed here just one night after Easter while visiting family. Hotel and staff were excellent. On the same site there are the usual fast-food eateries, but the staff were able to provide us with directions for local pubs and restaurants. Very comfortable and spacious room. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank John_CE4097VS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chieveley
6.7 mi away
Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Newbury London Road
0.1 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
615 reviews
2.0 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
10.6 mi away
Days Inn Membury M4
Days Inn Membury M4
#2 of 4 in Hungerford
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4

Property: Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4
Address: Oxford Road | Moto Service Area A34, Chieveley RG18 9XX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Chieveley
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Chieveley Newbury Hotel Chieveley
Travelodge Newbury Chieveley M4 Berkshire
Travel Lodge Newbury
Newbury Travel Lodge
Newbury Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing