We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end wedding”
Review of Crab & Boar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crab & Boar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Have to say,finally,as its been approx two months since my bride and i wedded that our reception and all inclusive package to take the hotel and its rooms for the night had been a fine choice.Anyone looking for a venuse accomodating 70 odd people (sit down,120 in the evening) should seriously consider the crab for the following reasons.

Management of our arrangements by Denise the events manager before the wedding coordinating sequences and timings,management of the service for the arrival canapes ,wedding breakfast and evening buffet had also been expertly carried out without fuss and attention to detail (kids table decoration we loved).Our overall criteria had been to deliver high end memorable food and wines at a fair cost this the crab delivered on leaving all our guests with a memorable dining experience (their words) for a weddding , which i believe is rare.The quality of service had been measured discreet and smart superbly managed by Chris the reastaurant manager.The evening buffet selected by us delivered on all levels and wasn't what you would normally consider ''buffet food'' at a wedding reception.Grilled sardines,squid salads, Fatoush salad,enormous cheese selection with home made breads, etc .My Italian relatives were all seriously impressed with the high level of cooking.

I had been informed that our wedding was the first exclusive booking for the hotel which i find hard to believe considering the expert services and goods the crab has to offer.So thank you Denise,Chris and the staff at the crab for making our country themed wedding day a unforgettable one.P.S the photos of the children in the spa baths are great.
Best Paul and Sabrina.xx

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank palgp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

the rooms are themed from around the world the choice is yours. but the real star of this boutique hotel is the restaurant. the food is outstanding and the choice of fish is excellent and the quality is superb. we went for our wedding anniversary with two friends I can only we all will return.

Room Tip: in the winter get a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msgilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Using a Booking website is convenient but beware the cost of it not delivering exactly what you thought. As a surprise stop over prior to a weekend away my wife searched availability for a date she believed to be 9 days ahead and was impressed at the no cancellation fee. So she booked and then checked with me that the extra night was OK. I rearranged a few things and thought great - we have been before and it was pleasant. The next evening at about 8 pm I took a call from the hotel asking if we were still coming - i had sorted the leave so "sure" was the reply. The following evening at 8:30 pm I took another call saying when are you arriving?

The booking confirmation (which had diverted into MY Junk mail) showed the booking a week earlier than my wife believed had been booked. How is the subject of much angst but that aside there are some serious points for note.

The web based booking does not give a dialogue box warning that you are attempting a booking within 48 hrs and that the full room rate is therefore non-refundable if the room is not re-let. The confirmation phone call is not a nice customer friendly welcome but a check that they are getting guaranteed income. The day before call will not draw to your attention to that fact and give you the chance of having the room re-let - so you will loose the full room rate fee.

Any attempt to have a conversation with someone who can perhaps hear the customers point of view and reach some halfway house may be met with a verbal "OK the manager will be in in a few days we won't process the payment" only to met with a email 30 mins later saying sorry taken it!

Fair play the manager did ring me when she was next in. But it was only to tell me they had a cancellation policy. I kind of got that bit - I was £110 lighter! Nowhere on the radar was there any desire to keep a returning customer. We had known the previous house manager and know he would be appalled at how things have changed. Still that's the price of experience and its a shame the current management think more of the cash in the till now than the revenue for tomorrow. We won't be back any-time soon and will ring the next venue directly to book in future - a costly lesson for all.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank john_proudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Enjoyed the food here but was very quiet, however it was a school night. Food was well presented and tasty. Drinks were not great...freezing cold glass of red wine, half full glass of Prosecco, and the sparkeling water was flat! Amnot sure about the netting on the ceiling as well must be a dust trap.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank BerkshireLads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was our second visit, we stayed in a room that had an outside hot tube, pre ordered a bottle of sparkling wine so it was nicely chilled in the room when we got there and spent the afternoon having a drink in the hot tub,
The rooms are fine with exactly what you need for an overnight stay, they are themed and offer good value for money,
The restaurant food is absolutely fantastic, I am not a fish eater and the meat dishes are perfect, on the other hand my wife eats fish and was almost spoilt for choice on the menu,
We had breakfast delivered to the room which was a nice touch,
Overall the experience was faultless

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Martyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight in the hacienda suite lovely room and s four poster bed dinner was the most amazing dinner seafood to to die food excellent service a truly special experience s lovely quiet location but a busy place towards the end of the week.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We booked an overnight stay in 'Plantation' room, which was lovely, but was right on the noisy main road running along the hotel. We changed rooms, and stayed in 'Treetops' which was nice, but in need of refreshing, as decor is tired, and the fur throw and cushions were quite matted. We also had a smell from the drains on the night we stayed, and had to keep the window closed. It is a shame as the food is fantastic. I would also like to mention that the staff are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: All the rooms are themed, but don't choose rooms that are on the main road side, as it is extrem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linpin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chieveley
3.7 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
678 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,938 reviews
3.2 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Royal Oak
Royal Oak
#1 of 1 in Yattendon
195 reviews
2.9 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crab & Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crab & Boar

Address: Wantage Road, Chieveley RG20 8UE, England (Formerly The Crab at Chieveley Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Chieveley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Price Range: £77 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crab & Boar 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Berkshire countryside, The Crab & Boar is a stunning country pub with rooms offering award-winning British cuisine and 14 country-style bedrooms. Sink into one of our 14 stylish rooms and unwind in your own private corner of the Berkshire countryside. All bedrooms feature antique furnishing, luxury throws, Egyptian cotton linen, flat screen TVs, natural Bramley bath and body products and Tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have their own private hot tub. Dogs are more than welcome. The two AA Rosettes restaurant serves beautiful seafood and seasonal game in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our Head Chef Tom uses locally sourced and seasonal ingredients so you can expect that every plate on the Crab & Boar menu is as fresh as it can be and is expertly crafted with a passion for the local countryside. With an easy access to the M4 motoway, The Crab & Boar is located 25 minute drive away from historic Oxford, 16 minutes from Newbury Racecourse and 19 minutes from Highclere castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crab & Boar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crab At Chieveley Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Chieveley
Crab & Boar Chieveley, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing