We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel & restaurant deal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crab & Boar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crab & Boar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Good hotel & restaurant deal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for my birthday on the Friday night deal. Arrival nice and shown to room professionally.

Chocolates in the room and nice touches like a good coffee machine, selection of teas & delish cookies. Had the room with a 'cobbled' floor which was cool!

Room was hot so had the window open, but in the early morning we where awoken by the noisy road, which is about a foot from the window. Not ideal, but not a deal breaker.

Food was excellent, good choice on the menu, although the lobster was small.

Good cocktails and nice breakfast.

Overall I wouldn't pay full rate for the rooms as they are on the smallish side and noisy if you are on the road side, but on the £190 deal for room, £100 worth of food, bottle of wine, prosecco & chocolates it was good value and I would go back.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Foxy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    165
    97
    57
    52
See reviews for
59
431
2
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Have to say,finally,as its been approx two months since my bride and i wedded that our reception and all inclusive package to take the hotel and its rooms for the night had been a fine choice.Anyone looking for a venuse accomodating 70 odd people (sit down,120 in the evening) should seriously consider the crab for the following reasons.

Management of our arrangements by Denise the events manager before the wedding coordinating sequences and timings,management of the service for the arrival canapes ,wedding breakfast and evening buffet had also been expertly carried out without fuss and attention to detail (kids table decoration we loved).Our overall criteria had been to deliver high end memorable food and wines at a fair cost this the crab delivered on leaving all our guests with a memorable dining experience (their words) for a weddding , which i believe is rare.The quality of service had been measured discreet and smart superbly managed by Chris the reastaurant manager.The evening buffet selected by us delivered on all levels and wasn't what you would normally consider ''buffet food'' at a wedding reception.Grilled sardines,squid salads, Fatoush salad,enormous cheese selection with home made breads, etc .My Italian relatives were all seriously impressed with the high level of cooking.

I had been informed that our wedding was the first exclusive booking for the hotel which i find hard to believe considering the expert services and goods the crab has to offer.So thank you Denise,Chris and the staff at the crab for making our country themed wedding day a unforgettable one.P.S the photos of the children in the spa baths are great.
Best Paul and Sabrina.xx

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank palgp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON NW11
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

the rooms are themed from around the world the choice is yours. but the real star of this boutique hotel is the restaurant. the food is outstanding and the choice of fish is excellent and the quality is superb. we went for our wedding anniversary with two friends I can only we all will return.

Room Tip: in the winter get a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank msgilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Using a Booking website is convenient but beware the cost of it not delivering exactly what you thought. As a surprise stop over prior to a weekend away my wife searched availability for a date she believed to be 9 days ahead and was impressed at the no cancellation fee. So she booked and then checked with me that the extra night was OK. I rearranged a few things and thought great - we have been before and it was pleasant. The next evening at about 8 pm I took a call from the hotel asking if we were still coming - i had sorted the leave so "sure" was the reply. The following evening at 8:30 pm I took another call saying when are you arriving?

The booking confirmation (which had diverted into MY Junk mail) showed the booking a week earlier than my wife believed had been booked. How is the subject of much angst but that aside there are some serious points for note.

The web based booking does not give a dialogue box warning that you are attempting a booking within 48 hrs and that the full room rate is therefore non-refundable if the room is not re-let. The confirmation phone call is not a nice customer friendly welcome but a check that they are getting guaranteed income. The day before call will not draw to your attention to that fact and give you the chance of having the room re-let - so you will loose the full room rate fee.

Any attempt to have a conversation with someone who can perhaps hear the customers point of view and reach some halfway house may be met with a verbal "OK the manager will be in in a few days we won't process the payment" only to met with a email 30 mins later saying sorry taken it!

Fair play the manager did ring me when she was next in. But it was only to tell me they had a cancellation policy. I kind of got that bit - I was £110 lighter! Nowhere on the radar was there any desire to keep a returning customer. We had known the previous house manager and know he would be appalled at how things have changed. Still that's the price of experience and its a shame the current management think more of the cash in the till now than the revenue for tomorrow. We won't be back any-time soon and will ring the next venue directly to book in future - a costly lesson for all.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank john_proudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Enjoyed the food here but was very quiet, however it was a school night. Food was well presented and tasty. Drinks were not great...freezing cold glass of red wine, half full glass of Prosecco, and the sparkeling water was flat! Amnot sure about the netting on the ceiling as well must be a dust trap.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BerkshireLads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit, we stayed in a room that had an outside hot tube, pre ordered a bottle of sparkling wine so it was nicely chilled in the room when we got there and spent the afternoon having a drink in the hot tub,
The rooms are fine with exactly what you need for an overnight stay, they are themed and offer good value for money,
The restaurant food is absolutely fantastic, I am not a fish eater and the meat dishes are perfect, on the other hand my wife eats fish and was almost spoilt for choice on the menu,
We had breakfast delivered to the room which was a nice touch,
Overall the experience was faultless

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Martyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshirer
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight in the hacienda suite lovely room and s four poster bed dinner was the most amazing dinner seafood to to die food excellent service a truly special experience s lovely quiet location but a busy place towards the end of the week.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chieveley
12.6 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
3.1 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Wantage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#1 of 16 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa
13.1 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
5.0 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crab & Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crab & Boar

Property: Crab & Boar
Address: Wantage Road, Chieveley RG20 8UE, England (Formerly The Crab at Chieveley Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Chieveley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crab & Boar 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Berkshire countryside, The Crab & Boar is a stunning country pub with rooms offering award-winning British cuisine and 14 country-style bedrooms. Sink into one of our 14 stylish rooms and unwind in your own private corner of the Berkshire countryside. All bedrooms feature antique furnishing, luxury throws, Egyptian cotton linen, flat screen TVs, natural Bramley bath and body products and Tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have their own private hot tub. Dogs are more than welcome. The two AA Rosettes restaurant serves beautiful seafood and seasonal game in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our Head Chef Tom uses locally sourced and seasonal ingredients so you can expect that every plate on the Crab & Boar menu is as fresh as it can be and is expertly crafted with a passion for the local countryside. With an easy access to the M4 motoway, The Crab & Boar is located 25 minute drive away from historic Oxford, 16 minutes from Newbury Racecourse and 19 minutes from Highclere castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Crab & Boar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crab At Chieveley Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Chieveley
Crab & Boar Chieveley, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing