We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic romantic retreat”
Review of Crab & Boar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crab & Boar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Fantastic romantic retreat”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We spent a very enjoyable Friday and Saturday in the Crab's Bird Island themed room and thought it was a brilliant way to spend the weekend. We explored Newbury, Donington Castle and Bucklebury Farm Park - all within easy driving distance - before retiring to our hot tub room.

Bird Island is a great room with wooden themed decorations and possibly the highest bed we've ever seen. It's so high it gives you a birds eye view of the place so who knows, it could be part of the theme too. The room was full of nice little touches like a Nespresso machine, cookies and even a few sachets of hot chocolate.

The hot tub itself was great although is set daily at 40 degrees so can be a little hot when you get in. Leaving the cover off and adding cold water can help but it would have been nice to specifically be told not to play with the temperature controls on the side of the tub.

There were just a couple of other niggles too - the plugs are very hard to reach so recharging phones is tricky and the kettle had to sit on the floor while it boiled. The bathroom nice but a bit dated - the overhead shower didn't really heat up but the 'stick' shower nozzle did just fine.

Breakfast at the hotel was everything you'd expect too and there's no extra charge for having it brought to the room - nice touch.

All in all a very good stay - we liked it so much we've already booked our return for 2015 in the Bora Bora room. See you soon!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    168
    100
    57
    53
See reviews for
63
446
2
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
109 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed here for one night after the races at Newbury - what a great find this little gem is!
We stayed in the Waikiki Room which was lovely - right behind the reception but no noise! bed was very ciomfortable - shower fab.
Staff throughout were friendly and always cheerful - we had a great stay.

Room Tip: The restaurant was fantstic - book dinner though as very busy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdieEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed for one night in the Banyan Tree room, and this charming hotel is an ideal retreat for a short break. Chieveley town isn't far away, but the hotel is well away from the shops and residential areas. Our room had beautiful décor and excellent amenities (jacuzzi bath - although other rooms have standard bathrooms or private hot tubs, a Nespresso machine, bath robes, home-made biscuits and a huge flat-screen TV that we didn't switch on!).

The staff were fantastic - on reception and in the bar and restaurant. Some reviewers have complained that the service is disorganised and that they weren't allocated a specific waiter for their meal... the latter point only was true for us too, but all we could see was a great group of staff working efficiently as a team, all with friendly, accommodating attitudes.

The only mishap was when the wine list arrived, the waitress advised us that the manager would be along in a minute to tell us the specials, but this didn't happen. We didn't actually realise this until after our meal, and it wasn't a problem as we were very happy with our food! There is a good selection of seafood on their menu, along with a veggie option and a few meat options. The king scallops were excellent, and my husband enjoyed his blue cheese soufflé starter. The lobster was delicious, and the assiette of desserts to share was impressive! The extensive wine list is worth a mention too.

The hotel is right next to a B-road so the traffic woke us up early, but that isn't the fault of the hotel. Breakfast was very good, offering some different options as well as the usual full English breakfast, cereals, fruit and toast. The poached eggs with smoked salmon went down very nicely - and I'm told the eggs with wilted spinach, hollandaise and a toasted muffin were delicious too!

All in all, we had a wonderful night and felt truly looked after - the Crab is a lovely retreat for a romantic night away.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KyotoDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have just got back from our second trip to The Crab and if you are thinking about visiting either to eat or for an over night stay all I can say is do it. 20 miles from home and we felt like we were in another world. As with our previous visit we paid a little bit extra to have a hottub room and even on a chilly April night it was great spending time with my wife relaxing in the tub. We ate in the restaurant and all I can say is wow. The food is amazing and if you like seafood you will love this place. The menu is to die for and very sensibly priced. The staff are all amazing, friendly, warm towards all guests and can't do enough for you. They take the time to speak to you and do everything they can to make your stay as pleasant as possible. It would be wrong to single out any of the staff we came across because they were all exceptional. The rooms are very comfortable with big comfy beds, TV, DVD player and everything you could need. The bath robes provided were very white and very fluffy. All in all the attention to detail at this place is superb. I really could not fault this place and on checking out we book our next trip in July which we are very much looking forward too.

Room Tip: go for a hot tub room and also ask about their packages, they offer some exceptional up grades.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed overnight on a dinner,bed and breakfast special package on a Monday night. We stayed in the Ciprani themed room with hot tub.The room was quite small but had everything we needed, and the hot tub was great fun.
Food in the restaurant was excellent and I even had a birthday cake!! Th staff were all friendly and helpful and a small issue in our room was sorted out easily and without inconvenience.
Slight negative, the room was dark and I had to pull a chest of drawers out to find a plug for my hairdryer, and as others have said, the service is errattic, Tha t said,we enjoyed our stay and will go back

Room Tip: Get a hot tub room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caz740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Rooms: The overall quality of the room (Cipriani) wasn't great but you have to keep in mind that you're paying for 'quirky with a hot tub' rather than luxury beds etc. That said, there were some lovely touches like Nespresso machine and homemade biscuits. We couldn't get the main shower warm so had to use the handheld one.

Food: Amazing! Expensive, but worth it if you're a seafood fan. We had the biggest king crab legs that I've ever seem (a special) and then I had the scallops & risotto. Scallops were perfectly cooked (and I'm fussy) but the risotto was a bit disappointing. Good selection of wines that are available in 500ml carafes too.

Service: Could have been better. We arrived early so asked to go to the "bar" - didn't realise it was through the restaurant so ended up dragging our large bags through a busy restaurant. It would have been nice if they had suggested we leave them as reception. In the restaurant, we had lots of different waiters so never sure who to ask. Had to wait awkwardly in the entrance for a while (at both dinner & breakfast) to be seated. At breakfast we (and other guests) had to repeatedly ask for coffee refills.

Overall a lovely weekend, as long as you keep you expectations in check about the room.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently and got a great deal on one of their bespoke rooms. Decided to eat in the restaurant and were blown away! Fantastic seafood with good service and surroundings. Well worth a visit we will go again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chieveley
3.6 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,673 reviews
10.8 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Wantage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
2.9 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Dundas Arms
The Dundas Arms
#1 of 1 in Kintbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crab & Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crab & Boar

Property: Crab & Boar
Address: Wantage Road, Chieveley RG20 8UE, England (Formerly The Crab at Chieveley Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Chieveley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crab & Boar 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Berkshire countryside, The Crab & Boar is a stunning country pub with rooms offering award-winning British cuisine and 14 country-style bedrooms. Sink into one of our 14 stylish rooms and unwind in your own private corner of the Berkshire countryside. All bedrooms feature antique furnishing, luxury throws, Egyptian cotton linen, flat screen TVs, natural Bramley bath and body products and Tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have their own private hot tub. Dogs are more than welcome. The two AA Rosettes restaurant serves beautiful seafood and seasonal game in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our Head Chef Tom uses locally sourced and seasonal ingredients so you can expect that every plate on the Crab & Boar menu is as fresh as it can be and is expertly crafted with a passion for the local countryside. With an easy access to the M4 motoway, The Crab & Boar is located 25 minute drive away from historic Oxford, 16 minutes from Newbury Racecourse and 19 minutes from Highclere castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crab & Boar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crab At Chieveley Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Chieveley
Crab & Boar Chieveley, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing