We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary meal”
Review of Crab & Boar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crab & Boar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I had dinner here to celebrate a birthday. We had super seafood, the halibut was lovely and my turbot was utterly delicious. We stayed the night in the room behind reception, the name of which escapes me, it was clean and comfortable and quiet. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo F, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Lucian G

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind feedback regarding your recent visit to the Crab at Chieveley. I have passed all of your kind comments on to all of our staff and kitchen team who is more than delighted to read them.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

PS: “Waikiki beach” is one of the quietest rooms that we have in our premises!!
Kindest Regards
Amparo Ferri
Front of House Manager
The Crab at Chieveley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

345 - 351 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Business stay of one night with colleagues plus dinner. Room nice character but not as clean in the details as would expect. Light fitting dangling from ceiling in bathroom (so only the shaving light worked in the bathroom). Inconsistent wifi coverage - kept tripping out.
Dinner ok, but expensive and not particularly copious. Staff friendly but seemed inexperienced. Breakfast - some original options, but took a long time to arrive.
So overall, Ok but not brilliant, although could fairly easily be stepped up in standard. Nice setting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFrog59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo F, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear TheFrog59

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. I do apologise if the light in the bathroom was dangling and the room wasn’t as clean as you expected, I have to say I am embarrassed, as this should be notice before any of our guest checks in.

In regards to the wifi tripping out, the best and powerful internet signal is in our bar area, but we are looking into this problem and is in process to be solved.

I hope this hasn't put you off from returning to the Crab at Chieveley and if you would like to return please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Amparo Ferri
Front of House Manager
The Crab at Chieveley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My daughter and I visited The Crab for lunch last Saturday (17thMay). We had to wait at reception for a while on arriving. We both opted for the two-course set menu but we're not very impressed and did not think that it remotely represented good value. The main course was very ordinary with hard new potatoes and my dessert of Cherry Clafoutis was very disappointing. No one came round to ask whether our meals were OK and we had to go and pay at the till at the bar as all staff had disappeared. A disappointing experience and not worth the cost. It's a lovely setting and we have had some lovely meals there but also some disappointing ones.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo F, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Angela S

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback.

I was exceptionally disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent experience at the Crab. Our food not presenting good value or our dishes being ordinary is not a complaint that we do get very often. Two courses for £18.95 or three for £22.95 is for most of the dinners more than a reasonable price for the quality and fresh food that we offer.

I would like to point out that we are very strict on table checking all of our restaurant guests throughout each course of their meal, so if this wasn’t the case on your last visit, my most sincerely apologies.

We hope this hasn’t put you off and you will be returning to The Crab in a near future.

Kind Regards
Amparo Ferri
Front of House Manager
The Crab at Chieveley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We lunched here with family, on a beautiful sunny day, the food and service were excellent, the surroundings beautiful and we can highly recommend the sea bass! Attentive staff, clean rest rooms and a perfect journey break for us all. We will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 190800Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo F, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Jackie

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind feedback regarding your recent visit to the Crab at Chieveley. I have passed all of your kind comments on to all of our staff and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Amparo Ferri
Front of House Manager
The Crab at Chieveley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

our family came here for a meal, there was 8 of us, the staff were very friendly and tried to be helpful but got a little distracted when other guests came in. then they forgot about what other people had ask.
as for the food some of our starters were nice and the ones who had squid, this was over cooked and very chewy. our mains were ok nothing special but nice,
sorry to say but we would not rush back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank scottry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo F, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Scottry

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent lunch with us at the Crab.

Firstly I would like to apologize if you had the feeling of being forgotten by members of staff and some of your starters and main courses weren’t as good as you expected. I have passed your comments on to our head chef regarding the chewy squid and to our staff members who will be looking into your comments, hopefully preventing this from happening again.

I hope this hasn't put you off and you decide to give us another chance.
We all look forward to welcoming you to The Crab at Chieveley.

Kind Regards
Amparo Ferri
Front of House Manager
The Crab at Chieveley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

My wife and I spent the Easter weekend 2014 in South Wales at an amazing little farm called Mandinam. We left on the Monday with a heavy heart because we were dreading heading back to London. Being the spontaneous couple we are :-), we spotted the Chieveley turn off and decided there and then to see if the Crab had any rooms available. We've heard rave reviews about it from friends and colleagues. We were lucky to get the Spa suite, which is the best room I'm told, for £100! The staff were absolutely fantastic and the restaurant is truly amazing and you can see why its award winning. All in all, this little place is a gem and a nice break from the city. Do yourself a favour and take a short break to this amazing place :-).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandro_gomez_za
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo F, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Mr Gomez

Thank you ever so much for your kind comments. All of the Crab team and I were delighted to see a four star rating on Trip Advisor. I’m pleased to read you thoroughly enjoyed your meal and stay with.

A really grateful team look forward to welcoming you both to The Crab at Chieveley in a very near future.

PS: thanks for your cocktails tips!

Kind Regards
Amparo Ferri
Front of House Manager
The Crab at Chieveley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Discovered the Crab via TA whilst looking for a stop over on our route down to Southampton. Reports looked good, so off we went, making a one night stay with inclusive set menu "meal deal".
There are many good revues of this place, but also a few niggles and we also encountered a few. We really would have liked a hot tub room, but apparently fully booked (although they didn't seem to be during our stay) so we went for the spa room, the most expensive in the hotel, which fortunately was free. Check in was from 4pm, and again TA reviews mention early arrival and rooms not ready. Ours wasn't when we arrived at around 3.20 so we took the offer of a drink which turned out to be one of the most expensive pints I have ever drunk. The other half's tea came without sugar which was requested by the receptionist but never came.
The room became available just ahead of 4, and we were showed to our room which was excellent but very warm, which it stayed all night - we had to use the swivelling fan, which was broken.
Dinner was booked and the dining room was pretty busy. When asked if we had booked, the waitress seemed confused, disappeared in the kitchen before coming back and showing us to a table, partly obscuring a passageway between two rooms. Eventually the matre D took, our order, service was reasonably prompt (he did say more than once that they were busy) and the food was excellent. Wine comes by the glass or 500ml carafe, which we ordered but received a full bottle, which cost a further £5.....mistake ?....you tell me !. It appears to have happened before according to TA reports....
Breakfast was first class, although could have benefitted from more choice of cereal and fruit, etc. it seemed that you were encouraged to go the full English or else. We went down to breakfast before 9am, and the cleaners were already in the rooms. There are only 13 or 14, so how come they aren't ready for the next occupancy before 4pm ?.

So - the Crab - good, but sorry, not great. For the money we got good value, but it needs polish.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colemen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo F, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Mrs Colemen

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Crab. I am really sorry to hear that you find your stay…good, but maybe not great.

In regards to the check-in time, this is from 4p.m, as stated in the confirmation letter of the reservation. Everybody can request an early check in, but we can never guarantee that the room will be ready before the check-in time, obviously we do prioritise the rooms accordingly to requests. Some of the rooms that we have in our premises, such as hot tub rooms or spa need to be deep clean and treated with appropriate chemical products and this is a long process. This process, along with some extra services that we offer free of charge, such as unlimited room service for breakfast with no even tray charge and late check outs push the check-in time to 4pm.

On the other hand, some of your comments such as sugar forgotten or wrong wine brought to the table have been taken on board. I can ensure we are working hard to avoid mistakes happening again. I am actually pleased to read that the food was up to your standards and you actually enjoyed your meal.

Should you wish to discuss your points any further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Amparo Ferri
Front of House Manager
The Crab at Chieveley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chieveley
3.6 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,908 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
664 reviews
3.2 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11 mi away
Sandford Springs Hotel
Sandford Springs Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsclere
259 reviews
6 mi away
Royal Oak
Royal Oak
#1 of 1 in Yattendon
196 reviews
2.9 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crab & Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crab & Boar

Address: Wantage Road, Chieveley RG20 8UE, England (Formerly The Crab at Chieveley Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Chieveley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Price Range: £89 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crab & Boar 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Berkshire countryside, The Crab & Boar is a stunning country pub with rooms offering award-winning British cuisine and 14 country-style bedrooms. Sink into one of our 14 stylish rooms and unwind in your own private corner of the Berkshire countryside. All bedrooms feature antique furnishing, luxury throws, Egyptian cotton linen, flat screen TVs, natural Bramley bath and body products and Tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have their own private hot tub. Dogs are more than welcome. The two AA Rosettes restaurant serves beautiful seafood and seasonal game in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our Head Chef Tom uses locally sourced and seasonal ingredients so you can expect that every plate on the Crab & Boar menu is as fresh as it can be and is expertly crafted with a passion for the local countryside. With an easy access to the M4 motoway, The Crab & Boar is located 25 minute drive away from historic Oxford, 16 minutes from Newbury Racecourse and 19 minutes from Highclere castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Crab & Boar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crab At Chieveley Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Chieveley
Crab & Boar Chieveley, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing