We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Crab & Boar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crab & Boar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Reviewed 31 May 2014

It had been many years since staying in this facility (when it was The Blue Boar) and decided to return, particularly given a recommendation for the seafood. We booked for two nights. The food on the first night (the only night we ate in) was OK, but there was definitely a lack of interest by one or two of the serving staff.The same applied at breakfast time when I eventually had to call a waitress over to order some tea. The real problems were the rooms. They are well equipped but, on the first night, any movement from the room above resulted in creaks. Traffic whizzed past the window at regular intervals adding to the misery. Early in the morning, there was a lot of noise outside the room door (where the housekeeping cupboards are located). The rooms are all themed and somebody had a sense of humour when they called this room 'Zen'. The room was small and made smaller by a ridiculous 12" border of wood around the bed, nicely at shin height. We asked to me moved for the second night and we were given Waikiki Beach. This was behind reception and away from other rooms and the road. Given that we had to leave at 5am the following morning this was attractive. Despite this, a private party was given a table in the reception area and, for some reason, they felt it necessary to scream to each other at the tops of their voices. Furthermore, they were all using the disabled toilet, next to our room and then leaving an intermediate door open each time. It took about half hour for them to quieten down once we had called a manager. So, two nights of little sleep due to noise. Needless to say, we'll be staying elsewhere next trip.

Room Tip: Do *NOT* choose the Zen room if you need your sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotAirFlights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo F, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Bumpydog

Thank you very much for leave your feedback via Trip Advisor.

I am in some ways puzzled by your comments regarding your recent visit. Here at the Crab at Chieveley all of the staff and I always try hard to ensure that our guests receive the best possible experience we can deliver, so we are all disappointed to read that we did not manage to do so on this occasion.

As your booking was made Friday of Bank Holiday Weekend, the only room available at that point was our China themed room, Zen, on the road side.
Due to this, the rate offered to you for two nights stay was extremely reduced (£95.00 Sat BH, £85.00 Sun BH), with breakfast included.

I would like to take this opportunity to remind you that your arrival time was at 12.30pm and our usual check in time is from 4pm. As the room was ready we happily checked you in, so my apologies if was a bit noisy, but our housekeepers were still servicing the rooms at that point.

Next morning as soon as you reported the problems that you experienced during the night, we did move you to Waikiki Beach immediately, having the room serviced for you around 11am.

That private party having dinner on Bank Holiday Sunday, hired our conservatory area to have an exclusive use of it and the booking was also made far in advance, therefore they did had the right to use that part of the premises and we kindly asked them to be considerate.

Should you wish discuss your points any further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Amparo Ferri
Front of House Manager
The Crab at Chieveley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (744)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

336 - 342 of 744 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed here with my girlfriend for our anniversary and we loved it! We stayed in "bird island" which was decorated beautifully. Room had espresso machine and kettle as well as tv and DVD player, it was all very clean etc and we were happy. Hot tub was a welcomed addition to the room and was the highlight of our stay! Had breakfast in the rosetted restaurant in the morning which was superb would definitely return!

Room Tip: Bird island is away from the road and near the car park would highly recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo F, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Mr James E

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind feedback regarding your recent visit to the Crab at Chieveley. I am very pleased to read that the cleanness in the room and the equipment, along with the decoration was up to your standards.
Thank you very much for your kind comments.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best Wishes
Amparo Ferri
Front of House Manager
The Crab at Chieveley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Our son and daughter in law, for my wife's birthday, treated us to a an evening at the Crab. This included a glass of prosecco and chocolates on arrival, bottle of house wine with our meal and a lovely themed room for the night.
We were greeted on arrival by a charming receptionist and taken to our room, she then returned with the prosecco, a promising start. After relaxing for a while we proceeded to the bar for pre dinner drinks. The bar staff were helpful and friendly and there was pleasant background music
helping to set the scene prior to ordering from an interesting menu.

At our table the experience continued with service that was excellent, as was the food.

Well replete, we retired to our room for a good night's sleep in a comfortable four poster bed.

One of our best overall overnight stays, very hard to find any fault at all.

Would love to do the same again sometime.

Thanks to all at the Crab, top performance made us very happy.

Room Tip: If you like your windows open a room away from the road would be a good choice. With the double gl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clifftynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo F, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Clifftynan

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments via Trip Advisor. All of the team and I were delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience with us.

Classify as excellent our service and food and point out that during your stay was very hard to find a fault definitely made us very proud and happy.

A really grateful team look forward to welcoming you both to The Crab at Chieveley in a very near future.

Best wishes
Amparo Ferri
Front of House Manager
The Crab at Chieveley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I had dinner here to celebrate a birthday. We had super seafood, the halibut was lovely and my turbot was utterly delicious. We stayed the night in the room behind reception, the name of which escapes me, it was clean and comfortable and quiet. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo F, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Lucian G

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind feedback regarding your recent visit to the Crab at Chieveley. I have passed all of your kind comments on to all of our staff and kitchen team who is more than delighted to read them.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

PS: “Waikiki beach” is one of the quietest rooms that we have in our premises!!
Kindest Regards
Amparo Ferri
Front of House Manager
The Crab at Chieveley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Business stay of one night with colleagues plus dinner. Room nice character but not as clean in the details as would expect. Light fitting dangling from ceiling in bathroom (so only the shaving light worked in the bathroom). Inconsistent wifi coverage - kept tripping out.
Dinner ok, but expensive and not particularly copious. Staff friendly but seemed inexperienced. Breakfast - some original options, but took a long time to arrive.
So overall, Ok but not brilliant, although could fairly easily be stepped up in standard. Nice setting.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheFrog59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo F, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear TheFrog59

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. I do apologise if the light in the bathroom was dangling and the room wasn’t as clean as you expected, I have to say I am embarrassed, as this should be notice before any of our guest checks in.

In regards to the wifi tripping out, the best and powerful internet signal is in our bar area, but we are looking into this problem and is in process to be solved.

I hope this hasn't put you off from returning to the Crab at Chieveley and if you would like to return please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards
Amparo Ferri
Front of House Manager
The Crab at Chieveley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

My daughter and I visited The Crab for lunch last Saturday (17thMay). We had to wait at reception for a while on arriving. We both opted for the two-course set menu but we're not very impressed and did not think that it remotely represented good value. The main course was very ordinary with hard new potatoes and my dessert of Cherry Clafoutis was very disappointing. No one came round to ask whether our meals were OK and we had to go and pay at the till at the bar as all staff had disappeared. A disappointing experience and not worth the cost. It's a lovely setting and we have had some lovely meals there but also some disappointing ones.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo F, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Angela S

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback.

I was exceptionally disappointed to read your comments regarding your recent experience at the Crab. Our food not presenting good value or our dishes being ordinary is not a complaint that we do get very often. Two courses for £18.95 or three for £22.95 is for most of the dinners more than a reasonable price for the quality and fresh food that we offer.

I would like to point out that we are very strict on table checking all of our restaurant guests throughout each course of their meal, so if this wasn’t the case on your last visit, my most sincerely apologies.

We hope this hasn’t put you off and you will be returning to The Crab in a near future.

Kind Regards
Amparo Ferri
Front of House Manager
The Crab at Chieveley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We lunched here with family, on a beautiful sunny day, the food and service were excellent, the surroundings beautiful and we can highly recommend the sea bass! Attentive staff, clean rest rooms and a perfect journey break for us all. We will return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 190800Jackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo F, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Jackie

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind feedback regarding your recent visit to the Crab at Chieveley. I have passed all of your kind comments on to all of our staff and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Amparo Ferri
Front of House Manager
The Crab at Chieveley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chieveley
3.6 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,889 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
662 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
6.0 mi away
Royal Oak
Royal Oak
#1 of 1 in Yattendon
192 reviews
11.0 mi away
Sandford Springs Hotel
Sandford Springs Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsclere
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crab & Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crab & Boar

Address: Wantage Road, Chieveley RG20 8UE, England (Formerly The Crab at Chieveley Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Chieveley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Price Range: £89 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crab & Boar 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Berkshire countryside, The Crab & Boar is a stunning country pub with rooms offering award-winning British cuisine and 14 country-style bedrooms. Sink into one of our 14 stylish rooms and unwind in your own private corner of the Berkshire countryside. All bedrooms feature antique furnishing, luxury throws, Egyptian cotton linen, flat screen TVs, natural Bramley bath and body products and Tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have their own private hot tub. Dogs are more than welcome. The two AA Rosettes restaurant serves beautiful seafood and seasonal game in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our Head Chef Tom uses locally sourced and seasonal ingredients so you can expect that every plate on the Crab & Boar menu is as fresh as it can be and is expertly crafted with a passion for the local countryside. With an easy access to the M4 motoway, The Crab & Boar is located 25 minute drive away from historic Oxford, 16 minutes from Newbury Racecourse and 19 minutes from Highclere castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Crab & Boar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crab At Chieveley Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Chieveley
Crab & Boar Chieveley, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing