We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A poor experience”
Review of Crab & Boar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crab & Boar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Me & my partner stayed overnight 20th/21st July.
This was pre-paid as a Christmas present by my partners children.
From start to finish there were problems.
Our first trip to the bar resulted in a forgotten drink, we waited 1/2 hr for a Pimms & lemonade,
not exactly an exotic or unusual drink!
Then the room we had booked had a very noisy hot tub, we were offered an alternative, which also had a problem with the hot tub. Despite a request for the original hot tub to be turned off the noise carried on all night and the alternative was only 20 ft away! This made sleeping very difficult.
For our evening meal which we requested to eat outside, no-one came to serve us for 45 mins.
At this point I complained about our experience so far.
After this and upon meeting Luis (Assistant Manager) who was extremely apologetic we were waited on hand & foot.
We were given a complimentary bottle of Champagne (which we didn't ask for).
It's unfortunate that this had been pre-paid because as I said to Luis had I been paying on check out I'm not sure I would of paid anything.
I requested to speak to the General Manager who was unavailable on the night of our stay & couldn't be contacted.
I did return to The Crab on Wednesday 23rd & spoke to the General Manager, who offered me a complimentary stay on a night of my choice.
This offer however does not include anything towards a meal.
So do we want to go back and spend approx £100 on food and drink at an establishment that so far we have had a bad experience in?
We are still deciding.
What I am mostly frustrated by is that The Crab management seem to think that offering complimentary Champagne & a room is in some way making up for an overall bad performance,
when what me & my partner really wanted was an enjoyable evening with no problems,
which ours was most definitely not!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We went to this suburb restaurant with very good friends. The whole evening was wonderful,with excellent food,wine,and excellent attentive service.
I rate this restaurant very very highly and have no hesitation in recommending this restaurant to every one.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo F, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Rod B

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind feedback regarding your recent visit to the Crab at Chieveley. I have passed all of your kind comments on to all of our staff and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards
Amparo Ferri
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

After booking almost half a year in advance to visit the crab for my partners birthday, unfortunately I left feeling disappointed.

We stayed in the Venice themed room with the hot tub. On arrival, outside we found an old champagne bottle and smashed glasses in an ice bucket left there. Disappointed that the room clearly hadn't been cleared properly. The area surrounding the hot tub could have been kept better. There were lots of cobwebs and in general looked a bit run down.

We were told the hotub was all set up and ready. It was on a day when it was about 30 degrees, and they had set the hot tub on to the maximum temperature 40 degrees! It was way too hot for a day like that, and considering there has been a heat wave for the last week, they should have known to set the hot tub at a more appropriate temperature. We tried to turn the heat down, and failing that we rang the reception. On the day, all phones were down so we had to call from our mobile after trying numerous times. When we finally got through, we were told by the receptionist she would check with the engineers. We never received any call back to give us an update!

We had a dinner reservation booked that evening in the restaurant which had a good atmosphere. Staff were very nice and friendly, although lacking a bit of training. We ordered a side of Samphire to accompany our mains, and when It arrived it was so salty. Nobody came to ask if our meal was ok. We left the Samphire untouched and mentioned to the waitress that it was far too salty. We were disappointed that they didn't really acknowledge this and still charged us for it! I also informed them it was my partners birthday and they had agreed to arrange a candle and message to come with the petit fois at the end of the meal. This never came, which was extremely disappointing! When we had checked-out they rang us later to say they had forgot to charge us for the champagne, which is baffling considering they remember to do this but don't remember something they had arranged with me months in advance! After writing an email to highlight these points, they don't even bother to respond.

Overall I was disappointed with the level of service and accommodation. Its a shame, because they have potential to be a great place to stay for a short break from London. For £150-£200 a night I would definitely recommend staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank pinko888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo F, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Pinko 888

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent visit to The Crab at Chieveley.

Once again my most sincere apologies for any inconvenient caused to you.

In the email sent to you after my return to work I went through all your highlighted points, explaining some of them and apologizing for others.

Hopefully you decide to give the Crab another try in the future allowing us to give you a better impression of what we do.

Kindest Regards
Amparo Ferri
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

My partner treated me to this place for my Birthday last year.
The room was lovely and clean and we had the added option of a hot tub which was lovely.
The location is tranquil and picturesque and the place itself is well kept and lovely.
The food was amazing and due to this we did come back again this year to eat there. I had the seafood platter which was huge and so enjoyable.
I definitely recommend this place and would stay again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo F, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Michelle L

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind feedback regarding your recent visit to the Crab at Chieveley. I have passed all of your kind comments on to all of our staff and kitchen team who is more than delighted to read them.

We can’t wait to welcome you back to the Crab at Chieveley in the near future.

Best Wishes
Amparo Ferri
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Crab is a nice country pub, but it didn't impress us in line with its supposedly high reputation. Very thin walls make the small accommodation areas a tad noisy. Why people sacrifice space for what they think is trendy is beyond me. Our bed had a wooden "border" that was about a foot wide. Just design, and effectively taking two feet out of the space around the bed, which is significant in a small room. When this border doesn't even have rounded edges, so you need to be sober when walking around the room, someone has their priorities wrong........
Service generally good and friendly. Breakfast great, but don't do dinner with high expectations. The awards the Crab has won are probably a little dated. Shame really, as the service was very good, and the menu read very well. Certainly not up to what had been suggested in earlier reviews that we had read. I'd not recommend going there specially for the restaurant, but if you are nearby, it's certainly OK. We had dinner there in a party of seven, and all agreed with what I'm saying here.

Room Tip: maybe upstairs would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KiwiKev2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo F, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Kiwikew2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Crab at Chieveley.

I would like to take this opportunity to let you know that your comments have been taken on board and dealt with accordingly.

In regards to the food, I am terribly sorry to hear that your dining experience wasn’t up to your expectations either.

All in all, all of the team and I were very disappointed that you didn't feel the food and accommodation wasn't anything special. I hope you decide to give the Crab another try in the future hopefully allowing us to give you a better impression of what we do.

Kind Regards
Amparo Ferri
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Upon checking in, the toilet didn't work, electricity kept going off, no hot water, bed uncomfortable, room noisy, people in the spa room below us did NOT have any privacy in their hot tub experience, and we got to hear their pleasurable evening. Rat bait traps set out all around the hotel/restaurant. We checked out on July 18, 2014, and requested that the manager email us, and we have not heard, nor have we gotten a refund on the second night. Most uncaring staff except for one blond young lady who was apparently embarrassed and caring.

Room Tip: Stay far away from this hotel. I'm sure that all the good reviews were written by hotel staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GoIrish47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo F, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Golrish47

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent visit to the Crab at Chieveley.

I have to admit I am very disappointed with your review and find your comments a little unfair and inaccurate.

I personally did refund you £125.00 and sent you an email just after your departure apologizing for any inconvenient caused to you.

Should you wish to discus your issues further, do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Regards
Amparo Ferri
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Took advantage of the Sunday evening special, which is bed, breakfast and evening meal. Very good value, and the room we stayed in "Gleneagles" was comfortable, clean and well themed. The Hotel is in a rural location with good views across the open fields, so a pleasure to sit outside on a warm evening enjoying a pint with the wife!! The evening meal was great, I had scallops followed by fish stuffed with crab, certainly one of the best meals we have had in a while. The restaurant staff were very attentive, without overdoing it, and the hotel manager was a comedian in disguise....did a good job making us and our next table visitors smile...
Breakfast was o.k., not as extensive as we have had in other hotels, but more than adequate, especially after the evening meal!!
Good location, good food, friendly staff...very good hotel. Will be going back as soon as we can fit it in...

Room Tip: We stayed in the Gleneagles room, which was uniquely themed, a reasonable view over the countryside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WITHIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amparo F, Front Office Manager at Crab & Boar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Withies

Thank you for taking the time to leave your kind comments via Trip Advisor.

All of the team and I were delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience with us.

I have passed your comments on to a very grateful kitchen team, who was delighted to read that the food delivered was up to your standards.

Once again thank you for your lovely comments.

We all look forward to welcoming you to The Crab at Chieveley in the near future.

Warm Regards
Amparo Ferri
Front of House Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chieveley
3.7 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
678 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,938 reviews
3.2 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Royal Oak
Royal Oak
#1 of 1 in Yattendon
195 reviews
2.9 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crab & Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crab & Boar

Address: Wantage Road, Chieveley RG20 8UE, England (Formerly The Crab at Chieveley Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Chieveley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Price Range: £77 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crab & Boar 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Berkshire countryside, The Crab & Boar is a stunning country pub with rooms offering award-winning British cuisine and 14 country-style bedrooms. Sink into one of our 14 stylish rooms and unwind in your own private corner of the Berkshire countryside. All bedrooms feature antique furnishing, luxury throws, Egyptian cotton linen, flat screen TVs, natural Bramley bath and body products and Tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have their own private hot tub. Dogs are more than welcome. The two AA Rosettes restaurant serves beautiful seafood and seasonal game in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our Head Chef Tom uses locally sourced and seasonal ingredients so you can expect that every plate on the Crab & Boar menu is as fresh as it can be and is expertly crafted with a passion for the local countryside. With an easy access to the M4 motoway, The Crab & Boar is located 25 minute drive away from historic Oxford, 16 minutes from Newbury Racecourse and 19 minutes from Highclere castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crab & Boar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crab At Chieveley Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Chieveley
Crab & Boar Chieveley, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing