We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“1st visit but definitely not our last!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crab & Boar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Crab & Boar
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“1st visit but definitely not our last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

To start with reception staff (especially Hannah) gave us a very warm welcome, our package was explained to us, showed us to our room where the hot tub was up to temperature and ready to go. Any questions we had were answered fully and straight away. The room we had was Bird Island and was great, although if you are vertically challenged do take a set of steps with you to get in to the bed (very high).

We cannot fault the maître d (Louis), he was very helpful and attentive, constantly (but not excessively) checking we had drinks and that the food was as expected. He guided us through our wine choice as we have very little knowledge and the wine list was extensive.


Well what can we say about the food? It was without doubt the best food we have eaten. The head chef (Cal) and his team have done the hotel proud. It is not surprising they have the reputation and awards they are truly deserved.

All in all a fantastic stay and we will definitely be visiting again.
Mr and Mrs Weller

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    165
    97
    57
    52
See reviews for
59
431
2
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Super stay at the Crab, again, as expected. The price on a Sunday night is always amazing and we were pleased to stay in another different room. Bora Bora this time and really impressed with the unique decor, different to all of the other rooms. We enjoyed spending time in the hot tub and then had a wonderful dinner. We had never managed to secure a 'Whole Salcombe Crab' until now, we called ahead and reserved four of them for our party. Good advice as we have found that on a Sunday we have been unlucky and missed out! I had a beautiful lobster salad to start as well as wonderfully fresh oysters. Superb meal, we all agreed. Very good service.

Breakfast delivered to the room is such a great bonus, it's so easy to call ahead and order and my eggs benedict was superb. We took our little Chihuahua and it was perfect for him, the small courtyard is totally secure and he had a great time! The flooring is all tiled and suitable for doggies, we took his little bed but he did enjoy lying on the rugs! We were on the ground floor and it was very easy to sneak out in the early hours of the morning with him to extensive gravel/grass areas without disturbing any other guests for the toilet, I would not like to have been on the upstairs floor due to the metal staircase as I would have worried about disturbing other people, I'm not sure I would take a big dog here because of the boutique sized rooms, although the hotel was very welcoming so don't let it put you off, but for our tiny dog it is perfect.

Can't wait to come back and try another hot tub room.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I entertained 14 friends for lunch for my 80th birthday. Service was good and the presentation of the food Ok: the quality of the cuisine fell short. My grilled plaice was over cooked which you should not expect from a restaurant specialising in seafood. Six of my party booked in for dinner at 7.30pm, ordering only one dish each, and we had to wait until 9.30pm to be served, suggesting a serious imbalance between staff and diners. (It was a Friday evening but that should be no excuse).

I had booked a room for my wife and myself and another for my grandson. Our room, ZEN, was three feet from a busy 'B' road but I had earplugs. Unfortunately, we found that there was a 'floozie in the Jacuzzi' in the room above us. My earplugs were totally ineffectual in blocking out the noise from above.

We left to return home at 1.30am, having been unable to sleep.

Room Tip: Do not book into ZEN. Noise from the upstairs Jacuzzi motor is overly powerful,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed one night (in Treetops room) on a package which included dinner, B&B, a glass of prosecco each, some chocolates and a bottle of house wine. The Crab looks like it has been picked up from the coast and popped into the Berkshire countryside, the exterior and interior festooned with lobster pots and fishing nets. Our room was nicely furnished in an African theme but it did overlook the rooms below with hot tubs. Like others have said, there is some noise from the hot tub plumbing and from the guests enjoying them - they aren't very private! (we could hear everything).
After a warm welcome at Reception we enjoyed our glass of Prosecco in the bar area (so much so that we had a second glass). We found the bar area decor a bit eclectic - a melange of fishing nets, horse-racing stuff and a french theme too, with a collection of champagne bottles. Choice of cds (sixties pop) seemed an odd, outdated choice.
What a different feel the place has in the evening! We came down for dinner to a busy, buzzing restaurant. Food, wine and service were all excellent (although the same cds were still playing).
Breakfast was ok (we both had the full English) apart from the watery coffee but the waitress happily made us fresh coffee from the machine in the restaurant. The same sixties tunes were still playing.....
We enjoyed our stay at the Crab especially the restaurant experience - the package is a great deal. Full marks for food at dinner and service (and for the Nespresso machine and chocolates in the room) but a couple of points off for the hot tub noise and those old cds!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shezerado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night. I arrived to find what felt a bit like a hidden gem. There was loads of parking and despite the fact that it is next to a road, it's rural situation meant that this didn t matter.
The room was very pleasant although the shower took some working out. The food was great and the setting excellent. Great wine list!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Recently stayed here for one night in the La Mamounia room. Everything was great, although I'm not sure that I'd really describe the hot tub as having its own gazebo! We had room service and breakfast delivered to the room, both of which were lovely and great quality! The room was next to a road and was very noisy due to the passing traffic, but to be honest, this really wasn't an issue for us! More annoying was the leaking sink and water dripping onto the floor in the bathroom! The shower was also leaking! Despite these 'issues', we had a great time and will certainly look to revisit at some point!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MissGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Really enjoyed our stay over two days mon and Tues.stayed in cipriani. Room and hot tub lovely. Had a meal in restaurant and breakfast,both very good would recommend.staff very helpful and helped when hot tub needed a bit of attention, would go back. Visited bicester, good shops and places to eat. Local pub in chiveley did good food.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graham s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chieveley
12.6 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
3.1 mi away
Star Inn
Star Inn
#1 of 2 in Wantage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#1 of 16 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa
13.1 mi away
The Swan at Streatley
The Swan at Streatley
#1 of 1 in Streatley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
5.0 mi away
Milton Hill, Abingdon
Milton Hill, Abingdon
#1 of 1 in Steventon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crab & Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crab & Boar

Property: Crab & Boar
Address: Wantage Road, Chieveley RG20 8UE, England (Formerly The Crab at Chieveley Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Chieveley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Chieveley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Crab & Boar 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Berkshire countryside, The Crab & Boar is a stunning country pub with rooms offering award-winning British cuisine and 14 country-style bedrooms. Sink into one of our 14 stylish rooms and unwind in your own private corner of the Berkshire countryside. All bedrooms feature antique furnishing, luxury throws, Egyptian cotton linen, flat screen TVs, natural Bramley bath and body products and Tea and coffee making facilities. Some rooms have their own private hot tub. Dogs are more than welcome. The two AA Rosettes restaurant serves beautiful seafood and seasonal game in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Our Head Chef Tom uses locally sourced and seasonal ingredients so you can expect that every plate on the Crab & Boar menu is as fresh as it can be and is expertly crafted with a passion for the local countryside. With an easy access to the M4 motoway, The Crab & Boar is located 25 minute drive away from historic Oxford, 16 minutes from Newbury Racecourse and 19 minutes from Highclere castle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crab & Boar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crab At Chieveley Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Hotel Chieveley
The Crab Chieveley
Crab & Boar Chieveley, Berkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing