We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and setting”

The Blackwood Arms Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 21 Restaurants in Burnham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A quintessential example of a traditional English Inn. Home cooked local produce, 6 real ales and a great selection of wines by the glass. Open Log fires, country walks and scenic views. Dogs, horses kids n critters all welcome Open Bank Holiday`s
London
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Lovely food and setting”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We came here on a Sunday lunch after the 4.5 mile walk. We had a table outside as it was a lovely day and the server kindly found us an umbrella so that the dog could sit in the shade. The setting was lovely overlooking the fields in a pretty little gazebo and the garden is well kept. I had the special - the dressed crab - which was very fresh and a nice change and my husband had a (very large!) burger which he enjoyed. The sticky toffee pudding was great.

The only thing that slightly marred our visit was the service. I know that they were busy but it was rather haphazard and we had to wait a long while for our main plates to be cleared and to order dessert and then the server came back ten minutes later as she has forgotten what we'd ordered. It was a lovely pub - especially being dog friendly - and we would return but expect a leisurely experience!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wowfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whoopwhoop251, Owner at The Blackwood Arms Country Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi and thanks for your honest comments, yes unfortunately Sundays are an extremely busy day.
A victim of its own success.
However we always try to maintain our service levels.
Thanks again Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    71
    28
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent lunch @ hidden pub.”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Dropped in for lunch, pub opens at 1200.
Met by friendly and helpful staff. Many menu items have a small size option - which is a very good feature.
Good range of well kept draught beers, pub is currently running a Brakspear's scheme of 1/3 rd pint glasses, which gives an opportunity to sample many beers without liver damage.
Food was well cooked and well worth eating. Because you have control over portion sizes, no need to leave anything or feel bloated.
We will return - if we can find it again! Although it is well worthhuntingout.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Owen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great Mothers Day Lunch”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This pub was booked by my son for Mother's Day as it was dog friendly.We had a good experience the weather was fine so we were able to eat in the garden .The staff were friendly and attentive even though they were busy,when the food arrived it was excellent.The setting is great a traditional English pub offering good food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gilesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whoopwhoop251, Owner at The Blackwood Arms Country Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thanks for your review.
Mothers day is always a big one and hard to deliver on. Glad you and your family appreciated the teams efforts.
Regards Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“10% Service Charge”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Our walking group of 6 lunched in the Blackwood Arms last week where we enjoyed a 'pleasant' light meal, however, we were disappointed to discover that having paid our bill a 10% service charge had been added without our knowledge. It was only by subsequently adding up the constituent parts of the 'bill' (effectively the hand written order, costed and then totaled) that it was discovered that a service charge had been added. Nowhere on the bill was the service charge shown and no mention was made of it by the bar staff. The menu reads as follows "No service is added to your bill unless there are 6 or more of you and you feel we are worth it.” The bar staff obviously felt they were worth it - a matter of opinion. The moral of this is to have your wits about you and check your bill in detail.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy35blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whoopwhoop251, Owner at The Blackwood Arms Country Inn, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi All
thanks for your comments.
You point out to us that "service for 6 or more would be added, unless we were not worth it ".
.You have not mentioned that the team were not worth it..
We would have presumed that all was well as you were checked back on during your stay with us and nothing was offered other than positive comments.
We like to give all of our guests value for money and the opportunity to help us improve our work via feedback.
We will advise the team to be more attentive when presenting the bill.
Thanks again Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Game food!!!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We decided to visit this hidden away little pub in Burnham for an evening meal with some friends. We were welcomed and shown to our table by a very pleasent member of staff.

I opted for some game as my main course with wild mushrooms. Unfortuantely, the phesant was overcooked and very dry which was a shame because the sauce with it was lovely. The wild mushrooms that accompanied the dish were also overcooked and had not been cleaned properly resulting in a mouthfull of grit! The Chef was very apologetic and offered to replace the meal but time was getting on and everyone else had finished their meals which did not have any issues. I do appreciate that the chef was very busy with a large number fo covers for such a small place and would give the place a second chance.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan_and_Linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whoopwhoop251, Owner at The Blackwood Arms Country Inn, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
HI thanks very much for your valuable feedback. We always endeavour to please all our quests, I will of course speak with the chef and discuss your comments.
Kindest regards Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blackwood Arms Country Inn also viewed

 
Burnham, Buckinghamshire
Farnham Common, Buckinghamshire
 
Seer Green, Beaconsfield
Farnham Common, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Blackwood Arms Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing