We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stay of mixed thoughts” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burnham Beeches Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burnham
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A stay of mixed thoughts”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Very grand approach to the hotel with a beautiful building and grounds. Staff absolutely superb. However, stayed in a room 103 that although in the old part of the hotel was large but very, very tired. Leaky taps, leaking windows, chipped bath, damaged wallpaper not repaired. poor lighting. But a comfy bed. It was such a pity that the upkeep had been allowed to drop away. I felt as though it was a room saved for those who may be using discount booking sites as sometimes happens. It could be such a lovely hotel if lifted out of the 90's and brought up to the 4* it advertises.

Room Tip: Be careful of the attraction of the older part of the hotel until it is updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate G, Sales & Marketing Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased that you appreciated the outside of the hotel. 103 is a Superior Feature Room in the original Georgian part of the building. The room has very recently been refurbished with new carpets, décor and soft furnishings, but we have taken on board your comments regarding the bathroom and the window, and these maintenance issues have now been repaired. Of course, had these issues been brought to our attention during your stay we would have been happy to resolve them at the time and move you too an alternative bedroom if possible.
I am however so pleased to hear that you found our team to be so helpful and friendly.
Many thanks once again for your review.
Kindest Regards,
Kate Gibbs
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    206
    115
    60
    29
See reviews for
141
308
17
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at Burnham beeches hotel for one night back in November to attend a presentation evening close by. On arrival we were greeted with friendly check in staff and were promptly checked in and given the key to our room which was in the older wing of the hotel. The room was tastefully decorated and definitely in keeping with the style of the hotel with great views over the front lawn. We also opted to have afternoon tea in the lounge which I have to say is great value for money. The portions sizes are huge for one person and was delicious especially the banana cake. Unfortunately we were unable to finish it all so the staff very kindly wrapped it up for us to take to our room for later. The bar lady Mary who served us was fantastic too and even though there was a wedding taking place we weren't made to feel like an inconvenience even though the bar and staff were obviously busy.
The bed in the room was very comfortable and we both had a good nights sleep followed by a full English breakfast buffet the following morning which was hot and good quality. Overall a lovely stay at Burnham beeches and I would happily recommend the hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee_hoads68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate G, Sales & Marketing Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a lovely review! We hope you enjoyed the presentation evening, and your time in the area.
I am so pleased to hear how much you liked your bedroom, and that you were so well looked after by the team. It is also great to hear that you had the opportunity to have an afternoon tea, and that you were able to take some away to enjoy at a later time. We will pass your thanks on to Mary.
Thank you for your recommendations, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!
Kindest Regards,
Kate Gibbs
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

After negotiating the deep, deep pot holes on the narrow lane approach to the hotel, the next disconcerting thing is the number of warning signs in the car park from the local police advising the valuables should not be left in the car.

Just one person on reception which was busy and meant a little wait! Should have put another person on at that point.

Staff extremely polite and helpful, free Wi-Fi made for a good welcome. Room 103, a superior room, included a four-poster bed and was very comfortable. However, the decor, carpets and furnishing were a little tired and as it turned out, in-keeping with the rest of the hotel.

We stayed two nights and ate from the al-a-carte menu in the restaurant the first night. Although the food was good, we found the menu uninspiring and it didn't attract us back for more the second night. Instead we had a bar meal, which was good.

Evidence in the form of pennants, that the England football team had stopped there many times particularly in the nineties, which I'm afraid is where this hotel still is.

In conclusion, committed staff however, uninspiring menu and hotel needs a refurbishment.

Queued yet again at check out. Watch the pot holes on the way out!



Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SteveG74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate G, Sales & Marketing Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
We are sorry to hear that you experienced some problems on your way to the hotel. With the Great British weather taking its toll on the roads, it can be a nightmare getting around at this time of year, but we did inform the council about the potholes on these public roads and they have since been repaired.
The safety of our guests and their property is of the utmost importance to the team here at Burnham Beeches. Whilst CCTV and night time security are utilised to protect the car park as much as possible, we also feel that a gentle reminder to our guests is important following some incidents at a nearby hotel over the summer months.
As always, I am very proud to hear such wonderful comments about our team, but I am sorry to hear that there was a queue when you came to check-in and check-out of the hotel. We will take this feedback on board going forward.
We are pleased that you had a comfortable stay. 103 is a Superior Feature Room, located in the original mansion. All of our feature rooms have just been refurbished, boasting new carpets, curtains and soft furnishings whilst each room still maintains its own unique Georgian Style. Of course, we appreciate that traditional Georgian decor may not be to everybody’s taste, so for those who prefer something more modern we also have over 30 Executive Bedrooms, which have been decorated in a contemporary style.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your bar meal and dinner in our restaurant, but sorry to hear that the a la carte menu was not necessarily to your taste. We regularly get fantastic feedback about our restaurant, and the seasonal a la carte menus. Our new menu was launched just last week, and we feel it is one of our best to-date, offering a wide variety of seasonal and local produce, thoughtfully prepared by our highly-skilled team of chefs.
The England first team did use Burnham Beeches as their preferred hotel for many years, but unfortunately when their training grounds moved they had to find alternative accommodation. However, we do still have a number of sports teams stay at Burnham Beeches throughout the year, and were lucky enough to play host to several teams during the 2012 Olympics due to our fantastic facilities, relaxing atmosphere and close proximity to London and Heathrow.
Once again, thank you for your review, and for the positive comments regarding our hard-working team.
Kindest Regards,
Kate Gibbs
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

A lovely hotel with very friendly staff who were very welcoming. We were staying as part of a spa break package, which was very good value. We enjoyed a delicious 3 course meal in the candlelit restaurant, a brilliant breakfast with a wide choice and a very yummy afternoon tea. Our room was average but comfortable. The spa treatments were great and although small, the pool, sauna and jacuzzi area added to the break. Would definitely return and recommend others to try it especially if they are offering a spa package.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank llem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate G, Sales & Marketing Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your relaxing spa break, and the food options you sampled throughout your stay. We are always very proud of the menus and quality of food served here at Burnham Beeches.
We are also delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your treatments, and that you had the opportunity to make use of our leisure facilities.
Thank you for recommending the hotel to friends- we hope you will visit again in the near future.
Kindest Regards,
Kate Gibbs
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is a lovely hotel set in very pleasant grounds.Our Gourmet Tasting Dinner and Breakfast were very nice indeed. The staff were all polite and receptive,although when I phoned Reception it took quite a while for someone to answer.
The room was very comfortable, except for the lay out. We had a small double bed with the air-con unit right above it and a single bed with a radiator as a bed head! However,the main problem was the heat in the room which despite turning off the radiator and opening two windows led to a very uncomfortable night!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old part of the Hotel as it may be cooler!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 892Janpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate G, Sales & Marketing Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
We are pleased that you appreciated the hotel’s 10 acres of beautiful grounds, and that you enjoyed the food during your stay, including the Gourmet Tasting Menu with matching wines.
I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with the layout and temperature of your room. We are a manor house hotel, and try to ensure that the hotel is kept warm during the cold winter months. Our executive rooms are fitted with air conditioning units, but if you are unhappy with your room our reception team and duty managers are happy to do whatever they can if the problem is brought to their attention.
Overall, I am pleased you liked the hotel, and hope you will visit again in the future.
Kindest Regards,
Kate Gibbs
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I had a Dinner with my girlfriend couple days ago and I have to say that food was superb, service excellent and overall experience just great. Staff (Ola and Andrew) was very discreet yet attentive and just lovely. Food cooked to perfection and served in a high class way with Silver cloches taken off at the same time! We felt very special.
Good service is rare these days and this hotel definitely know how to do it right!
I will be back for Valentines stayover and will reccomend the Hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kate n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate G, Sales & Marketing Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am so pleased to hear that you both enjoyed your meal.
We pride ourselves on excellent service here at Burnham Beeches, and your thanks have been passed on to Andrew and Ola. We have also passed your comments on to our hard working kitchen team.
Thank you for your recommendations to friends, we very much look forward to welcoming you back for Valentines Day!
Kindest Regards,
Kate Gibbs
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

A pleasant setting with lovely surrounding grounds. Friendly staff responded to all requests efficiently. Room amenities were good with shower and bath as well as tea and coffee making facilities. We were able use the wifi for all our devices. The breakfast buffet was good enough value and they let our 13 year old eat it for free. The food in the restaurant was good for all dishes we tried and so were the lunch snacks we ordered. All these were reasonably priced. The indoor swimming pool was also a pleasant bonus as we travelled in winter.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank furb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate G, Sales & Marketing Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
I am very happy to hear that you had such a good stay, and proud to that you found the team to be friendly and attentive.
We do offer complimentary Wi-Fi, parking and leisure facilities, and are very pleased that you had the opportunity to utilise these features, and that you were happy with the amenities in your family room.
Finally, I am glad you had the chance to sample several of our dining options, and that you enjoyed the food throughout your stay.
We do hope that you and your family will visit again soon.
Kindest Regards,
Kate Gibbs
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham
1.1 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
2.0 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
2.1 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
2.1 mi away
Taplow House Hotel
Taplow House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taplow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 623 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnham Beeches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnham Beeches Hotel

Property: Burnham Beeches Hotel
Address: Grove Road, Burnham SL1 8DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Burnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnham Beeches Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just minutes from the M4 and M40, Burnham Beeches Hotel is the perfect location for a Weekend Getaway near Windsor, or a Country House Wedding near Buckinghamshire or Berkshire.The four star hotel boasts its own rosette awarded restaurant, acres of stunning grounds and relaxing leisure facilities, as well as free parking and free Wifi throughout the building.Additionally, being only minutes from Burnham Station and Slough Trading Estate the hotel’s conference facilities and stylish executive bedrooms make it the ideal venue for Meetings, Conferences and Team Building Days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Burnham Beeches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Beeches
Burnham Beeches Taplow
Burnham Beeches Hotel Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing