We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but flawed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burnham
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Excellent service and the upkeep of the grounds is top quality. The room was amazing but lacked air conditioning which meant it was too hot to sleep comfortably. A fan was provided but was noisy so not ideal.

The chicken Caesar salad nice and used good quality ingredients but was expensive for what it was. The breakfast however was amazing and could not be faulted!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank iwantdecentfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon P, General Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you so enjoyed the hotel’s grounds and your room. Our executive bedrooms are fully air conditioned – I am sorry to hear that the fan in your Classic Room was a little too noisy. It is always great to hear such wonderful feedback about the food, and we hope you will visit again soon to sample more of what we have to offer!
Kindest Regards,
Jon Potts
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

450 - 456 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

Had are wedding @ Burnham beeches and couldn't of been happier with the hotel and the staff. Rebecca the hotel wedding planner was professional and very helpful any questions or problems were sorted in a timely manner. The whole day was amazing and the wedding package was good value for money. My wife and I would recommend burnham beeches for weddings or a night away and we will for sure defiantly make a return visit. Mr and Mrs Ravenscroft

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon P, General Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and congratulations on your recent wedding!
On behalf of Rebecca and the team, we would like to say what a pleasure it was working on your special day, and we are truly delighted that it was everything you hoped it would be.
We very much look forward to your return visit!
Kindest Regards,
Jon Potts
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Last minute booking for nearby work related visit.

Pulling up to the hotel exterior and grounds look quite nice. Enter the shabby lobby - inattentive, amateur receptionist, no offer of help to carry bags. Walk through some doors up two flights of stairs which have old, much in need of changing carpet. Standard room quite small, outdated furniture and very stuffy - don't expect water or a minibar! Bathroom - horrid shower curtain, broken elements, probably the fastest shower I've had. Air conditioning is only available in executive rooms - had a look at this room after being very disappointed in the standard room and although it was larger and with air con it still left a lot to be desired.

Swimming pool equally shabby and small - makes a school swimming pool look like luxury in comparison. Gym is actually a tiny room with all round mirrors to make it look larger, a couple of treadmills and a multi gym. Needless to say after a glance in this "leisure area" I did not return.

After returning from business in the evening after a quick change - my aim was to spend minimum time inside this establishment, so we did not dine here.

The only good thing were the housekeeping staff who were professional and pleasant plus the free wifi

Nonetheless at 120pounds per night, you'd probably pay half and have a better stay in the nearby Ibis hotel, or a quaint country inn.

Avoid

Room Tip: none - although executive rooms are larger and have air con
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PDelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon P, General Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your recent stay at the Burnham Beeches Hotel.

I am sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations.

As a result of your feedback we have implemented extra training to ensure a smooth quick check in but also to ensure you receive the relevant information regarding the hotel and its facilities. I am sorry that you felt the bedroom was outdated and can assure you these will be given a makeover in the near future. We have recently invested heavily in new cooling systems for our standard bedrooms.

Following your review a full investigation has been carried out to address the points you have raised and will be used to continue our process of improving the standard of our product and service we offer to our guests.

I am delighted that you were impressed with our housekeeping team and I have passed on your kind comments.

I take your feedback extremely seriously and would welcome further information regarding your stay. Perhaps you would be so kind as to give me a call to discuss further the issues raised. If you would like to do so then please contact me on 02628 600151.

Once again thank you for taking time out to write a review and I do hope I can discuss the issues raised in finer detail.

Kindest regards

Jon Potts
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had the most amazing wedding reception for our daughter hosted by BBH they were excellent and could not do enough for us - I would highly recommend this venue if you want a 5* wedding reception at a 4* hotel. We have wonderful memories and the whole 24 hours was smoothly executed by the the staff - thank you XX

Room Tip: we had a suite which was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank stephen_jarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate G, Sales & Marketing Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for such a wonderful review. I am thrilled to head that you and your family so enjoyed David and Emily’s perfect day! We were honoured to host such a wonderful wedding, and very much look forward to welcoming you all back to the hotel in the future. Please do pass on our congratulations once again to the newly-weds!
Kindest Regards,
Kate Gibbs
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

When I researched this hotel it seemed a good hotel reasonably priced & when booking the girl on the phone was very professional,so far so good.However all that glitters is far from being gold.Poor reception on arrival with no offer of help with luggage even though we were on the 2nd floor.The room was a disappointment,2 panes of glass in the window were cracked & the window lock was broken.The hot tap in the bathroom pivoted when turning off,the underside of the slip mat in the bath had some black mould, & the cast iron bath has black marks where the enamel has been chipped or worn off.Although the fixed head shower was OK the shower curtain was a pain.We did not eat in the restaurant but the breakfast had a fair choice but was average.The annoying aspect of breakfast was not being told eggs had to be ordered which resulted in choosing all of the other items from the buffet to find only unappetising looking scrambled eggs at the end.One more thing to consider is there are no safes in the rooms.When we stayed there was a wedding which may have distracted the staff but I don't consider that to be an excuse.To close,on departure we pointed out the problems with the room the girl at reception made notes but offered no apology.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank rplColton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate G, Sales & Marketing Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review
I believe you have since spoken to our hotel manager regarding your stay. I am sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied, but as a result of your feedback we have implemented repairs to the room, and extensive training in order to get our service back up to the usual Burnham Beeches Hotel.
We strive to deliver excellent service to all of our guests, and I am confident that we will demonstrate this on your next visit to the hotel.
Kindest Regards,
Kate Gibbs
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

A lovely setting, comfy rooms and OK conference facilities. But what was truly special about this place was the staff. From the moment I got there nothing was too much trouble., they were attentive, checked on you to see if you needed anything and found ways to supply one or two unique requests. Absolutely would come here again.

Room Tip: Ground floor past reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ToniaOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate G, Sales & Marketing Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
It is lovely to read yet another fantastic review about our wonderful team. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Burnham Beeches.
Kindest Regards,
Kate Gibbs
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We enjoyed a lovely weekend and exquisite food at this lovely hotel for our wedding anniversary. We were initially disappointed with our room in the modern part of the building but were promptly moved to a lovely room in the older Georgian part of the building, swapping air conditioning for a fan but despite the heat, the room and its views were worth it and the fan and open windows kept us perfectly cool. Staff were excellent throughout our stay. The pool and hot tub were enjoyable too and not crowded. Enjoyed visiting nearby Henley on Thames and Marlow.

Room Tip: Pick a room in the old Georgian part of the building with views to the front unless you want air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate G, Sales & Marketing Manager at Burnham Beeches Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review, and on behalf of all of the team at Burnham Beeches Hotel- Happy Anniversary! We are thrilled that you chose to spend such a special occasion at our hotel.
We have several different style rooms to suit different tastes, and I am so pleased to hear that you were pleased with your Georgian style Feature Room, and with the views of our beautiful grounds. I am also pleased that you had an opportunity to use our leisure facilities during your stay, and make the most of the surrounding area.
Once again I am delighted to read such great feedback about our team, and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Burnham Beeches in the future – perhaps for your next anniversary?
Kindest Regards,
Kate Gibbs
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burnham
1.1 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
642 reviews
4.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
Crowne Plaza Gerrards Cross
#1 of 7 in Beaconsfield
492 reviews
2.1 mi away
Taplow House Hotel
Taplow House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taplow
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Stoke Park Country Club, Spa and Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,466 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cliveden House
Cliveden House
#1 of 2 in Taplow
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnham Beeches Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnham Beeches Hotel

Address: Grove Road, Burnham SL1 8DP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Burnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Burnham
Price Range: £80 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnham Beeches Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located just minutes from the M4 and M40, Burnham Beeches Hotel is the perfect location for a Weekend Getaway near Windsor, or a Country House Wedding near Buckinghamshire or Berkshire.The four star hotel boasts its own rosette awarded restaurant, acres of stunning grounds and relaxing leisure facilities, as well as free parking and free Wifi throughout the building.Additionally, being only minutes from Burnham Station and Slough Trading Estate the hotel’s conference facilities and stylish executive bedrooms make it the ideal venue for Meetings, Conferences and Team Building Days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Burnham Beeches Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Burnham Beeches
Burnham Beeches Taplow
Burnham Beeches Hotel Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing