We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Small, but lovely cosy cottage :)”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Cottages - fabulous barn conversions in a pretty courtyard, right in the heart of Embleton
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Rose Cottages - fabulous barn conversions in a pretty courtyard, right in the heart of Embleton
Modern bathrooms with bath & shower - complimentary organic toiletries & fluffy towels
Relax in our beautiful gardens
Free use of hotel facilities - friendly local bar & cosy lounges
Just 10 mins walk to spectacular beach - Embleton Bay, Dunstanburgh Castle & Craster
Scenic beach walk to Low Newton-by-the-Sea
Summer dining in our lovely gardens
Complimentary organic toiletries, hot drinks tray, fluffy towels & bed linen included
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
carpenter...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Small, but lovely cosy cottage :)”
Reviewed 2 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

My partner and I stayed in 'The Hayloft' which is one of three virtualy identical barn conversion cottages in a small private area just behind the owners house. The only difference between cottages is the middle one "the old barn" is slightly larger than the other two. Our cottage had a comfortable double sofa/sofabed in lounge area with dining table and lovely log burner, the kitchen area is small but perfectly adequate and very well equipped, including a full size freezer and fridge - which we did not expect given the size of accommodation.
The stairs then lead up to a decent sized double sleeping mezzanine floor area, the bed is 2 singles pushed together, each single was comfortable but if you like to cuddle up in the middle its awful as you end up in a trench type dip - not sure how that would be remedied other than just use a double mattress.
Bathroom is very nicely put together, tucked away under the sleeping area and includes a dressing area and clothes storage.
Externally there is parking for each cottage and a massive communal garden area which I imagine would be great in the summer months.

When we arrived the cottage was locked (contrary to information given) so we had to contact the duty manager who then contacted the owners to gain entry - the whole process only took 5 mins though, which was good. I am not sure wether there had been some confusion with bookings (who was allocated which cottage etc) during our stay as we also had another guest walk right in on us one evening as they arrived for there stay - we just thought that this was funny tbh.

Our TV had problem with the HDMI port which meant that we couldn't use our playstation to allow us to access services like player or netflix's as the TV's are not smart tv's, as we had not taken any dvds and relied on this for our viewing. The duty manager changed our tv the next morning which we thought was excellent service.

All in all a fabulous self catering cottage. Minutes to beach with its own ruined castle to top off the view, 30min walk along beach brings you to another village and
pub with great food.

Ok so pros & Cons -

Pros
Warm, cosy & Clean
Great location for beach/walks and visiting local area.
Walking distance to pubs
Well equipped
Dog friendly
Helpful staff
log burner
Good wifi

Con's - practically none!
slightly compact accommodation, perfect for couples though.
The mattress being not very cosy for couples due to it being 2 singles.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2018
Dear Guest

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Hayloft at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
George Knight-General Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michala P
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr and Mrs”
Reviewed 6 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Just spent three nights here at the stable cottage . It was perfect we will definitely be back. Immaculate, and very cosy. . Embleton itself is a beautiful little village with a fab beach and dog friendly pubs . Would recommend the greys Inn for food to all homecooked.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2017
Dear Michala

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of the Stable at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
George Knight – General Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kath54201...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Perfect cottage for two people and a dog.”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Stayed in Hayloft cottage for three nights.Excellent facilities and very comfortable bed.Embleton is a beautiful area.Wonderful beach.Ideal for our dog.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean cottage with good facilities.
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
Dear Kath

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of the Hayloft at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
George Knight – General Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda J
Leeds, England
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 7 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband, daughter and dog, stayed for 3 nights in the Stable. The cottage was very well equipt and the enclosed beer garden was beautiful. Excellent position - easy access to beach short walk away and the nearby Seahouses and Bamburgh. The hotel did a takeaway service for if you couldn't eat there - we had fish and chips and a gourmet burger which were amazing!
They also have a delivery service for their main restaurant
menu so you can again dine in your cottage. I would definitely recommend a visit here very friendly and extremely dog friendly .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2016
Dear Capiz

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Stable at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
George Knight – General Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: standard of accommodation
Liked least: lack of lighting on the driveway to rose cottages
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Nov 2015
Dear Janice

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest?s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Billingborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The conveneinece, privacy and access to the hotel facilities
Liked least: The weather!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Sep 2015
Dear Guest

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of the rose cottages at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too difficult to say
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
17 Sep 2015
Dear Guest

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of the rose cottages The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing