We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for all our needs with the opportunity to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of Snowdrop Cottage -south facing & sheltered.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of Snowdrop Cottage -south facing & sheltered.
Lounge area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Front of Snowdrop Cottage -south facing & sheltered.
Lounge area
Dining Area
Kitchen area
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
The view looking south from Embleton Bay, with Dunstanburgh Castle in the background.
The view looking north from Embleton Bay, just a stroll up the beach to the village of Low Newton.
The front of Snowdrop Cottage - with a wooden bench and patio table and chairs.
Lounge area
Dining area and Kitchen
Clementines not included
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
afbrunton
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for all our needs with the opportunity to buy beautiful artwork too!”
Reviewed 1 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The accommodation was just fine for all we required, complete with family quizzes, games and other entertainment for the children. The accommodation was a bit small but for the length of our stay it suited us well. Would definitely recommend. The highpoint was the opportunity to buy beautiful pen-and-ink drawings of local sites and scenes as excellent prices. A lovely holiday retreat.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2016
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback Alison and I'm really pleased you liked the artwork! Hope to see you again on your next trip over! Best wishes, John cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chifchaf
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Value for money, but not 5 stars”
Reviewed 25 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Whilst I agree with other reviews in the main, I feel I need to point out a couple of things, to explain why I haven't given a 5 star rating.
We took 5 different gadgets with us (phones, laptops, ipad) but the only device which would actually connect to the WiFi was the ipad. All of the other android ones did not ever link up. It's worth knowing that the actual router is in the next-door-but-one cottage with just a receiver in Snowdrop. This was very disappointing to me.
The cottage was very well-equipped which was great - not just 4 of everything which you sometimes get. However I wouldn't call it 'spotlessly' clean as places like skirting boards needed more attention, and there were quite a few cobwebs and dusty areas.
Because the cottage is located behind a pub with no outlook it did drive me a bit stir crazy to be honest. It just felt dark and a bit claustrophobic.
Good service from Cosy Retreats and it was good value for the money.
I loved Embleton - it was quiet, friendly and the beach was stunning!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of towels and crockery, good customer service
Liked least: Lack of WiFi reception and the location behind the pub
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2016
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. You'll be pleased to hear the minor wi-fi issues that you experienced are now resolved, as we have installed a new BT Smart Hub that provides excellent wi-fi coverage in the cottage.

John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindylouu
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent 3 nights in Snowdrop cottage and came away feeling relaxed. The cottage itself has everything you need and it is very clean.
Embleton is a fantastic little village and only a 15 minute walk to the beach where you can see the remains of Dunstanburgh castle in the background. The beaches are lovely and clean. We visited at a good time with the kids being in school so it was really quiet and peaceful, just how we wanted it :-)
There are 3 friendly pubs in the village all serving food. On our last night we got a takeout from the Bell inn which was handy as we ate on the beach whilst making the most of the weather.
We will definitely be visiting Northumberland again and would be happy to stay in Snowdrop cottage again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2016
Thanks so much for your kind words! We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

John,
cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anner756
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy , quiet, peaceful and great value”
Reviewed 26 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a really peaceful stay. It's also a great base for exploring places such as Hexham, Warkworth and the Farne Islands. Beautiful county and wonderful places to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace
Liked least: The journey
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2016
Thanks for taking the time to review, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!

John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill C
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful cottage in an ideal location”
Reviewed 24 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Snowdrop Cottage in September 2015 and am really looking forward to going back again. This cottage is lovely. Snowdrop Cottage is very comfortable, spotlessly clean and is equipped with everything you could possibly need. The cottage is in an ideal location, with the Greys Inn, a delightful country pub, serving great food, just a short walk away. I would also recommend the Bluebell Inn which is also a short walk away and also serves good food. Snowdrop Cottage is the ideal place to stay whatever your needs, whether you like walking, exploring or you just want to chill out and relax. The buses run quite regularly through Embleton too. The beautiful Embleton beach is within walking distance of the cottage and I recommend you call into the Golf Club and sample their hot chocolate on the way! I had a great time at Snowdrop Cottage and will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Thanks for the feedback Jill, really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon!

John
Cosy Retreats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great comfy cottage”
Reviewed 22 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We thoroughly enjoyed our first stay to Northumbria in this cutey, comfy cottage. We were very impressed with the area, walks on the local beach with the silhouette of Dunstanburgh Castle on the horizon and Bamburgh Castle will not be forgotten. Great base to explore the area Alnwick Castle,Barter Books, Howick Hall, Holy Island etc, etc. We even ventured to Durham to visit the Cathedral. The village has a local shop, 3 pubs and a church which is worth a visit. Snowdrop is in a row of cottages with individual parking bays, The cottages are set back off the road in a courtyard and were very quiet even with the pub nearby. The skylight in the bedroom is a great feature for a comfy stargaze.Snowdrop provided everything you would need for a superb break. I must mention John Rook, he was very patient and thoughtful when payment was a little messy coming from Australia, he was always obliging and easy to communicate with. Snowdrop is a credit to you John. Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Almost everything
Liked least: No washing machine - which would not be a problem to most but when you are on a 6 week jaunt through Europe you do need to do the Laundry !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Thanks so much for the lovely feedback - you certainly packed a lot in to your stay!

John
Cosy Retreats
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David R
Loughborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful cosy cottage with everything needed for a great week's holiday...”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Given that this was our first holiday in Northumberland, we managed to drop onto this little gem of a cottage. With two adults and two children (9 & 12) we had everything we needed for a really great holiday, and with the amazing Embleton Bay beach just a 15 minute walk down the hill, the kids couldn't be happier.

Embleton itself had everything we needed for our stay, and was close to the Castle & Gardens at Alnwick, which were the highlight of our holiday.

A really comfortable stay, and I honestly had the best sleep I have had in years there. Would happily stay again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Nov 2015
Thanks for the feedback David, we're really pleased you enjoyed your stay. Come back and see us again some time!

John
cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing