We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay”
other travellers have booked this property
The journey is over.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The journey is over.
And relax. Enclosed patio.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
73 reviews
The journey is over.
And relax.
Enclosed patio.
A stroll down to the beach before dark, watch the sun going down.
Time to make a meal?
Set the table?
Open that bottle of wine
A good nights sleep
Up in the morning, don't forget your wellies!
Dunstanburgh Castle across the bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 73 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GGGP
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed 25 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Recently spent two nights at poppy cottage and had a lovely stay. The cottage is well equipped and provided everything we needed for our baby... saving us taking cot and highchair. The location is great. We left one of our sons books by mistake and clare posted it straight back to us. Really impressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KimandChr...
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here with our 3 year old labrador and had a wonderful long weekend. The welcome pack consisting of: bottle of wine, fresh bread, lemon drizzle cake, lemon curd, milk, bacon, eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms and dog treats, towels and bags was brilliant, it really is little touches that make a big difference and they were much appreciated.
The cottage is extremely clean and contains everything you need for your break including a well stocked kitchen, comfortable living areas and spacious bedrooms. There is also an allocated parking space outside.

Clare, the owner was really helpful and great at communication in terms of booking the property. She also met us on arrival with the keys.

The location is in the small village in Embleton, proving a good base for day trips or like us, just to walk directly from the property. The beach is about a 15 minute walk and from there you can head 1 mile left along the beach to the Ship Inn or turn right to walk towards Dunstanburgh castle.

All in all a great little spot. Recommending to all our friends and would love to return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve F
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from Home, perfect in every way”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My wife and I have just returned from Poppy Cottage after a 4 day stay and we have had the most enjoyable break, nothing was a problem, having met Clare the owner who was there to greet us and made us feel more than welcome, we had a beautiful welcome pack waiting for us, the village of Embleton is very picturesque with walks to Craster, Newton by the Sea, Seahouses and Bamburgh. Local pub Greys is just minutes walk away serving lovely food also Joiners Arms short drive up the road is very good, and you have Ship Inn at Newton by the Sea, altogether a brilliant break for the both of us and recommended to all, Thanks Clare

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Locallity
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LizR_777
2 reviews
“Lovely clean and cosy cottage”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in Poppy cottage whilst in Northumberland for a wedding at Newton Hall.
The cottage is cosy and very clean. It came well equipped with pretty much everything you could need and more! The location is great, with the beach not far and 2 pubs and a local shop within a few yards.
We very much enjoyed our stay and would go back again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimster29...
Warrington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Beach Based Fun in Embleton”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have just got back from a 3 night stay at Poppy Cottage, and we enjoyed every second. The house is lovely, and well catered for both families or adults. My children loved the house, and we all felt really settled straight away. We could not have asked for more.
The beach is absolutely gorgeous, and about 15 minutes walk away down a quiet lane, there are even rock pools further down the beach and you can walk to Dunstanburgh Castle if you so wish.
The local area is just beautiful, we also had plenty of sunshine and I couldnt get my kids out of the sea one of the days it was so warm.
Would happily recommend Poppy Cottage and Embleton, we could have stayed a lot longer and were sad to be leaving so soon.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeedsFay
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage had a brilliant time.”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Stayed for 3 nights with my partner and 5 year old son, great location just a 15 min walk to the beach, lovely village and great stay in Poppy Cottage. Cottage is very comfortable and has everything you need. Clare the owner was very helpful she also provides a homemade welcome pack on arrival and extra little touches, would highly recommend staying at Poppy Cottage and hope to return in the not too distant future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attention to detail and the lovely friendly feel of the cottage
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Futurebur...
Leeds
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have very much enjoyed our stay at poppy cottage. Great location for people who are walkers and explorers. We felt the cottage was a home from home experience and the welcome basket was amazing. Thanks you clare and we would definatly come again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing