We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

TrollyDol...
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 1 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Fantastic cottage beautifully decorated & very well appointed. Lovely welcome pack - many thanks Clare!

Date of stay: December 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris E
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing weekend stay”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This is a true hidden gem! A beautiful cottage that offered everything you need plus more! Very clean with excellent facilities! Clare left us with breakfast items and a generous hamper including home made bread, wine and little treats!

This is definitely a must if you're considering staying in the area!

Date of stay: November 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill P
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very pleasant stay in a well equipped cottage.”
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Poppy Cottage is one of four almost identical cottages set behind and to the left of the Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We were welcomed by Clare and shown around the cottage. A fantastic welcome pack was included including a pair of Seahouses kippers for myself and lots more. Real yummy. All rooms are well presented and decorated with sufficient comfortable furniture and a full range of kitchen equipment for four. My wife and I were very happy to share the cottage with Winnie, our 6 month border collie. She was provided with her own towel and some goodies by Clare. No complaints at all. We look forward to our second stay next year.

Date of stay: November 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardeners...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A slice of paradise”
Reviewed 13 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous cottage - ideally situated for the beach.....restaurants and friendly pubs.
Lovely welcome pack so you don't have to stress re first meal....
Everything in the cottage is of good quality , comfortable , a real "home from home"
We walked miles and visited many places of historical interest.....not our usual holiday but can't wait to stay again.

Date of stay: August 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liz2903
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend staying at this cottage”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely little cottage in Embleton. Clean and comfortable accommodation. Lovely "welcome pack" when you arrive with lots of local produce. Fifteen minute walk to the beach near Dunstanburgh Castle. Great base for exploring the Northumberland area. we'll be staying here again when we are next in the area.

Date of stay: June 2016
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemmamall...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 8 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here as a family over the bank holiday weekend, we were attending a wedding at the nearby Newton Hall so thought we would stay and make a weekend of it. Lovely cottage, ideal for my partner and kids who loved going down to the beach and rock pooling. There was even buckets and spades and fishing nets in the cottage for the kids to use. We met some friends staying in a near by cottage and had a wonderful meal at Sambucas just round the corner. I highly recommend this place, lovely cottage, lovely village.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janeymNor...
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Northumbrian Gem”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely little cottage, within easy walking distance of a glorious beach. We had a great week here, in spite of the Arctic temperatures outside. The welcome pack was great and the cottage well equipped and homely. Lots of fab places to visit and good eating places in the village itself. Highly recommended. Thanks Clare.

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.