We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Periwinkle Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Mark P
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Periwinkle Cottage”
Reviewed 30 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017

This is the 2nd time we have stayed here and we would happily stay here again which I’m sure we will in the future. The house is basic but cosy, functional and practical. The layout downstairs is open plan and spacious. The location of the house is great and is situated in Embleton which hosts a shop and a number of pubs/hotels supplying good value and hearty food. The Dunstanburgh hotel does a nice steak and bottle of Barolo.

The cottage is about a mile walk to the beach and is located between the Ship Inn (lower Newton) and Dunstanburgh Castle with Craster a little further on.

The beach at Emblerton is stunning and beautiful and perfect for a lovely dog walk and the club house is handy for any refreshments

Date of stay: October 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2017
Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback - we really appreciate it. Hope we can welcome you again soon! John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
strongbow...
Knottingley West Yorks
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our Stay at Perriwinkle Cottage , Embleton.”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from our holiday at this delightful, exeedingley well equipped dog friendly holiday cottage . It is set in the courtyard of the Dunstanbrough Castle hotel which is also dog friendly and we had our evening meals here in a separate though beautifully appointed dining room and the food was absolutely delicious

The cottage is within walking distance of a glorious beach which my dogs loved and withinin driving distance of all that the beautiful county of Northumberland has to offer.
I would certainly recommend staying at Perriwinkle cottage.

I have enclosed photos of the wonderful Druridge Bay Country Park beach which is like paradise .

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2017
So pleased you enjoyed your stay! Thanks so much for taking the time to leave feedback and I hope we can welcome you again soon :) John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise E
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is located in a quiet courtyard next to the Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, which was great as we ate there every night of our stay. The cottage itself was lovely with a quaint wee front garden. Milk, tea,coffee etc. there on our arrival - a lovely touch. The cottage had everything you could need, was clean and spacious. Really lovely and we felt quite at home. We made it our base for seeing the lovely county of Northumberland. Embleton Bay is stunning. We'll be back!

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jul 2017
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us...hope you can come again soon! John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saraclive...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Perfect well appointed dog friendly accommodation. Beautiful location close to unspoilt scenery and fantastic coastline

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2017
Thanks for the feedback, hope we can welcome you again sometime soon! John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrewvau...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful week in Northumberland”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Periwinkle cottage for a week in March 2017 and enjoyed every minute. Set in a quiet courtyard with great amenities very close by, pub, restaurant and shop a short walk away. The view of the sea and Dunstanburgh Castle from the top of Sea Lane was a perfect start to our holiday. The cottage is spotlessly clean and very welcoming and has lots of lovely touches to make you feel completely at home. A perfect base to visit this stunning part of the world. And the weather was amazing too!

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2017
So pleased you enjoyed your stay Andrew - hope you can come again soon! John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sedgyman
Sedgefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“lovely location, ideal base for a northumberland coastal stay”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

excellent location, immaculately clean , very peaceful setting in a lovely coastal village. everything you need in a cottage , but no log burner!. however , the heating works well , and we are always nice and cosy . Easy access to the superb embleton beach and golf course. Some good local eateries and pubs. Pippa the dog loves it.Wifi included , but a little slow at times.
Would recommend and will return!

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: the double bed is a little small for tall people!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2017
Really pleased you enjoyed your stay Neil and you would be very welcome to return. Wi-fi issues now resolved! John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyndowood
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal Location”
Reviewed 24 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cosy little cottage in an ideal location for great pubs, beaches and castles.
Periwinkle was clean and well equipped with all you could need for your stay.... kitchen utensils, games, cosy blankets. We'd definitely be back !!

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Seats in living room could be more comfy ( sofa was great)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2016
Lynn, thanks for taking the time to leave feedback it's much appreciated. Hope we can welcome you back in the future some time! John, cosy-retreats.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.