We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restored my faith in UK holiday accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Certificate of Excellence
Coldstream, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Restored my faith in UK holiday accommodation”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We booked a one-bedroom cottage suite based on the hotel's website and the 2 nights for £100 offer and also on the reviews here on Trip Advisor. In the past we have left other accommodation and come home early due to it being damp, dirty and smelly so you can understand our trepidation at booking this break. However, we were delighted with the accommodation and the attention to detail and I would like to offer a massive thank you to all the staff involved for restoring our faith in the quality of holiday accommodation available in the UK (particularly for those of us who take our dogs with us). The cottages were immaculate and the staff/people we met were all friendly and helpful. Embleton is in a really lovely location with a beautiful beach only a short walk away but there are also so many other wonderful places just a 30 minute drive away. On our first day the heavens opened and it was torrential all day but we were quite happy tucked up in our cosy little cottage, the following day was glorious and we took full advantage of the winter sunshine and walked for miles. I am happy to recommend the self catering accommodation to anyone and will certainly be returning next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bertiebald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    256
    55
    10
    18
See reviews for
134
472
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

Having never stayed in Northumberland before, Embleton & this hotel were recommend to me, I am so glad I took advise, we stayed 4 nights with our labradoodle & had a perfect time, the room had enough space, the food was excellent, the staff were all great, the location was perfect for long beach walks, the hotel guests were all so friendly towards each other,all in all we had a brilliant time & will certainly return!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazzathejazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york, england
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

Don't let the slightly dated decor put you off, the food, service and ethos of this hotel are all great. We turned up with no booking, dressed in jeans and sweatshirts but we were made to feel very welcome. We were perfectly prepared to eat in the bar but instead were invited to eat in the dining room, no questions asked. The food was superb and no more expensive than most pubs in the area. We had steak, fish and chips and lamb, all of which were cooked perfectly, including the steak which arrived rare, as requested (something of a rarity - no pun intended - these days). The service was also excellent, both friendly and efficient. All round a good find, which I would have no hesitation in recommending.

Stayed November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Leemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We have been visiting this hotel for food on and off for years and decided to visit again last Sunday. You always wonder after five years lapse whether the standards of cooking have declined but, I'm pleased to say, it was still good! I had the local lamb and my husband the beef silverside. Both were good with homemade Yorkshire puddings and interesting vegetables. The sticky toffee pudding wasn't bought in as is the case a lot these days but was homemade with nice custard. My husband had a trio of local cheeses which he enjoyed. The welcome was friendly and so was the service. We will be back when we again visit this lovely part of the country.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowerlady64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

My wife and I visited the Dunstanburgh castle hotel after the Embleton village firework display. We were treated to a very warm welcome from the helpful and friendly staff. I enjoyed a couple of pints of very well kept black sheep bitter and sat down in the cozy restaurant for a meal. My wife had the Sunday roast which was an excellent helping of traditional Sunday lunch with perfect vegetables and beautiful home made Yorkshire puddings. The highlight of the night however was the stake and ale pie. Unlike most restaurants these days that churn out cheap cuts of meat in a dish covered with flaky pastry, i was presented with a succulent suet crust pastry casing with a fabulously tasty steak filling made with choice cuts of lean steak in a scrumptious ale gravy. This was complimented with a generous serving of home made chips and there were choices of mashed potato and vegetables. In all I can heartily recommend this experience if you are looking for a high quality dining evening and guarantee you will leave with a satisfied palate and a desire to repeat the experience. For the vegetarians there is also an impressive and imaginative vegetarian menu on offer

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Wee-hasggis-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnhill
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Nice hotel in a lovely part of the world, rooms a little on the small side but clean. breakfast is very good and the staff very friendly. did not eat in the hotel but the dining room always looked busy, a good sign. we were on a golf trip so its a good base with all the coures around will stay again

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davefarnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballindalloch
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Really caring, friendly,interesting, efficient Northumbrian Staff.Dinners brilliant and the sort you could easily pay £60plus per head in most hotels, yet included in DBB prices of under £80.Superb local kippers for breakfast.A real find...will be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glenlivet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embleton
2.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,226 reviews
6.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,021 reviews
15.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
514 reviews
10.3 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
334 reviews
1.4 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Property: Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Address: Embleton, Alnwick NE66 3UN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Embleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can find us in Embleton, a lovely quiet coastal village 5 minutes from the fabulous Northumberland Coastline. Great walks from the hotel will take you to fabulous sandy bays, castles and cosy pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstanburgh Castle Alnwick
Hotel Dunstanburgh Castle
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel Embleton, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing