We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Cottage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Certificate of Excellence
North Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Just had short break in our favourite place of Northumberland and stayed at the Old Barn, Rose Cottages in Embleton. Previously stayed at the Police Cottages but the Old Barn was just as nice. Supposed to have The Stable but really pleased we didn't as this was bigger for myself and daughter. Very cosy and very clean. Quiet and plenty parking within walking distance of Embleton Beach. Thank you Dunstanburgh Hotel for another lovely stay - we will be back

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank rsboauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    245
    54
    10
    16
See reviews for
130
455
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Had a lovely stay in police house cottages, it was clean and new. Underfloor heating was a bonus and was lovely and cosy also cottage had ample parking, there is a lovely beach near by and great walks for the dogs.
Would recommend this these cottages.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debra930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We have been going to Dunstanbragh Castle Police Cottages for 6years and absolutely love it. It offers comfortable accommodation for our family and family dog. The location is perfect for lovely days out in the beautiful Northumberland. We will be booking again for another weekend to look forwards to in the new year.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andreacleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We stayed in the lovely Stables cottage, one of the Rose Cottages directly opposite the hotel. There is ample car parking beside the cottage and the facilities inside the cottage are fantastic - the decor is lovely and the underfloor heating is brilliant. There's also a wood burning fire, but not being used to using real fires we were a bit unsure how to get the fire going, but once we did it made the cottage even cosier. The cottage has everything you'd need for a self-catering stay, the kitchen facilities and bathroom are both really modern and the whole place was spotless. We took our foldable dog kennel, which fitted neatly under the open-plan stairs. Just a short drive and gentle brisk walk down to the beautiful beach and dunstanburgh castle, then a few pubs in the village too - we think our puppy enjoyed this lovely stay as much as we did - we would definitely recommend - and definitely plan to return in the summer..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank michguz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed in the Police cottages as we were at a wedding nearby. The cottage was fab. Had ensuites in both bedrooms. Everything was clean and New. Would definitely recommend it. Enjoyed the local pub round the corner too.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynneSAFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We booked this hotel at short notice for a 2 night stay and were very impressed. We stayed in one of the cottages and it was perfect. The cottage and facilities were well thought out and the staff were very helpful. The hotel is close to the sea and the beach was amazing. We didn't want to leave and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Our second visit here, I can honestly say it's our favourite place in Northumberland. Cosy log fire in the lounge to unwind after a wonderful day walking the fabulous coastline. Food is great, staff are lovely, we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTurrents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear TheTurrents

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.

Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
T : (01665) 576111
e : stay@dunstanburghcastlehotel.co.uk
w : www.dunstanburghcastlehotel.co.uk
For special offers and competitions like us on facebook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embleton
2.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
6.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
3.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
10.3 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.4 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
7.7 mi away
Purdy Lodge
Purdy Lodge
#1 of 1 in Belford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Property: Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Address: Embleton, Alnwick NE66 3UN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Embleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can find us in Embleton, a lovely quiet coastal village 5 minutes from the fabulous Northumberland Coastline. Great walks from the hotel will take you to fabulous sandy bays, castles and cosy pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstanburgh Castle Alnwick
Hotel Dunstanburgh Castle
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel Embleton, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing