We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$230
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Victoria Hotel(Bamburgh)
US$245
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$168
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eshott Hall(Eshott)
US$151
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$164
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (888)
Filter reviews
889 results
Traveller rating
511
286
60
11
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
511
286
60
11
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdunstanburgh castleself cateringthe cottagesthe main hotelembleton baypolice cottagesdining roombreakfast and dinnerdb bshort breakthree nightsvillage viewcoastal walkssmall villagefriendly hotelnorthumberland coastkippers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
622 - 627 of 889 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We rented a two bedroom cottage for two nights with two children and a lively Labrador dog.
The cottages were very clean and spacious and a great location to travel to Bamburgh, Alnwick, Holy Island etc.
We arrived at lunchtime and the staff in the hotel kindly refrigerated a very large coolie bag of food for us in the hotel, then when our cottage was available they put it all into our fridge which was a very nice touch.
Lovely beach within a 10 minute walk and a great gastro pub close by, wish we could have stayed longer.
Definitely would stay there again but you do need to book in advance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Victoria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Victoria S

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Easter 2014. Stayed 1 night Dinner B&B in a very comfortable spacious family room in the main hotel. Warm welcome, friendly staff, great food, and a decent pint (Timothy Taylor Landlord & Tyneside Blonde). The hotel is very clean, well maintained, & decorated too a high standard (no chipped paintwork). Free Wi-Fi in the comfortable lounge and small pretty garden opposite the main entrance. If you have kids there is a great new play park round the corner (near village pubs). Ideal base to explore the local area including Dunstanburgh Castle, Craster, Embleton Beach, Low Newton By The Sea, & Beadnell Bay. Local beach in walking distance from the hotel or easy option if you have things to carry is park at Golf Club next to beach (£2 all day). Top tip, checkout the secluded cove called 'Football Hole' (sandwiched in between Embleton Bay & Beadnell Bay). All in all a thoroughly enjoyed stay, ticked all the boxes, we will return :)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 16 (spacious en-suite family room with double bed and pull-out sofa bed). Quiet location end of corridor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bainesmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Bainesmeister

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We had a terrific stay. The hotel is in a great location and offers a friendly welcome, good food and beer and a good standard of accommodation. We were offered a perfect alternative to our original cottage booking when an unavoidable problem arose with the self catering property; very generously - considering we were entirely happy with the rearrangement - the hotel offered us complimentary wine with our supper as an extra gesture.

The whole family - including our new puppy - were made to feel very welcome.

The hotel is a short walk from the Embleton bay beach, with Low Newton a short walk in one direction, Dunstanburgh Castle in the other. Perfect walking country.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s_1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear s_1999

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We thoroughly our (second ) stay here. A very relaxing hotel where the owners and staff were very welcoming and friendly. Everyone spoke, including other guests and locals. The hotel was very clean, and the meals were excellent. We shall return next year.

Room Tip: The rooms (which we used or saw) were all very good. No noise from outside to disturb whichever room you are in.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ROY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear ROY M

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in April 2014 as part of a house-hunting expedition and found it to be an excellent, comfortable, friendly and utterly unpretentious little country hotel. We had not planned to eat in every night but after an excellent meal on the first night, we decided to eat in the Grill every night and we were not disappointed. The hotel was cosy - just as well given the strong winds outside, the staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful, and the house pinot grigio very drinkable after a day on the beach with the dog and travelling around. Breakfasts were very good: I enjoyed the porridge and honey every day while the other half indulged in Seahouses kippers, which appeared to hit the spot. We hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: As we had our dog with us, the staff recommended Room 22 which has an upstairs bedroom and a downstairs bathroom and a living room with a back door to outside - perfect for the mutt's nocturnal needs.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bristoltripper2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear Bristoltripper2014

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews