We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northumberland holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Northumberland holiday”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Had a most enjoyable week's stay at the Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. Everything about our stay was as we had hoped for, not having visited before. Comfortable room with adequate facilities, very friendly and helpful staff, excellent food, and plenty of it, efficient service at all times and real ales available at the bar. Would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear John T

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    249
    54
    10
    17
See reviews for
131
462
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A friendly hotel with good food. We stayed in one of their executive cottages on a B&B basis. The problem we encountered was the twin beds were very small - you almost fell out of bed when turning over. They really need to invest in 3ft single beds. Dogs are also welcome, however, the two dogs in the cottage next door to us would bark at night and keep us awake.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Lesley J

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchtermuchty, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2014

A very friendly hotel. Good food - particularly the home made scones for tea and the local kippers for breakfast. Comfortable rooms. Ideally placed for walking down to the sea and exploring the coastal path.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Q6830ZNSarah_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Q6830ZNSarah_S

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Very pleased with the Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, it is our second stay here. It is in a good position for walking and the beach. We had a junior suite which was spacious, bathroom small but adequate and a nice decor. The food in the hotel was off a good standard. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The junior suite is spacious and overlooks the village green
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lynda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Lynda C

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Dined here twice when holidaying in the area. Grill bar could do with a makeover, but waiting staff were pleasant and helpful. Food however was not great, and certalnly no 'wow'; factor. Too much use of sauces on the mains which camouflaged any flavour that was maybe there. Wines were also expensive for what they were. Building looks very inviting from the outside but a bit disappointing inside.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuchenclut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Tuchenclut

We would firstly like to apologise for your experience and thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. I can assure you that the experience you had is not indicative of the standard of customer service which we strive for.
We normally make some changes to our Grill menu around mid way through the summer, in an effort to provide alternative options and we take on board your comments regarding the sauces, which we can do separately or indeed provide a simpler cooking style.
Finally, we would like to reassure you that we have taken all the necessary steps to ensure that we do not repeat these failings you have highlighted. Should you be kind enough to visit again, I am positive that you will not experience similar problems.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed 5 days with dog, the hotel was quite busy, but no problem- we weren't in a rush. Wifi would be nice in rooms (reasonable wifi available in lounge) excellent location for ther beautiful northumberland coast.

Room Tip: wasn't aware of swimming pool or fitness centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank oggie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear oggie01

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed for three nights in the police house self catering property across from the main hotel. The two en-suite rooms were ideal for myself,wife and mother in law. We also had the luxury of eating our meals in the hotel and the property had full cleaning service. The property was spacious and well thought out and was maintained and cleaned to a high standard. The location is ideal for coastal walks and the golf course.We will return.

Room Tip: All three cottages are ideal with individual car space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear peter k

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embleton
2.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,203 reviews
6.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,005 reviews
15.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
328 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
508 reviews
1.4 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Property: Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Address: Embleton, Alnwick NE66 3UN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Embleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can find us in Embleton, a lovely quiet coastal village 5 minutes from the fabulous Northumberland Coastline. Great walks from the hotel will take you to fabulous sandy bays, castles and cosy pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstanburgh Castle Alnwick
Hotel Dunstanburgh Castle
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel Embleton, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing