We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly,Comfortable,Food excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Certificate of Excellence
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly,Comfortable,Food excellent”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed for 7 nights in June, unable to book the room we wanted for 1st 2 nights so had a small room (number 7) which only had a standard size double bed which was not at all comfortable. As prearranged we moved to a larger room (number 6) with king size bed, much more comfortable. I have a large appetite & found the meals more than adequate,appetising & although there were only 3 choices of main course they were all cooked & presented extremely well. On a couple of occassions one of the choices on the set menu had run out & we were offered anything from the a la carte menu at no extra cost. The hotel itself is extremely comfortable the staff friendly and not intrusive.As with one of the other comments I have to make mention of waiter James who I mistakenly called John throughout our entire stay,a lively & energetic chap for whom nothing seemed too much trouble. We had an extremely enjoyable time at the Dunstanburgh,would certainly recommend it & look forward to staying there again in what is a beautiful part of the country. Our 1st visit to Northumberland,we spent a lot of time researching a good hotel,we made the right choice,look forward to visiting again. Mike &Jane

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking village with king size beds much larger & more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear mike c

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
I will pass your comments onto Jimmy personally.

Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    256
    55
    10
    18
See reviews for
134
472
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Excellent accommodation in the Police Cottages over the road as the hotel was full. However, my walking companion was disappointed with the "medium" steak he was served. He returned it as it was more like rare. This part of the meal was reimbursed so everyone was happy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Alan K

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed in one of the Police cottages last week whilst completing the coast and castles cycle ride from Newcastle to Edinburgh with some friends. And we all agreed that the Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel was the best place we stayed. We were really made to feel at home when we arrived, the food in the bar was excellent, as was the beer. It really was the perfect one night stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear AlfieS736

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This was our first stay at the Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel and we will be back again soon. It is very clean and the staff are very attentive to your needs, especially Jimmy who on over hearing us discuss our trip to Alnwick Gardens appeared 5 minutes later with a printout off the internet.
The hotel catered for my partners gluten free needs and the food was superb with large portions and a varied menu so you certainly won't go hungry. The hotel is ideally placed and its only a 10 minute walk to the beach and within easy reach of Alnwick gardens and castle as well as Seahouses for the Farne Islands and Holy Island also. A first class hotel well worth visiting.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windyclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear windyclc

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
I will pass on your comments to Jimmy.

Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have stayed at the Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel many times over the years, usually for a three night stay whilst we visit Cragside, Alnwick, coastal walks etc.. The rooms are more than adequate and well maintained, we prefer the village view ones which are more expensive. The food choices are good and well presented, the staff very friendly and attentive, and there is a nice bar or lounges if you prefer. It is a short walk to the beach. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit Northumbria.

Room Tip: Choose a 'village view' room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AlfieS736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear AlfieS736

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel to allow us to explore for a couple of days after attending a family wedding at Middleton Hall. The Dunstanburgh is very clean and has everything you need for a short stay. The public lounge areas are a little old fashioned but comfortable. The restaurant is very good. We all had the veggie choices and I would recommend the food to any carnivore. The only disappointment was the hotel further from the sea than expected. Overall, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Marilyn B

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Friendly welcome (by a fellow Aussie working reception). Room small and basic but adequate. Hotel a little understaffed. Especially at breakfast where we were waiting a long time (15 to 20 mins) for the tea and coffee we ordered to arrive. The evening meal was very good though.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Andy J

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embleton
2.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,226 reviews
6.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,021 reviews
15.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
514 reviews
10.3 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
334 reviews
1.4 mi away
Newton Hall
Newton Hall
#1 of 1 in Newton by the Sea
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Property: Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Address: Embleton, Alnwick NE66 3UN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Embleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can find us in Embleton, a lovely quiet coastal village 5 minutes from the fabulous Northumberland Coastline. Great walks from the hotel will take you to fabulous sandy bays, castles and cosy pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstanburgh Castle Alnwick
Hotel Dunstanburgh Castle
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel Embleton, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing