We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anniversary trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We recently spent a couple of nights here, on the recommendation of friends, as a preliminary to a celebratory holiday in the area with our family. Our room was very comfortable, and there was an interesting menu for the evening meal. Friendly service, an excellent breakfast and good value for money, so we would certainly recommend the hotel and choose it again.

Room Tip: We have no reason to think that any rooms are better or worse than any others.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Peter H

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (806)
There are newer reviews for Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

We recently had a long weekend in this hotel I could not fault the service, James looked after us both at breakfast and the evening meal. The hotel is clean comfortable with wonderful food and we were looked after, nothing was too much trouble, good value for money a and I would recommend and will be coming again very soon.

Room Tip: All the rooms are comfortable and clean difficult to choose really.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank janetreeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear janetreeves

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
I will pass on your comments to Jimmy personally

Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The hotel deserves more than its 2 stars from AA (should probably be 3) and the staff were all very friendly BUT we were 2 adults and a 15 yr old in a 'family room'. The room appeared to be a double room with extra bed due to the position of the fixed over bed lighting etc. Made up only for 2 we had to ask for the third set of towels, cups etc which we were handed downstairs to take back up to the room ourselves. The room was quite a squash and as beds had been moved to accommodate 3, one side of the double had no bedside light, or bedside table etc. and there wasn't enough storage for 3. We were charged as 3 full price adults so at almost £175 per night B&B, it was very overpriced for what we disappointingly received room-wise. The cooked breakfast was very good, though bizarrely breakfast for people on B&B and those on DBB were served in two different restaurants. We booked to eat in the bar one night, the food was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 33Sam33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear 33Sam33

We would firstly like to apologise for your experience and thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. I can assure you that the experience you had is not indicative of the standard of customer service which we strive for.
Owing to the lateness of your booking we were unable to offer you an alternative at the time of booking to the room you were described and given. The missing towels was completely our fault which was remedied at the time of you asking and given to you at reception as you requested. When allocating space between our two dining areas it is done purely in terms of maintaining your seats during your stay and nothing whatsoever in terms of what rate you are on.

Finally, we would like to reassure you that we have taken all the necessary steps to ensure that we do not repeat these failings you have highlighted. Should you be kind enough to visit again, I am positive that you will not experience similar problems.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Recently enjoyed a three night dinner and breakfast stay. This accommodation is highly recommended. Although it is only graded AA** it is of a much more comfortable standard. The evening meals were excellent and breakfasts ensured you started the day well fed with a menu & buffet selection to satisfy most individuals requirements. The location, in this quiet village, is ideal for setting out each day to visit the numerous Northumberland castles, grand houses & gardens and "quaint" coastal villages. I would certainly recommend this place to family & friends

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rbmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear rbmz

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I would not wish to put anyone off from visiting but, in all honesty, we were disappointed.

We had booked two double rooms; for myself and husband, and my parents.

We arrived to find that Guinness had been taken off the bar... and even worse, Timothy Taylor's Landlord (favourite beer of both husband and father) had also just been taken off, in order to sell a local brew! So, we had to go to the pub around the corner... not a good start!

The hotel is looking tired... weeds around the door, décor a bit jaded... however, the rooms were comfortable, if small, and the bedding and bathrooms were spotlessly clean.

Didn't like the plug in air freshener in the corridor... overpowering! Made us all feel ill (switched it off).

Having visited a 5 star resort with spa only a few weeks before, and paid only £20 more for a much bigger, better room and the use of the spa facilities, which were luxurious, we felt that it was not good value for money.

The staff were friendly and the food was good.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rosey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Rosey P
We would firstly like to apologise for your experience and thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. I can assure you that the experience you had is not indicative of the standard of customer service which we strive for.

Our decision to remove both Guinness and Landlord were based on purely consumption issues. I am sure that an employee of Timothy Taylor would understand then need to sell all beers but especially cask beers within their shelf life are paramount.

Finally, we would like to reassure you that we have taken all the necessary steps to ensure that we do not repeat these failings you have highlighted. Should you be kind enough to visit again, I am positive that you will not experience similar problems.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights at the hotel. Staff super friendly, food (breakfast and dinner) excellent and accommodation spacious and superb. The onion rings and sea bass were exceptional!
The town is small and quaint and in a good spot for costal walks and exploring the wider areas - the beaches are also amazing!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear David M

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was a beautiful traditional Hotel. The service was outstanding. The cuisine was remarkable, best in the area if not the North East.
Wildly recommend to anyone needing an indulgent, quiet break or retreat.
Will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank RobertO1248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbletonHotelier, Manager at Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear RobertO1248

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Embleton
2.9 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,266 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#3 of 5 in Alnwick
529 reviews
6.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel
The White Swan Hotel
#5 of 5 in Alnwick
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
15.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
386 reviews
10.3 mi away
Warkworth House Hotel
Warkworth House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Warkworth
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel

Address: Embleton, Alnwick NE66 3UN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Alnwick > Embleton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Embleton
Price Range: £70 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You can find us in Embleton, a lovely quiet coastal village 5 minutes from the fabulous Northumberland Coastline. Great walks from the hotel will take you to fabulous sandy bays, castles and cosy pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstanburgh Castle Alnwick
Hotel Dunstanburgh Castle
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel Embleton, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing