We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Dune Cottage living Room with natural flame fire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dune Cottage living Room with natural flame fire
Dune cottage kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Dune Cottage living Room with natural flame fire
Dune cottage kitchen
dune cottage living room and patio doors
Great village location, yet so close to the beach
Private patio area with outdoor seating & BBQ
Quiet courtyard setting
Pristine golden sands of Embleton Bay just a 5 min walk away
Clear blue skies of Northumberland
Autumn sunrise over Dunstanburgh Castle
Beach walk to the Ship Inn at Low Newton-by-the-Sea
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Embleton, Alnwick, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
David H
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great location, some issues”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a great location to explore the coast and the fabulous pubs locally. We walked out dog everyday and found it to be a very relaxing holiday when away from the cottage.
Accommodation is perfect size for two. However, building work on the house next door detracted from the quiet ambiance that we sought. Had to move car from risk of rubble hitting it from nearby skip. Car covered in rubble dust. Blind was broken in the bedroom. Remnants of washing up popped up in the bath that meant the cottage had an unpleasant smell at times.
Stayed first week of August and reported faults. Having read a recent review I note that they were not addressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Dear Mr Lunt
We would firstly like to apologise for your experience and thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of Dune Cottage at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. I can assure you that the experience you had is not indicative of the standard of customer service which we strive for. The concerns you highlighted on departure have all been dealt with.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue S
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very well appointed and a great location, but some problems”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very comfortable and pretty with all mod cons - except wifi. However, building work on site spoils privacy. Also some plumbing problems (washing up debris coming up in bath!) and other glitches such as broken bedroom roller blind. For this price range I would also expect an iPod dock and a radio separate from the TV and wifi - especially as there is only intermittent mobile connection at certain points in the village (so if you need to keep in touch it is not the place for you). We have stayed in many cottages in Northumberland and love the area - this one will be great once the work on the adjacent property is complete as long as privacy and other issues are addressed.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Aug 2015
Dear Mrs Scott
We would firstly like to apologise for your experience and thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. I can assure you that the experience you had is not indicative of the standard of customer service which we strive for. The concerns you highlighted on departure have all been dealt with, we currently do not advertise, ipod, radios or wifi for this cottage.

Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenPhil...
kildwick
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The cottage was perfect for our short break. Really quiet at night and great for dogs too. The village has a gorgeous beach and several pubs and a shop. We would definately recommend the cottage and would stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Dear Helen

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of Dune Cottage at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely cottage, felt like home away from home, will definitely be staying here again. Also brilliant for pets and a stone's throw away from the beach.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2015
Dear Guest

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of Dune Cottage at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lounge, kitchen area
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 May 2015
Dear O Smith

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of Dune Cottage at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 22 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: roll top hath
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Mar 2015
Dear Guest

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of Dune cottage at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
Michael Townsend - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Janet L
richmond north yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cosy clean fabulous break”
Reviewed 18 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

What a gem! A liovely little cottage, very clean, smart and has everything you need. 5 star both in design and comfort. Thank you

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2015
Dear Janet

We would firstly like to thank you for the time you have taken to write and post your review of Dune Cottage at The Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel. We are always grateful for our guest’s comments and are continually striving to improve. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and hope to see you again very soon.
George Knight - Manager - Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing