We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyable stay”
Review of The Pheasant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Pheasant
Ranked #1 of 2 Brill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed at the Pheasant for our Golden Wedding Anniversary (having travelled up from Devon) and the wonderful staff made it an event to remember. They put on a superb buffet lunch for our 30 guests and couldn't have been more helpful. My Wife and I stayed for 3 days and the room was very clean and comfortable with super views of the countryside (and the windmill). The full english breakfast was excellent and really sets you up for the day but I would like to see a wider range of cereals though. I thoroughly recommend this Inn..

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the windmill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

Great place to stay, clean and friendly. Did not have a prob with 2 motorbikers, food was good and sunday lunch is worth having. Landlord is helpful and pleasent. Without a dout a lovely place to stay. would stay again .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catheryne66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Superb view from my room over the Windmill and beautiful view of sunset. Food excellent bothbin eve and at breakfast (a lovely hearty breakfast!). A special place to stay. Weathe was very good, so enjoyed a walk around the village and the common. Bathroom lovely and spacious and modern.

Room Tip: Ask for the room overlooking the windmill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I have twice visited the Pheasant and encountered the same group of locals drinking at the bar who both times directed unprompted offensive comments to me as an outsider. It's a shame as it is a lovely village with great views. Next time I'll go to another of Brill's pubs.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
3  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

What a great place to have a big family gathering for sunday lunch, to celebrate a birthday
Nothing was too much trouble, tables moved to accomodate everyone and Sunday lunch was to die for - rib of beef melted in your mouth, big portions and plenty of vedgetables and huge yorkshire pudding
Top desitnation overlooking the windmill and surrounding country side

Will definately go back

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizziearnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

This pub is in an excellant spot with great views, the decor is excellant and the food very good and good value.
We have stayed in both rooms and they are very well done and in keeping with 5 star accomodation.
Would always use when in the area.

Room Tip: Both very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MerchSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We're fairly regular diners here, and with the exception of our last meal, have thoroughly enjoyed the food and service. When we entered the bar, the landlord was chatting to a group of men of a similar age to him. The language, volume and conversation topics were inappropriate for early evenings imo. I'd never considered the atmosphere before, but it definitely impacted on our enjoyment of the meal. Having said that, it was the first time we've not enjoyed a meal there.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mountino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brill
2.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Magnolia Park Hotel, Golf and Country Club
8.9 mi away
Hartwell House
Hartwell House
#1 of 1 in Hartwell
716 reviews
5.7 mi away
Five Arrows Hotel
Five Arrows Hotel
#1 of 2 in Waddesdon
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Common Leys Farm
Common Leys Farm
#1 of 2 in Worminghall
189 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Hundred of Ashendon
The Hundred of Ashendon
#1 of 1 in Ashendon
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pheasant

Address: 39 Windmill Street, Brill, Aylesbury HP18 9TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > Aylesbury Vale > Aylesbury > Brill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Brill
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pheasant 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely country pub, restaurant and B&B in the idyllic village of Brill, just 15 miles from Oxford, and 55 miles from London. Perched on a hill, with views over the historic Brill Windmill and neighbouring counties, we offer real ales, delicious home-cooked food and comfortable rooms to locals and visiting guests, all accompanied with friendly service and a pleasant pheasant atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Pheasant Hotel Brill
The Pheasant Brill, Buckinghamshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing