We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Star Fantastic”
Review of Tigh-a-Ghlinne

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Muirshearlich
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tigh-a-Ghlinne
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Five Star Fantastic”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We were extremley impressed with Tigh-a-Ghlinne and hosts Stevie and Alan. They welcomed us as if we were family.Immediatly we felt at home.The bedrooms were decorated etc to a very high standard. The breakfast was excellent especially the veiw from our table,which looked onto Ben Nevis. Stevie and Allan were so easy going and pleasant,it was a shame we only were staying 2 nights.

Room Tip: Any they were all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAWNROPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steviem004, Owner at Tigh-a-Ghlinne, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you, Dawn. What a lovely review.You will always be welcome in our house.
We're looking forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
62
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

I spent two nights here with my husband in mid July and would definitely recommend. Although the B&B is a 10min drive from the city center of Fort William it's well worth the stay. The rooms were clean, modern, and spacious, with excellent views of Ben Nevis. The breakfast was fantastic, and the host Stevie was a pleasure to stay with. We immediately felt like part of her family, with her and Alan doing everything they could to make our stay amazing. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alliemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steviem004, Owner at Tigh-a-Ghlinne, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We were so pleased to read your very kind review. Thank you for taking the time to write it.
We are pleased you had a good stay and would welcome you back any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veenendaal, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We just spent two nights at Tigh-a-Ghlinne, a bed and breakfast near Fort William; ten minutes away from the town centre but a world away in terms of style and comfort. Beautifully decorated with a sense of a family home, guests are welcomed with "can I help you with your luggage, do you want tea or coffee" and the warmth continues with use of their family sitting room (with fantastic views over to Ben Nevis), the most amazing freshly-cooked breakfasts and information and advice about the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FayAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steviem004, Owner at Tigh-a-Ghlinne, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review and for taking the time to write it. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Please come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modiin, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have spent just one night on May in Tigh-a-Ghlinne but have so good memories. Alan and Stevie were very welcoming and warm, offered us tea and buscuits on arrival and generally were perfect hosts. The room was beautiful with great views of the back garden, the Caledonian Canal and Ben Nevis. We walked outside the house for an hour near the Caledonian Canal and it was so beautiful. Breakfast is also outstanding with all the fresh fruits.
We would definitely return when we are coming to Scotland again.
Chaim and Nitzan, Israel

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chaim s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steviem004, Owner at Tigh-a-Ghlinne, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you, Chaim, for your very kind review and for taking the time to write it. The pleasure was all ours, and we'd love to see you back again. We hope you enjoyed your trip to Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Had the pleasure of staying at Tigh-a-Ghlinne last night with my partner for a wee overnight in the Highlands. Could NOT have picked a better B&B. Tigh-a-Ghlinne is outside Fort William, but it's literally a 10 minute drive from the center and the view is beautiful. We usually tend not to stay at B&B's as you are never too sure of whom you're staying with, but Stevie & Alan were brilliant hosts. Couldn't have done enough to make us comfortable, and we were also one of the lucky "3 or 4 couples" who have been able to dine outside for our lovely breakfast and enjoy the sunshine and the breathtaking views from the back garden! They really are such a lovely and lucky couple to have that view all the time :) we are already excitedly planning our 2nd trip to the area, with our overnight being booked at Tigh-a-Ghlinne, obviously!!! Thanks again to Stevie & Alan, you were fantastic hosts and we can't wait to bring our wee dog next time :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UnderCeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steviem004, Owner at Tigh-a-Ghlinne, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thanks, CJ!! It was a real pleasure having you both to stay. We're really pleased you enjoyed your visit and we really do mean it when we say please come back again. See you soon and thanks again for the lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Just back from a short trip to Loch Shiel and we had an overnight stay in this wonderful B&B. Alan and Stevie are excellent hosts; very welcoming and helpful - wonderful rooms and superb breakfast. Views are breathtaking. We are already planning another trip for next year. A real find!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freedomEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steviem004, Owner at Tigh-a-Ghlinne, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Why, thank you. Your lovely review is much appreciated. it means we're doing things right!! Please come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a wedding in May. We couldn't have picked a more perfect place to stay. The B & B was beautiful, in a fantastic location and had everything we wanted.
However it was owners Stevie & Allan that made our stay so enjoyable. They were so welcoming and became our new friends during our time in Fort William. Anytime we venture up north again we know where we will be staying. For anyone looking for a cute B&B in the highlands I couldn't recommend Tigh-a-Ghlinne more.
Thankyou Stevie & Allan
and of course Danny xxxx

Love Danni & Robbie
(from Glasgow)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steviem004, Owner at Tigh-a-Ghlinne, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
Hi, Danni and Robbie. Lovely to hear from you, and we are so pleased you had a good stay. If you are ever up in this neck of the woods again, please call in for a chat. Hope the job hunting is going well, by the way!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tigh-a-Ghlinne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tigh-a-Ghlinne

Property: Tigh-a-Ghlinne
Address: Tigh a Ghlinne Tigh a Ghlinne Muirshearlich | Banavie, Muirshearlich PH33 7PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Muirshearlich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Muirshearlich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six miles North of Fort William by the banks of the beautiful Caledonian Canal, Tigh-a-Ghlinne, a small, family-run Bed & Breakfast, is a perfect place to explore the stunning scenery of the Scottish Highlands. Looking towards Ben Nevis, the UK's highest mountain, it is peaceful, quiet and relaxing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tigh-a-Ghlinne Muirshearlich, UK - Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing