We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Monkeynuts187
London, United Kingdom

Great

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Jun 2016
My husband and I stayed at Machaba for two nights as part of our honeymoon. It is a lovely camp. The accommodation is tented but is very luxurious, with very comfortable beds, proper loo, nice wooden furniture and choice of indoor or outdoor shower (which we loved). All the tents have a very beautiful view over the river towards Moremi Game Reserve. You frequently see elephants and hippos from the chairs outside your tent. The staff are very pleasant and the guiding is superb. We were amazed by how far the staff went to make our stay special.

The Khwai concession itself is a very attractive place and the big game viewing is excellent. It’s in a comparatively dry area of the Okavango so the camp’s activities are game-drive focused, but mokoro is also possible and is wonderful. (I was a little apprehensive about mokoro – what if you meet a great big hippo?! But the polers know exactly what they’re doing – safety’s obviously their top priority and they stay miles away from the hippos). I’d recommend combining a stay at Machaba with a “wetter” camp deeper in the Okavango if you can, for the contrast, but a major advantage of Khwai being quite dry is that there wasn’t a mozzy in sight during our stay – whereas at camps deeper in the Delta we had to fight them off.

One thing to note about Machaba is their activities schedule is comparatively short (at least compared to the other camps we stayed during our holiday), starting at 7 and continuing until roughly 10.15 for the morning activity, and 4 until roughly 7.30 for the afternoon. You have a small breakfast at 6.30am, then a brunch/lunch at 11am, then high tea at 3.30, then dinner around 8). It will suit people (like honeymooners) who are looking to balance relaxation and safari on their holiday, but people who are desperate to get out there and explore might find the six hour gap quite long.

Another thing is that the concession itself was incredibly busy (at least it was when we visited!) The concession is quite small and there are a number of other lodges and campsites there, so be prepared to share good sightings on games drives with lots of other cars in the same way you would in a national park like Chobe. For example, at a hyena den and a lion sighting we counted 6 other vehicles at each, at a wild dog sighting we counted 8 other vehicles, and at a leopard sighting 11 other vehicles. This is of course not Machaba’s fault, and the guides handle the crowding well - but we weren’t expecting it in the Okavango, so it surprised us.

Anyway - great camp, great stay. Go now!
Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Star gazing on the deck of the O Bona Moremi Safari Lodge.
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.5 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
  • ZenHotels.com
8.6 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
3.5 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
Tripadvisor
£1,567
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £1,567
  • ZenHotels.com
9.1 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
£978
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £978
30.9 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
Free parking
View more hotels in Khwai
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
305
33
10
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
305
33
10
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews khwai river wild dogs game drives hot water bottles comfortable beds long table safari experience thought of everything mokoro ride other guests private reserve indoor and outdoor showers afternoon drives african adventure three days his knowledge excellent game viewing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2016

My husband and I stayed at Machaba for two nights as part of our honeymoon. It is a lovely camp. The accommodation is tented but is very luxurious, with very comfortable beds, proper loo, nice wooden furniture and choice of indoor or outdoor shower (which we loved). The camp has a lovely view over the river towards Moremi Game Reserve. You frequently see elephants and hippos from outside your tent. The staff are very pleasant and the guiding is superb. We were amazed by how far the staff went to make our stay special.

The Khwai concession itself is a very attractive place and the big game viewing is excellent. It’s in a comparatively dry area of the Okavango so the camp’s activities are game-drive focused, but mokoro is also possible and is wonderful. It was good to combine a stay at Machaba with a “wetter” camp in the Okavango for the contrast, but a major advantage of Khwai being quite dry is that there wasn’t a mozzy in sight during our stay – whereas at camps deeper in the Delta we had to fight them off.

Machaba's activity schedule is comparatively short (compared to the other camps we stayed), starting at 7 and continuing until roughly 10.15 for the morning activity, and 4 until roughly 7.30 for the afternoon. It will suit people (like honeymooners) who are looking to balance relaxation and safari, but people who are desperate to get out there and explore might find the six hour gap quite long.

The concession itself is very busy (at least it was when we visited.) It is quite small and there are a number of other lodges and campsites there, so be prepared to share good sightings on games drives with lots of other cars in the same way you would at e.g. Chobe. At a hyena den and a lion sighting we counted 6 other vehicles at each, at a wild dog sighting we counted 8 other vehicles, and at a leopard sighting 11 other vehicles. This is not Machaba’s fault, and the guides handle the crowding well - but we weren’t expecting it in the Okavango, so it surprised us.

Anyway - great camp, great stay. Go now!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank plato1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 June 2016

We stayed 3 nights but from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave you are looked after. Elke runs a professional camp and all the staff are warm and attentive. Leopard was an excellent guide. The luxury tents are very comfortable, huge bed, inside & outside showers, very private - could have stayed a lot longer! The food is of a high standard and never stops. Dinners under the night sky after the afternoon/evening drive were very enjoyable and the changing company was good. We liked that fact that everything was included in the upfront cost - no signing for drinks and paying at the end of your stay. Mustn't forget the animals - never a guarantee but we saw lots and recommend the Mokoro ride.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marlene1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

I will openly admit that I am not a camper but could definitely do this again. Awesome set up. Better than a lot of hotels I have stayed in! Great food and service. Beautiful terrain. Excellent guide. Great company (mostly). The safaris were not as exciting as others I had been but that is through no fault of the camp. Just the luck of the draw. Would return

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Melqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Great camp - enjoyed the canvas tents and the closeness to wilderness. Guide was experienced - Albert - and did a good job of keeping us engaged on game drives. Particular mention must go the camp manager Elke and her husband Shaun together with Jake - very skilled at blending different guests together and making this a particularly social experience. Great TLC when arriving in camp "under the weather". Watching elephants in the river from outside our room - perfect.

Date of stay: April 2016
Thank WantageKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 May 2016

Our 3 night stay here was the highlight of our African trip. We flew in from Maun and were greeted like family when we arrived. Elka runs a fabulous camp with amazing "Glamping" tents overlooking the river with wildlife wandering by. The staff are attentive, courteous, knowledgeable and nothing was a problem. Our game driver Albert gave us some memorable photographic moments and we were lucky enough to catch sight of a mother Leopard and her son on 3 occasions. If you want to spoil yourselves then this is the place the camp is excellent, the food was beautiful and the game drives were amazing.

Room tip: All rooms are great, wi fi is slow but works in a small area
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chooka57
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews