We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nicola C
London, United Kingdom

An escape like no other! Wonderful!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Jun 2016
Machaba was truly excellent, we stayed 4 nights. Our guide BT was extremely professional and we were often first at sightings. Night drives and the ability to off road within Khwai meant we could see more than anywhere else we visited. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, especially Elke. The food was lovely and the dinner out in the bush was an incredible experience (the birthday cake they made me was also a real treat thank you!).
Date of stay: June 2016
Room Tip: Tent 4 is closest to the restaurant area but is
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Star gazing on the deck of the O Bona Moremi Safari Lodge.
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.5 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
Free parking
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
  • ZenHotels.com
8.6 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
3.5 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
Tripadvisor
£1,268
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £1,268
  • ZenHotels.com
12.0 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
Free parking
Restaurant
View more hotels in Khwai
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
304
33
10
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
304
33
10
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews khwai river wild dogs game drives hot water bottles comfortable beds long table safari experience thought of everything mokoro ride other guests private reserve indoor and outdoor showers afternoon drives african adventure three days his knowledge excellent game viewing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
155 - 160 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2016

The staff were helpful and made our stay enjoyable. Location is wonderful by the river.
Great wild life wonderfully brought to us by Leopard the guide . Good mix of activities to see the variety of animals and birds in their natural habitat

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jonah56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Great landscapes at this camp. Much more game than in other areas. We didn't get to see wild dogs but I hear they're common here.

Toilets flush well and the bathrooms can separate from the bedroom with a tarp which is a nice plus and not always available in Botswana.

The only downside to this camp was the water pressure. It's practically nonexistent. The water must be hard, too, (or untreated) because it made my skin feel weird.

Leopard was our guide and he's quite the comedian and astrologer. Sean is another guide who knows photography. We weren't in his car but if you like photography, you might be able to request him.

Love the hot coals under our chairs at dinner. So nice to eat in the cold and still stay warm. Love the views. Loved how the chef comes out and tells everyone what's for dinner in a fun and entertaining way.

Food was great. Staff was super friendly. Love all their nicknames. This is a fun place to stay.

Wifi is only available at a small picnic table close to the main office and it's really weak and spotty.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights (having done 4 nights between two other camps prior to coming here) at the end of our safari trip and it was definitely the highlight!

The tent we stayed in was perfect, big comfy bed, outdoor and indoor shower, and you felt very private/away from other tents which was nice. It was a bit chilly first thing in the morning, but hot water bottles were provided before bed time!

The activities were perfect for us, we were on honeymoon and needed some downtime/relaxation during the day. Wake up calls were at 6am, breakfast 6:30am and game drives/activities started at 7am. Back for brunch around 10-10:30am. Then we could please ourselves until afternoon tea at 3:30pm (followed by the afternoons activity). The only negative was the pool was really too chilly for us to use at this time of year, which was a shame as we could have easily spent an afternoon there overlooking the river.

I found the game drives here excellent. We liked the open top vehicle (it felt more exciting and you could see more than in a car with a roof) and our guide Moffat was great. He found out what your favourite animals were so you could spend more time with them and was always checking we were happy! I'd recommend doing a night drive if you can, ours was great we saw a serval, wildcat, owls and hippos amongst other things. I think we were quite lucky - another group saw vey little on their drive, but I'd still do it for the experience if you can - very surreal driving around in the dark looking for creatures by lamp light! Also it's unusual I'm lead to believe as not all camps can do this (this had a private reserve, so meant we could drive off road and stay out after sunset). Top tip - wear lots of layers and try and get a hot water bottle to stick under your poncho if you can (makes the experience much toastier!!).

We were also treated to a camp dinner by candlelight under the stars one night, which was so magical. A memory that will stay with me a long time.

All in all, amazing food, great game drives, luxurious accommodation and helpful staff - perfect honeymoon experience :-)

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank rebeccabbristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 June 2016

We spent 4 nights at this camp and it's difficult to say which was better. The serene surroundings with the hippo and elephants in the river, the game drives with our guide Moreri, tracking the leopard and her cub, the sumptuous picnic lunch in the bush, a walk with the zebras, hyena cubs nibbling at the tyres, buffaloes with flaming eyes in the night and the dinners under starlit African sky with Richard the camp manager vie with each other as prime experiences. A unique safari experience in comfort probably sums it up. Lisa at Safari specialists deserves a special thanks for recommending this.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbug1242016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 June 2016

My husband and I stayed at Machaba for two nights as part of our honeymoon. It is a lovely camp. The accommodation is tented but is very luxurious, with very comfortable beds, proper loo, nice wooden furniture and choice of indoor or outdoor shower (which we loved). All the tents have a very beautiful view over the river towards Moremi Game Reserve. You frequently see elephants and hippos from the chairs outside your tent. The staff are very pleasant and the guiding is superb. We were amazed by how far the staff went to make our stay special.

The Khwai concession itself is a very attractive place and the big game viewing is excellent. It’s in a comparatively dry area of the Okavango so the camp’s activities are game-drive focused, but mokoro is also possible and is wonderful. (I was a little apprehensive about mokoro – what if you meet a great big hippo?! But the polers know exactly what they’re doing – safety’s obviously their top priority and they stay miles away from the hippos). I’d recommend combining a stay at Machaba with a “wetter” camp deeper in the Okavango if you can, for the contrast, but a major advantage of Khwai being quite dry is that there wasn’t a mozzy in sight during our stay – whereas at camps deeper in the Delta we had to fight them off.

One thing to note about Machaba is their activities schedule is comparatively short (at least compared to the other camps we stayed during our holiday), starting at 7 and continuing until roughly 10.15 for the morning activity, and 4 until roughly 7.30 for the afternoon. You have a small breakfast at 6.30am, then a brunch/lunch at 11am, then high tea at 3.30, then dinner around 8). It will suit people (like honeymooners) who are looking to balance relaxation and safari on their holiday, but people who are desperate to get out there and explore might find the six hour gap quite long.

Another thing is that the concession itself was incredibly busy (at least it was when we visited!) The concession is quite small and there are a number of other lodges and campsites there, so be prepared to share good sightings on games drives with lots of other cars in the same way you would in a national park like Chobe. For example, at a hyena den and a lion sighting we counted 6 other vehicles at each, at a wild dog sighting we counted 8 other vehicles, and at a leopard sighting 11 other vehicles. This is of course not Machaba’s fault, and the guides handle the crowding well - but we weren’t expecting it in the Okavango, so it surprised us.

Anyway - great camp, great stay. Go now!

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Monkeynuts187
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews