We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
304
32
10
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
304
32
10
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews khwai river wild dogs game drives hot water bottles comfortable beds long table safari experience thought of everything mokoro ride other guests private reserve indoor and outdoor showers afternoon drives african adventure three days his knowledge excellent game viewing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
151 - 156 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The staff at Machaba Camp were very hospitable and friendly. The accommodation was excellent, and definitely met our expectations. The family room was perfect for us, with plenty of space and extremely comfortable. The hot water bottles (sorry, bush babies!) were much appreciated and we were nice and cosy in bed. The hot coals under our seats at dinner kept us warm as toast. We have never experienced this before.

Our guide, B.T., was excellent and we enjoyed his knowledge, enthusiasm and humour. We saw a different leopard on each of the first 2 game drives, as well as lions and a host of other animals.

Although we expected the concession at Kwai to be very busy, most of the time we saw very few vehicles.

Date of stay: June 2016
1  Thank Sheila-TA72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We stayed at Little Machaba Camp and would have to say it was the most amazing holiday EVER. The accommodation is superb, the food magnificent and the staff made sure our holiday was unforgettable. A special mention has to go to Albert and Brian who were our guides. They were walking encyclopedias and made every safari the best ever. The wildlife here is amazing and if you only go to one place in Africa this has to be it.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Machaba was truly excellent, we stayed 4 nights. Our guide BT was extremely professional and we were often first at sightings. Night drives and the ability to off road within Khwai meant we could see more than anywhere else we visited. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, especially Elke. The food was lovely and the dinner out in the bush was an incredible experience (the birthday cake they made me was also a real treat thank you!).

Room tip: Tent 4 is closest to the restaurant area but is
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 June 2016

The staff were helpful and made our stay enjoyable. Location is wonderful by the river.
Great wild life wonderfully brought to us by Leopard the guide . Good mix of activities to see the variety of animals and birds in their natural habitat

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jonah56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Great landscapes at this camp. Much more game than in other areas. We didn't get to see wild dogs but I hear they're common here.

Toilets flush well and the bathrooms can separate from the bedroom with a tarp which is a nice plus and not always available in Botswana.

The only downside to this camp was the water pressure. It's practically nonexistent. The water must be hard, too, (or untreated) because it made my skin feel weird.

Leopard was our guide and he's quite the comedian and astrologer. Sean is another guide who knows photography. We weren't in his car but if you like photography, you might be able to request him.

Love the hot coals under our chairs at dinner. So nice to eat in the cold and still stay warm. Love the views. Loved how the chef comes out and tells everyone what's for dinner in a fun and entertaining way.

Food was great. Staff was super friendly. Love all their nicknames. This is a fun place to stay.

Wifi is only available at a small picnic table close to the main office and it's really weak and spotty.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lori A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews