We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
249
28
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
28
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews khwai river hot coals wild dogs game viewing ralph lauren hot water bottles long table thought of everything indoor and outdoor shower morning activity well trained staff bush baby safari experience main tent mokoro ride amazing days their natural habitat
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Property is only about four years old. Just excellent. Tents are superb and, unlike Kanana, have bars in the shower. Great food, people and definitely a stop if you're bringing a family. Loved the people and the property

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidrA3986OW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The staff at Machaba Camp were very hospitable and friendly. The accommodation was excellent, and definitely met our expectations. The family room was perfect for us, with plenty of space and extremely comfortable. The hot water bottles (sorry, bush babies!) were much appreciated and we were nice and cosy in bed. The hot coals under our seats at dinner kept us warm as toast. We have never experienced this before.

Our guide, B.T., was excellent and we enjoyed his knowledge, enthusiasm and humour. We saw a different leopard on each of the first 2 game drives, as well as lions and a host of other animals.

Although we expected the concession at Kwai to be very busy, most of the time we saw very few vehicles.

Date of stay: June 2016
1  Thank Sheila-TA72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We stayed at Little Machaba Camp and would have to say it was the most amazing holiday EVER. The accommodation is superb, the food magnificent and the staff made sure our holiday was unforgettable. A special mention has to go to Albert and Brian who were our guides. They were walking encyclopedias and made every safari the best ever. The wildlife here is amazing and if you only go to one place in Africa this has to be it.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heather O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Machaba was truly excellent, we stayed 4 nights. Our guide BT was extremely professional and we were often first at sightings. Night drives and the ability to off road within Khwai meant we could see more than anywhere else we visited. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, especially Elke. The food was lovely and the dinner out in the bush was an incredible experience (the birthday cake they made me was also a real treat thank you!).

Room tip: Tent 4 is closest to the restaurant area but is
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2016

The staff were helpful and made our stay enjoyable. Location is wonderful by the river.
Great wild life wonderfully brought to us by Leopard the guide . Good mix of activities to see the variety of animals and birds in their natural habitat

Date of stay: June 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Jonah56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews