We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveller rating
249
28
7
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
28
7
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews khwai river hot coals wild dogs game viewing ralph lauren hot water bottles long table indoor and outdoor shower thought of everything morning activity well trained staff bush baby safari experience main tent mokoro ride their natural habitat amazing days
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 287 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

My wife and I were at Little Machaba Camp for 4 days and three nights. It is hard to find words to say how amazing was our stay. The staff was absolutely pleasant to be with, with the histories about the place, the people, animals, plants, birds and so on. They are very careful and take great care on all one does. The food is fantastic!!!! In fact, almost too much if you don't pay attention... Breakfast at six, brunch at 11, tea at 1500 and dinner 1900. Dinner is announced by the chef while you savor a glass of wine or you preferred drink and wine pairing is also described by the waiter, so you won't miss anything.
Then there are the games, one early in the morning, soon as you finish breakfast, and another in the afternoon, right after tea. Guides are great experts and follow footsteps and other signs to show you the best of all. Not enough, you might stop for a drink to stretch your legs (and widen your belly...) during the three hours on the jeeps.
The rooms, bathrooms, oh, you feel like a King....
I think that there should be a treadmill or a bike to allow one to burn some of the calories ones collects there...and that's because one can't just walk by oneself. There's always risk of animals wondering around the camp.
Don't miss it!!! It is a must!!!

Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Ricardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

This was the second stop on a trip to Botswana and Zambia by my 18 year old son and I. We were picked up at the airstrip by Sean who was then our guide for the next two days and who was excellent. We arrived at the camp and were greeted by so many people - very friendly. We walked through the covered arrival section with dining area on right and lovely lounge on left out to the open and first views of the Khwai River - hippos grunting to the left - elephants bathing to the right and the remains of a leopard kill near the water's edge. We really had arrived in Africa! Accommodation was excellent - an enormous permanent tent with two very large kind sized beds and a sitting room area. Bathroom to the back which had indoor and out door shower - I loved the outdoor shower. We did four safaris whilst here - 2 in the morning and 2 in the afternoon. I am not gifted enough to bring to life in words just how wonderful those drives were. The landscape around the delta is I think breathtaking, open grassland, vast woodlands, meandering waterways. We saw so much wildlife - including lions, leopard, elephants and much much more. What made it so special was the enthusiasm of Sean our guide. He would track diligently the animals we were searching for and position us for some magical moments - watching 4 lions come down to a waterhole, a leopard trying to catch 4 giant cranes, young bull elephants frolicking in the water as the sun went down, so many grunting hippos. At the camp which is managed by Sean's wife - the service and food could not have been better. Aperitifs by the camp fire were followed by dinner under the stars and a chance to speak with other guests. Had to be escorted to bed and collect water bottle on the way - the lions, leopards and hippos regularly walk through the camp and could be heard at night. Definitely one of the best safari venues I have stayed at.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

The location at the Khwai River is fantastic. Quite a number of animals are passing through the camp – imagine you are in the swimming pool and a group of elephants is passing by only a few meters from you without any “protection” in between!
Machaba was great and we enjoyed our three nights there very much. Our tent was luxurious, the bed big and comfortable, the bathroom facilities first class with outdoor and indoor shower, the view over the river fabulous. The team was very friendly and did an excellent job; the cuisine was really outstanding (although unfortunately rather “westernized” and we had for example no chance to eat some dish with water lilies). Dining was always an experience with hot coal under the chairs to keep you warm.
Our guide PT was absolutely outstanding. Wildlife was very abundant, and close to the camp. Traffic was OK, normally one (our) vehicle or two at a sighting. Only once a leopard on the driveway created a "traffic jam" with five vehicles - understandable since it was the only leopard sighting then... Nevertheless politely managed by the drivers, so everyone got enough viewing time and nobody was disappointed.
Machaba was in our itinerary by Safari Specialists. I am happy we did it and I recommend Machaba without any reservation.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Harald W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Property is only about four years old. Just excellent. Tents are superb and, unlike Kanana, have bars in the shower. Great food, people and definitely a stop if you're bringing a family. Loved the people and the property

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davidrA3986OW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

The staff at Machaba Camp were very hospitable and friendly. The accommodation was excellent, and definitely met our expectations. The family room was perfect for us, with plenty of space and extremely comfortable. The hot water bottles (sorry, bush babies!) were much appreciated and we were nice and cosy in bed. The hot coals under our seats at dinner kept us warm as toast. We have never experienced this before.

Our guide, B.T., was excellent and we enjoyed his knowledge, enthusiasm and humour. We saw a different leopard on each of the first 2 game drives, as well as lions and a host of other animals.

Although we expected the concession at Kwai to be very busy, most of the time we saw very few vehicles.

Date of stay: June 2016
1  Thank Sheila-TA72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews