We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
350 results
Traveller rating
304
32
10
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
304
32
10
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews khwai river wild dogs game drives hot water bottles comfortable beds long table safari experience thought of everything mokoro ride other guests private reserve indoor and outdoor showers afternoon drives african adventure three days his knowledge excellent game viewing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 350 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We have stayed in the Okavango Delta once before but further west in a wetter area with ore water. But Machaba in the North East has less navigable water but much more game. So it's different to compare! The tented camp looks across a river with hippos, passing elephants and other game plus many birds. The game drives were excellent with close up leopard sightings (there's a famous local female that is very comfortable with vehicles) and lots of other game. We had an excellent and very knowledgeable guide (Albert). The facilities were very good and the tents very comfortable.There was also the opportunity for a mokoro (Canoe) trip for a couple hours which was very peaceful. Service and friendliness were excellent and good food. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A4392JLdavidw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Good!
Tented Camp in the Khwai River area of Moremi National Park. Well equipped luxury tents, friendly staff, great game drives. Knowledgable guides were showing us a large variety of wildlife from Hyena to Leopard, Elephants, Hippos and Giraffes, Kudu, Impala and Steenbok, Warthog, Baboons and numerous birds. Recommended!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank weinweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 September 2016

After a quick bush plane flight from Maun, we touched down on the landing strip and began our African Adventure. My wife and I spent four nights at Machaba Camp. The staff was welcoming and accommodating, the facilities very comfortable, and the wildlife viewing... simply spectacular! Our tent (#4) was right on the banks of the Khwai River and we were visited by elephants and hippos every night. Yes, it's a bit unnerving the first time you have a big bull elephant breaking trees and feeding right outside your tent flap in the middle of the night, but we felt completely safe and began to look forward to our nightly visitors! Our guide, Kitso was incredible. He knows this area well and worked tirelessly in sharing his knowledge and insight about the Okavango Delta's wildlife and plants. We saw just about everything... elephant, hippo, red lechwe, tsessebe, waterbuck, wildebeest, crocodile, lion, spotted hyena, impala, springbok, kudu, sable, roan, zebra, warthog, baboon, and much more. We even saw leopard every day! The birds were amazing with the highlight being Kitso's spotting of a Pel's fishing owl. Upon returning to camp each evening, we enjoyed the company of fellow guests at a large communal table with good food and wine and even better dinner conversation. Machaba Camp delivered everything and more that we were looking for in a Safari tent camp experience.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlyFishGuyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2016

I spent several days here with my wife and adult child, staying in the family tent, which was comfortable and perfect for us (shared common are and bath, two sleeping areas which are private). The beds were comfortable, the water system brought plenty of hot water, and it is amazing to look out of the tent in the morning and see an elephant grazing!

The guide, BT, was unbelievably good, and we saw an amazing variety of animals - leopards, elephants, hippos, cape buffalo, giraffe's, antelope ranging from steenbok to kudu, and an amazing variety of birds....

The food and wine were excellent. Several meals were served outside; since it was a little chilly, the staff warmed us with hot coals under the chairs! The cooks were very attentive to my vegan child's diet, and had several vegan options available for every meal and snack. The staff was superbly well organized, and attentive not only to the guests, but to each other.

All in all, this was a wonderful experience, made possible by an exceptional staff that works effectively as a team, and seems to regard each other as family.

Room tip: All the rooms looked good.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 466timothyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 August 2016

I would highly recommend this camp. When we arrived at the landing strip, our bags were dropped into the Land Rover and the adventure started immediately with the 15-minute drive through the bush. It actually took us 1 ½ hours to get to camp because we were stopping to look at all the elephants, zebras, baboons and an assortment of other animals- unreal excitement for us! When we finally arrived at Machaba Camp we were greeted by staff with cold towels, welcome drink and were given our briefing of the camp operation. The tents are giant – similar to the ones on the old MASH television show but it stops there. They are luxury with overstuffed couches, chairs, a bar area, beautiful dining room, all overlooking the river. Our tent had dual sinks, wonderful king bed, great shower and toilet area, lounging area and workstation desk.

The game sightings were off the chart and we could not believe it. The elephants were right outside of our porch and many times, walking by our porch and tent. Same with the hippos who lounged in the river in front of the camp. Every day we saw leopards, giraffes, zebras, baboons, bush babies, four female lions, and the list goes on and on.

We found the food to be fantastic and the same with the wine and cocktails. A great job by the executive chef. If you are worried about going hungry – don’t. You have breakfast, then go on your game drive, then stop in the bush for coffee or tea and a snack, then come back for lunch. After a few hours of a break you go for your afternoon game drive, then take a break in the bush at sundown for cocktails, or wine, or whatever you want with a snack. You then drive at night looking at whatever animals are out and then back to camp for a great dinner.

The staff is so fantastic it is beyond belief. A shout out goes to Chase, Jessica and Karl, but especially our guide Jonathan. One thing I would recommend is to take the Mokoro boat ride down the river. The two of you sit with a guide pushing with a long stick and you see everything from a different perspective. So peaceful and wonderful. Again, I highly recommend this operation!!!

Room tip: They are all good
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PatrickLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews