We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Julien G
Fontenay-aux-Roses, France

Fantastic place

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Oct 2016
Having diner under the southern cross, enjoying the swimming pool with elephants all around, so many animals, lions, leopards, wild dogs...
Food is not far from being a one-star restaurant. Rooms are just beautiful.
Excellent service
Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Star gazing on the deck of the O Bona Moremi Safari Lodge.
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.5 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Lol.travel
8.6 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
5.0 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    £775
  • Lol.travel
3.5 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
£1,574
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £1,574
  • Agoda.com
9.1 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
Free parking
Pool
£982
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £982
  • Lol.travel
30.9 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
Free parking
View more hotels in Khwai
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
306
33
10
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
306
33
10
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews khwai river wild dogs game drives hot water bottles comfortable beds long table safari experience thought of everything mokoro ride other guests private reserve indoor and outdoor showers afternoon drives african adventure three days his knowledge excellent game viewing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
139 - 144 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2016

This lodge is pure bliss, situated on the bank of the river, the elephants entertained us through the day.... The staff from management to waiters and everyone else made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. Our guide, suitably name " Leopard" was excellent and had us entertained from the moment we got on the game drive vehicle... Game viewing was great and we saw so much... including a stunning female leopard.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank E2800SYjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 October 2016

Machaba Lodge is a wonderful place in a beautiful location with plenty of wildlife around. We ended up here rather by chance since the lodge we had orginally planned to go to was fully booked. Machaba turned out to be the best experience of our ten days, however.

The location is marvelous and there is indeed lots of elephants and hippos right in front of the tents, just like in the pictures. Staff is very attentive and easy. The food is excellent, the furnishing very elegant and sophisticated. Another thing we liked was that the whole camp is at ground level. In pictures, camps on poles usually look better in my opinion, but when you are there it can be very different. Dinner is served on a large table for all the guests and guides together, whilst you can have breakfast and lunch on your own. I have been told that there is some very slow Wifi available (seemingly enough for emails, but not really to upload photos). And for honeymooners, they have a lovely surprise up their sleeves (do not read too much of the other entries if you do not want to spoil it for yourselves!).

As for activities, you will have two long game drives, one in the morning and one in the evening. They take about three to four hours. There is also the chance to try the Mokoro - it is, however, only down a small river and can by no means replace Mokoro tours deeper in the Delta so if you are going there anyway, there is probably not much point in doing the Mokoro tour here. This is maybe the one thing you should be aware of: The place is great and has lots of wildlife (we had seven leopard sightings in only three days), more even than we have seen anywhere else in the Delta - however, beautful as it is, the place has no "Delta feeling" - it feels not very different from a Safari anywhere else in Africa. This is not to make a negative point about Machaba, only a warning that you should definitely plan for an additional camp deeper in somewhere.

Finally, I would like to pint out that our guide - Jonathan - was excellent. Homorous, knowledgeable, and at the same time not obtrusive. We really enjoyed our time together.

All in all, this might well be one of the top camps in Africa.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Grasovska
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We had a wonderful stay at Machaba Camp. The great staffmembers gave us a wonderful time. Fantastic food, great wines... The managers Elcke and Shaun are doing an amazing job! Also our "big thank you" to the wonderful guide Leopard, he gave us great memories. Thank you Machaba Camp!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RoelandWouters
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Had Moss as guide. He provided some amazing opportunities to view the animals and birds. All the staff showed a willingness to make the experience as good as possible. If you want a safari experience then I strongly recommend Mochaba.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LaurenceH400
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

Cannot recommend this camp highly enough. A combination of the feel of an old style safari camp complete with over stuffed furniture and memorabilia from a bygone age in the lounge, the attentative camp staff, the hot coal warmed dinners and of course the fabulous game drives. Our guide Sean was always bubbling with enthusiasm and found us wonderful sightings including multiple trips to a Cape Buffalo carcass as it was stripped to bare bones by the Hyena and every possible species of Vulture.

Our tents were luxurious and you could wake up to views of Elephant grazing outside in the river or listen to Hippo grunting as they wandered through at night.

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank jenk1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews