We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
BobN06
Avondale, Pennsylvania

Great location for elephant and hippo viewing

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 weeks ago
Located on the river with great views. Could use better signage, especially to the swimming pool but also to the rooms because there a multiple pathways. Staff is excellent. Food is excellent. Wifi in the rooms was spotty. Plenty of wildlife and quite a variety due to the proximity to the river. Tents were a bit worn and dated (carpeting had obvious wear marks, tray tables instead of side tables). Guides were great and we saw hundreds of elephants during one lunch.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Star gazing on the deck of the O Bona Moremi Safari Lodge.
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.5 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
Free parking
Restaurant
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
8.6 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
£986
Get rewarded with One Key
  • ZenHotels.com
    £749
  • Hotels.com
    £979
  • Lol.travel
3.5 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
£1,569
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    £1,569
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    £1,569
9.1 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
Free parking
Pool
The beautiful wooden balconies offer extensive views of the wilderness beyond.
£754
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £752
15.6 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
Free parking
Pool
£1,264
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £1,264
  • Tripadvisor
    £1,264
  • ZenHotels.com
12.0 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
Free parking
Restaurant
£979
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £979
  • Tripadvisor
    £979
  • Lol.travel
30.9 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
Free parking
Main deck at Semowi
£433
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    £54
45.1 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
Free parking
Restaurant
£978
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £978
  • Tripadvisor
    £978
53.2 miles from Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris
View more hotels in Khwai
Reviews (353)
Filter reviews
353 results
Traveller rating
306
33
10
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
306
33
10
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews khwai river wild dogs game drives hot water bottles comfortable beds long table safari experience thought of everything mokoro ride other guests private reserve indoor and outdoor showers afternoon drives african adventure three days his knowledge excellent game viewing
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 353 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2024

As a repeat visitor to the concession and a frequent traveller to the safari camps of Botswana, Machaba Camp truly delivers a wonderful luxury bush experience.

The hospitality team is attentive. Our glasses were never empty at meal times and the food was of good quality. Having read some of the previous reviews this got me the most worried but the culinary standards were above average throughout our stay.

The rooms are large tents and well furnished. Typical of the time of the year the heat in the day was unbearable but thankfully the nights and mornings are cool and refreshing. My group found that the best way to beat the heat was to use the swimming pool, which had a convenient cooler box stocked with whatever we wanted to drink.

Elcke and Shaun are personable and certainly attended to our every request or concern. We truly felt well taken care of and being a small camp certainly helped with that.

I was swept away by the Khwai concession a decade ago on safari. I'm pleased that most of the surroudings appear quite similar to how it was a decade ago. Of course animal movements change - once the stronghold of the African Painted Dogs, new interactions between predator and prey have made denning in the area less favourable - that said we still came across three separate packs of dogs in one single day, which is absolutely a highlight of the trip. Leopard sightings were intimate. Despite other camps and self drive visitors sharing the roads we never felt swarmed at any particular sighting.

The quality of the guiding was great - Moss was our guide and despite not having a tracker he was able to track many of our sightings. The excitement of going on safari in arguable in the pursuit of these animals, and being able to take time to study the signs and off-road certainly added to the experience.

A huge benefit for some is the fact that children are welcome on safaris. There were no young children visiting when we were there, but I'd think the rooms are spaced far apart enough that one would still get maximum privacy (and quiet).

Will certainly be back again in the future!

Room tip: Pool is adjacent to Room 1, which can be quite a trek away
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jakehyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Coordinator, Marketing at Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2024

Dear jakehyr

Thank you for taking the time to send us your glowing review of Machaba Camp! Your words truly capture the essence of what we aim to deliver - a luxurious yet authentic bush experience amidst the wildlife-rich landscapes of Botswana's Khwai concession.

Your appreciation of our attentive hospitality team, the culinary delights, and the comfort of our well-furnished tents warms our hearts. We understand the importance of attention to detail and are delighted that your expectations were not only met but exceeded during your stay.

It's fantastic to hear that you found solace from the heat in our refreshing swimming pool and enjoyed the personalized care provided by Elcke and Shaun. We pride ourselves on creating an intimate atmosphere where every guest feels valued and well looked after.

Your observations about the changing dynamics of the surrounding wildlife are insightful, and we're thrilled that you still had memorable encounters with African Painted Dogs and leopards. Moss and our guiding team are dedicated to providing exceptional safari experiences, and your praise for their efforts is truly appreciated.

We're pleased to know that our family-friendly environment didn't compromise your experience of privacy and tranquillity. Your intention to return in the future is the highest compliment we could receive, and we eagerly await the opportunity to welcome you back to Machaba Camp.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to creating more unforgettable memories with you on your next visit. Sincerely The Machaba Safaris team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2024

What a fantastic stay at the Machaba camp in the Okavango delta! From the melodious welcome greeting by the staff to the good byes, everything was more than what we could have wished for. All members of camp staff were extremely helpful and curteous.My sister in law and I are vegan and they catered to our needs at every meal. Food was amazing in quality and taste and we especially enjoyed the candlelit dinners. We got extremely lucky with Shaun as our guide. His passion for wildlife, nature and photography made every game drive a unique and a wonderful learning experience. It was the highlight of our trip.
We took the Mocorros (traditional water canoes) one morning. Highly recommend it. Riding through the waters covered in lilies was an unforgettable experience.
Tents are beautiful and very comfortable. My daughter looked forward to the African tales left on the bed during turn down every night. Lovely touch!
It takes many people to run a beautiful game lodge like the Machaba lodge but a special thanks to Elcka who works tirelessly behind the scenes to ensure everything is seamless and all guests are happy.
We will definitely return. Would love an option of a photographic safari with Shaun. He is a wealth of information. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Explore799036
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Coordinator, Marketing at Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2024

Dear Explore799036

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Machaba Camp in the Okavango Delta.

We were delighted to read your wonderful review and to learn that every aspect of your stay exceeded your expectations. It was our pleasure to accommodate your dietary preferences, and we're thrilled that you enjoyed our delicious vegan meals, especially the candlelit dinners.

We're incredibly fortunate to have dedicated staff members like Shaun, whose passion for wildlife and photography enhances our guests' safari experiences. It's wonderful to hear that your game drives with him were both unique and educational.

The traditional Mokoro ride sounds like it was truly magical, and we're thrilled that it left such a lasting impression on you. We agree that exploring the Delta's waterways amidst the lilies is an unforgettable experience.

Your kind words about our tents and the thoughtful touch of African tales during turn-down service bring us great joy. It's our aim to ensure every detail of your stay is memorable and comfortable.

We'll be sure to pass on your appreciation to Elcka and the rest of our team who work tirelessly behind the scenes to make sure everything runs seamlessly.

We're thrilled to hear that you plan to return, and a photographic safari with Shaun sounds like an excellent idea! We can't wait to welcome you back to Machaba Camp for another unforgettable experience. Sincerely The Machaba Safaris Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2023 via mobile

Good location; very helpful and courteous staff. Albert, the guide/tracker, was knowledgeable and diligent. The food, however, left everything to be desired. The service timing is most unsatisfactory. Morning Tea/coffee at 6 is accompanied by bread/cake hardly edible at that hour. No breakfast but lunch at 11:30. Not a convivial hour nor is the food palatable. 3 course dinner @ 8 but the soup is a mushy paste and the main course is more of a dessert. The daily diet has only survival value

Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Global61956482378
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Coordinator, Marketing at Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2023

Dear Global61956482378,
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We value your input and hope that you've also communicated your experience to your agent. This will enable us to collaboratively explore the specifics of your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2023 via mobile

We have just stayed at Little Machaba and whilst every single detail was outstanding, we have to say a special thank-you to three members of staff.
Santiago’s attention to detail and attentiveness made every evening experience world class
Chief is the kindest gentleman we have every met - doing anything and everything for us at any time
And BT, our guide …. Just outstanding. If you could package him and put him in a bottle for sale, you would be a millionaire! He made our experience with our family just sublime.
Thank you for creating memories that will last a lifetime for us and our children.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Coordinator, Marketing at Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2023

Dear Andrew D
We are utterly delighted to read your glowing review of your recent stay at Little Machaba. It's guests like you who make our efforts truly rewarding, and we can't thank you enough for taking the time to share your experience. It's wonderful to hear that you found every single detail to be outstanding. We're particularly grateful for your special mention of our exceptional staff members, Santiago, Chief, and BT.

Creating lasting memories for you and your family is our ultimate goal, and we're overjoyed to know that we've achieved that. Your appreciation and kind words are the greatest reward for our hard work.

Thank you once again for choosing Little Machaba, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to paradise in the future. Sincerely Tha Machaba Safaris team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2023

This is a great experience! Tents are luxurious to say the least and staff keeps them super clean! Really fun to see elephants walk right by, never felt unsafe as they accompany you after dark. Fall asleep listening to wildlife, what could be better.Super accommodating, brought us an extra chaise for the front so we could rest outside before the afternoon game drive! Dinners are family style with other guests, food is amazing & the bar is beautiful in the evenings. They have a nice pool which we didn't use as it was cool when we were there. August is winter so bring warm clothes for early mornings. Families are welcome here, there were a fair amount of kids when we stayed as school had not started yet. Could be good or bad depending on your perspective. We were paired with some talkative kids which had its cons on the safari drives- which are amazing. The camp is in a private reserve which makes seeing game amazing. It can get bumpy! A great place.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank needtogetaway2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Marketing Coordinator, Marketing at Machaba Camp - Machaba Safaris, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2023

Dear Needtogetaway2

Thank you so much for your amazing and detailed review! We're delighted to hear that you had a fantastic time at Machaba Camp in the Okavango Delta and that you enjoyed the luxurious tents, the close encounters with elephants, and the serene sounds of wildlife. It's wonderful to know that you felt safe and well taken care of during your stay.

Being a family-friendly camp is important to us, but so are our individual travelers. We acknowledge that kids on safari can provide a distinctive atmosphere, and we're pleased that you had the chance to fully appreciate our remarkable safari excursions. We highly value your feedback in this regard.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Machaba Camp. We hope to welcome you back to our camp in the future for more unforgettable moments in the wild. Sincerely Machaba Safaris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews