We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property
Enjoy a glass of rose in the Secret Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy a glass of rose in the Secret Garden
Comfortable Master Bed in Upper Gite 2 Cosy bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
191 reviews
Enjoy a glass of rose in the Secret Garden
Comfortable Master Bed in Upper Gite 2
Cosy bedroom
Stylish Gite
Modern Bathrooms with a twist
Secret Garden Cottage twin room - Time for bed
Another lovely bedroom
Private dining
Nearby Grottes - Stunning
Short stroll to the boulangerie in Ferrals
Nearby Carcassonne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ferrals-les-Corbieres, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 191 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Japanese first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
Frances S
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Very relaxing”
Reviewed 4 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Honor and Simon were wonderful hosts and we were made to feel very welcome with our toddler daughter.
We stayed in the Secret Garden Cottage which has a lovely private terrace with a barbecue adjoining the Secret Garden, perfect for summer evenings. The cottage is extremely comfortable and clean with an amazing bathroom with a family sized shower! The main bedroom is a good size with a very comfortable bed as is the twin room. The building has been very sympathetically renovated and the furniture is comfortable as well as attractive.
If you are travelling with children the property is great in that there is a pool and trampoline for them. Once the main gates are closed you can also relax knowing that they can't escape! There are also lots of toys in the playroom for kids to use. If you have a toddler though the apartments available at Maison de la Roche would probably be more suitable as the stairs at the Secret Garden Cottage are very steep.
We really enjoyed the wine tasting which gave a great overview of local wines, just a shame I couldn't remember much the next morning...... It was a great opportunity to meet other guests as well.
The surrounding area is marvellous because there really is something for everyone; castles, beaches, cycling, walking, Canal du Midi, markets, medieval towns and villages, and great restaurants if all the sightseeing makes you hungry.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: The lack of dishwasher - but I am quite lazy.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthersSe...
Sevenoaks
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Kid (& parent) Heaven”
Reviewed 4 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Lots has already been said....all I would add is....

1. My two year old son cried all the way to the airport about having to leave 'his' holiday home. My wife wasn't looking too happy either!
2. He has talked of nothing else for a week since.
3. We're booking again for next year.

Soooooooo much better idea than a Mark Warner style 'child friendly holiday' if your idea of fun is chasing minnows in a (warm) mountain stream rather than hitting golf balls while the kids are in a club! thanks to Simon, Honor, Holly & Bob for a memorable holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona P
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Break Away (a little luxury away from home..)”
Reviewed 1 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Having just returned from a week at Maison De La Roche, we would not hesitate to recommend to friends and family. The beautiful Gites are decorated and maintained to a high standard giving a little touch of luxury to your stay. The very warm welcome that greets you continues throughout your stay with recommendations tailored to your family… Honor has a great knowledge of the local area and can help plan your day - we took our 2 boys to some beautiful fishing areas (along with nets and buckets handily provided, not to mention the picnic basket), beaches and also to the Cite Medieval at Carcassonne. There is so much to explore in the area that for us a week was not long enough, will definitely revisit. After a days exploring we enjoyed nothing more than a dip in the lovely pool, catching up with the guests from the other 2 Gites & Honor (and family). Some nights we ventured to out to (quite rightly) recommended restaurants, some nights we stayed and had a BBQ in the 'Secret Garden' - couldn't ask for more. We had a lovely time & thank Honor, Simon & Holly for such a fabulous holiday and look forward to returning in the very near future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KizzienMa...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful gite, fantastic hosts, great area, jealous much!”
Reviewed 27 June 2012 for a stay in July 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We visited Maison De La Roche in July last year. The pictures looked lovely on the website and when we arrived at our gite we were not disappointed.
It's the attention to detail that made this place special (as well as fantastic hosts on hand when needed, pool toys, shopping bags, a selection of books, games & toys, washing machine etc etc). We stayed in the secret garden gite which is decorated beautifully and is well equipped with everything you need for your stay. The courtyard are is a lovely place to sit with a glass of wine in the sunshine (purchased from the very handsome man at the local vineyard). The pool is lovely, the kids spent lots of time in it while we chilled on the sun loungers. Honor & Simon were really friendly and helpful and always on hand if we needed advice/suggestions on places to visit.
We had a truly lovely week at the gite and wished we could have stayed longer as there is so much to do in the area.
We loved it so much that we have booked to go back with friends this year and recommended some other friends too who have just returned from a lovely holiday at Maison De La Roche.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim L
Harrogate
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly and well situated”
Reviewed 2 June 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We had wanted to visit the Carcassonne area for a while, and stayed for a week in the Easter holidays at Maison de la Roche, which was recommended by friends. Although the weather was disappointing (nobody to blame for that!), we had a lovely week. There is loads to see in the area and Honor and Simon are fabulously friendly hosts who were able to make lots of good suggestions for places to visit. We had our 6 year old with us, and he had a great time (not least because of the trampoline at the gites that he made good use of). There was a great variety of things to do and see within easy reach (by hire car) of the gites, which is very well situated close to the autoroute. The gites itself was spacious, and well equipped, though perhaps a little cold. To be fair, that was more to do with the weather outside, and it would probably be really welcome in hotter weather. We were able to get the heating turned on at extra cost, so we didn't have to suffer. All in all we would certainly recommend a stay here to anyone.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda K
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant October Half Term break”
Reviewed 29 November 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a really brilliant October half term break at Maison de la Roche. It was a surprisingly easy journey - a painless Ryanair flight from Stansted to Carcassonne and then straight into hire car and an easy drive to Ferrals les Corbieres.
The three Gites are part of a beautifully converted barn. Ours was spacious, comfortable and well equipped with thoughtful little touches. All three are slightly different but equally charming and finished with lovingly collected French details.
The local region is a photographer's dream, with lovely walks through vineyards to the neighbouring villages; especially beautiful with all the autumn colours and the weather was mostly blue skies and warm October sunshine.
Honor & Simon - the owners of the gites, could not have been more friendly & welcoming and gave us loads of information and suggestions for things to do during our stay. We visited Peyrepertouse an amazing ruined castle castle perched on a mountain which was breathtakingly beautiful, with stunning views. We took up Honor's suggestion of a trip to Spain to visit Salvador Dali's House in Port Lligat (she helped us to book it as well). It was a long drive, but so worth it! even our two boys (9 & 12years) were fascinated and came away completely inspired. And on our last day we took the boys to O2 a daunting assault course of tightropes, zipwires and rope ladders (and harnesses fortunately), which they absolutely loved. There were so many things to see and do; and we still had a relaxing time - we booked a masseur to come to the gite, which was a real treat, whilst the boys played happily in the garden with Holly (Honor & Simon's daughter) and Bob the dog.
Honor & Simon are so helpful and knowledgable about the area, and their enthusiasm about the region is infectious.
I would definitely recommend this place and will definitely be going back.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RonanOC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly delightful stay!”
Reviewed 5 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We chose Maison De La Roche out of a list of dozens of possible gites/villas in the region as, having an 18 month old in tow, we knew that we would be spending a lot of our time (including most evenings) in the gite and as such wanted somewhere that was comfortable, spacious, and well equipped with modern conveniences that would help make our stay as relaxing as possible and Maison De La Roche didn't dissapoint! With 2 spacious bedrooms, a large walk-in shower and a spacious open plan living area, anyone looking to stay in a beautifully appointed gite, tastefully designed with excellent attention to detail would be hard pushed to find better.

The hosts Honor and Simon were extremely friendly and welcoming and always on hand to offer advice and suggestions about local places to visit and eat and were on hand to book both a table in the local restaurant and a baby sitter to give us our one night out! On top of this our hosts booked us in for a number of other activities including a wine tasting evening with a master of wine on site, grape picking as part of the local winemakers Vendenges (who were happy to let our toddler eat his body weight in grapes) and Swedish massages (in our gite) all of which really helped make our holiday both relaxing and memorable. An abundance of toys in the parlour room also helped keep junior entertained when mama and papa needed to put their feet up!

The pool area and the secret garden are perfect for relaxing and unwinding on the days not spent exploring all the attractions that the locale has to offer and the barbeques and outdoor seating area meant we could relax in the courtyard within earshot of the gite.

The town of Ferrals itself is charming and the gite is within a short walking distance of the local boulengerie, bar and corner shop. 2 supermarkets and an excellent butcher are within 10 minute's drive and access to the Autoroute is only 10 minutes away making the airport and major towns and cities easily accessible.

Maison De La Roche promised an unforgettable holiday break and it delivered in spades - we are looking forward to returning in the very near future!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing