We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Staying here is a must!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Enjoy a glass of rose in the Secret Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy a glass of rose in the Secret Garden
Comfortable Master Bed in Upper Gite 2 Cosy bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
191 reviews
Enjoy a glass of rose in the Secret Garden
Comfortable Master Bed in Upper Gite 2
Cosy bedroom
Stylish Gite
Modern Bathrooms with a twist
Secret Garden Cottage twin room - Time for bed
Another lovely bedroom
Private dining
Nearby Grottes - Stunning
Short stroll to the boulangerie in Ferrals
Nearby Carcassonne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ferrals-les-Corbieres, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 191 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Japanese first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
Alison P
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Staying here is a must!!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I'm not gifted with being able to describe things as well as Stephen Fry but here goes:)
The Gite's and the welcome you receive at Maison de la Roche speak volumes...From the first emails I sent to Honor and Simon I felt at ease and wanted to book my holiday asap..
As we drove into Maison de la Roche I couldn't wait to see the rest of the property, having only seen little snippets from the photos they posted online.
It's a beautiful place, all the gite's are stunning, designed and decorated so beautifully and very clean.
They have thought of everything, we drove, so brought basically the whole house bar the kitchen sink...but we needn't have worried, they have shopping bags, cool bag, picnic hampers, towels, games for the children etc etc...even and Trampoline... and BOB the dog...(my boys love him)..Honor and Simon always took time to ask where we'd been that day or offer advice on stunning places to see and I tell you we saw loads, I think you'd need many trips to see even half of the pretty villages, towns and vin yards ( I wont get started on the fab wine).
Carcassonne is amazing, the jousting is a must, Ribaute for river swimming, Leucate, Port Vendres..all lovely. I won't waffle on, just go and see for yourselves......oh just one for thing.. the wine tasting with Matt Stubbs that Honor and Simon can arrange was very interesting and fun. We've already booked to go back next year as we love the area and Maison de la Roche so much..
Honor, Simon, Holly and Bob...Thank you for the best holiday I've had in years...:)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole holiday
Liked least: Having to come home..
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanePSWri...
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location for a family holiday”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of four (including two older teenagers) had a lovely relaxing fortnight based at Maison de la Roche. For us, it was all about the location:
• travel was straightforward – easy ½ hour drive from Carcassonne airport
• being so close to the motorway was great (easy to get to Narbonne and beaches), but equally you felt off the beaten track being based in Ferrals-les-Corbieres
• also easy driving on the back roads to the local villages and towns with lovely views of course
• we got to explore lots of different places – many on Honor’s recommendation
• food shopping was easy - croissants & bread a short stroll away in the village and supermarkets were only 5 minutes drive

Whilst it was easy to “do stuff” we also did a lot of lazing at the Gite - that’s teenagers for you! The swimming pool area was lovely and relaxing with plenty of sunbeds and option to sit in sun or shade.

We stayed in Gite 1 which was “spacious and homely” (quoting my son!) and perfect for all our needs and the bathroom/shower was fab. It was darker than Gite 2 which looked very light and sunny, but I think ours was probably cooler because it had more shade. N.B. The fans in each bedroom were very welcome at night-time as it was very hot when we were there! I missed being on the ground floor, but that’s purely personal choice and the Secret Garden Cottage is the one to book if that is your preference (would have been mine, but unfortunately the dates didn’t work for us).

Local restaurants were fine. The staff in Les Calicots (Fabrezan) and Café du Port (Paraza) were very friendly and we really enjoyed a lunch of fish and meat skewers at the La Voile Blanche restaurant on the beach at the far end of Les Ayguades (between Gruissan and Narbonne).

As every reviewer mentions, the owners are very welcoming and friendly hosts. It’s definitely advantageous to have them on site with all their insider knowledge and Honor’s timely suggestions. Our daughter loved the vide grenier on the Canal du Midi and I was happy to be shown a running route round the vineyard! The trip to Carcassonne Lake and the floats/inflatables were a great success – and Honor’s tip to get there early (11ish) meant that our teenagers had it to themselves (got busier after 12). Lagrasse was lovely and we also enjoyed a visit to the beautiful Abbey de la Fontaine (although be warned that the tour is all in French). Trips to the river at Ribaute and the beaches were also enjoyable although we did get sand-blasted one day - so don’t forget to check the wind speed on the weather forecast (unlike us…!). I also highly recommend the wine tasting evening that Honor organised – it was really enjoyable and a relaxing way to meet other guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidgLew...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing luxury away from the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We spent a week at Maison de la Roche in July after spending a few days touring through france.

We were greeted by Honour, Simon and Holly and made instantly welcome. The bread and cheese on the table and wine cooling in the fridge was brilliant, thank you!

The Gite itself was lovely, very well converted stone barn with a very comfortable living area, plenty of room around the kitchen table and a kitchen equipped with everything you need.

Both bedrooms were great with a lovely shower room with walk-in power shower and feature basin.

Outside there are two areas for BBQ's and relaxing whilst eating providing some shade from the sun and the pool area was cosy, private and great for a dip and relaxing on the sun loungers.

The surrounding area has loads to do with some pretty villages to visit, fab swimming in the local rivers and only about 40 mins to the beach at Narbonne.
Carcasonne was a good day out, but busy.

We would recommend this to people with kids of all ages from babies to teenagers and hope to visit again soon.

For foodies, Les Calicots in Fabrezan provided us with a lovely meal out on our last night.

Thanks again to Honour, Simon and Holly for being great hosts, always on hand with helpful advice and tips on where to go

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great luxury whilst retaining the rustic feel
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect! Charming French Gite, with great hosts!!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have Just returned from a week staying with our friends at Maison De la Roche. Wow !! What a fantastic place !! Credit to Honor, Simon, Holly and of course Bob who were great hosts from arriving to the end of our stay. The Gites are charming and well equipped. Honor gives it that special touch with some little French treats as a welcome which we loved!! A great base for exploring .. Thank you for making our holiday special and look forward to returning in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rustic Charm! Hospitality!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophie H
Chalais, France
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely and unique property to unwind easily in”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a great weeks holiday at Maison de la Roche.The property was lovely and spacious and very uniquely designed ,quirky we would say.The kids loved the pool and we very rarely had to share it with the other guests.the location is great ,we only had to travel 10 -15 minutes max to reach a beautiful river to swim in or restaurant to eat at. We really loved the fireworks display on Bastille Day at Carcassonne Castle. What an amazing place to visit when not Bastille Day too ! We enjoyed an evening wine tasting in the gardens of the property which was arranged by the owners ,it was informal yet informative.Would we return to stay at Maison de la Roche ?? YES definitely ,I am sure there is still so much for us to see and do .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlushGlas...
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Family Holiday with Friends”
Reviewed 15 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at Maison de la Roche. We had booked all 3 gites to accommodate three families holidaying together. The accommodation offered us all individual living space whilst providing us with a secure garden / pool area for the kids to play to their hearts content! The gites themselves are gorgeous .. lovingly designed and built with attention to every little detail .. and complete with everything you could possibly need including picnic hampers which were used regularly on our trips around the area. The holiday allowed us to spend time both relaxing by the pool and visiting local attractions like Carcassone and the beaches which were both within easy reach of the village. Honor, Simon and Holly were fantastic hosts who helped to ensure we had a fantastic holiday.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy H
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A rustic & charming holiday with a home from home feeling”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The gite is a welcome sight and is totally in keeping with the surrounding area. We felt it was secure and safe for our daughter with plenty of things for her to do whilst we were relaxing! Honor & Simon were extremely helpful and were always there to offer advise and tips without being intrusive. We had a wine tasting evening arranged for us which was really informative and led to a BBQ with all the other residents and the hosts. Outside of the charming residence there was plenty to do with activities to suit everyone, with lots of different options & information in the folder in the gite. Lots of wonderful restaurants to visit at lunchtime and evenings. We were so well looked after and can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The relaxed atmosphere
Liked least: Only staying for one week!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing