We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent stay and great place for wine tasing”
other travellers have booked this property
Enjoy a glass of rose in the Secret Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy a glass of rose in the Secret Garden
Comfortable Master Bed in Upper Gite 2 Cosy bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
191 reviews
Enjoy a glass of rose in the Secret Garden
Comfortable Master Bed in Upper Gite 2
Cosy bedroom
Stylish Gite
Modern Bathrooms with a twist
Secret Garden Cottage twin room - Time for bed
Another lovely bedroom
Private dining
Nearby Grottes - Stunning
Short stroll to the boulangerie in Ferrals
Nearby Carcassonne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ferrals-les-Corbieres, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 191 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Japanese first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
Familysum...
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“excellent stay and great place for wine tasing”
Reviewed 23 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed in all three gites as a family on a week's wine tasting tour that we do each year in a different region of France. It is extremely helpful Honor and Simon on site, and their English is excellent. They were very attentive and more than happy to advise and book arrangements. Honor arranged for a Master of Wine to provide a wine tasting in the evening outside in the courtyard. Matthew (surname forgotten) was simply excellent and a great help in arranging where to visit in the region. We also had a brilliant day with Wendy Gedney on a wine tour of the Minervois. All the gites are very well equipped and tastefully decorated. Gites 1 is quite shady and the stairs down from gites 1 and 2 are extremely steep. However Honor provided us with a stair gate to protect our very young grandchildren. The courtyard itself is very safe for young children. The pool is excellent and well maintained by Simon, who is the type of person you would like to take home with you and he is so useful around the house. This was a very enjoyable holiday in a very good accommodation with helpful and attentive owners on hand. We highly recommend Maison de La Roche and the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire H
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What's not to like?! Fabulous place for a holiday”
Reviewed 6 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

It's difficult writing a good review; I want people to know how good the gites are but I sort of want to keep them a secret too ...... We have just come back from a week at la Maison de le Roche and it surpassed any (good) expectations that I might have had.

Our gite was spacious, incredibly well equipped, clean, and tastefully decorated. There is a playroom with toys, an amazing pool, loads of space, lots to do nearby (do not miss Narbonne, Lagrasse, Carcassone, Ribaute, wine tasting at the local vineyard, the list goes on) and last, but not least, the wonderful owners, Honor and Simon. They are lovely, easy going and very approachable with lots of local knowledge. I could actually spend the entire summer there, but sadly my boss would not understand...

We will be coming back, if not next year then another time soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Can't decide!
Liked least: Wifi accessibility
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsEYorkie
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A sparkling, fabulous hidden gem in the heart of the south”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Just got back from a week in Gite 1, and have a severe case of the holiday blues! This is not just because of the location of this little piece of paradise that Honor & Simon have been fortunate enough to acquire, but also how well we were looked after during our stay.

From the very first point of contact, Honor was a wealth of information and advice, and I knew instantly we would have a fantastic time. I normally tend to over-research anywhere I visit, but was confident for this trip that I didn't need to buy any guide books or do any research, as her head is full of different daytrips depending on personal tastes/agendas/children's ages etc. And I was so right - she was on hand whenever we wanted, to offer tips and advice to make the most of our stay. We were also so lucky that we hit it off straight away with the other families, which was another bonus, and the chidren all played beautifully together around the pool and eventually in & out of each other's gites), but there is also enough space for each family to have their privacy too if required. One of the best things is that it has a locked front gate which only works with a key fob or a punched code so can't be opened by little ones, meaning the entire property is safe for the children to roam around freely, as they can't go anywhere other than back to your fridge to raid it! One particular feature which should be mentioned more is that there is an ENTIRE ROOM that is essentially one of the most well-equipped playrooms I've ever seen outside of a daycare centre. Books (for adults too) board games, dressing up stuff, toys, swimming equipment - they've got it all here. There are barbecues to cook outdoors, and the gites have literally everything you will need (except swimming towels) for a holiday away from home. They have picnic hampers and blankets to take on day trips, coolboxes, cupboards full of cleaning products and a few store cupboard essentials, everything you need to get started, with the bonus of a small welcome pack on arrival too - in fact, you'll struggle to find something that you are left wanting for. And for anything you CAN'T find to hand, there are 2 huge supermarkets just 10 minutes drive away.

The gites are beautifully decorated too - the photos don't do them justice at all, restored very sympathetically to the building's age - Simon's done a great job on the restoration, and Honor on the interior design - it looks like it's been a real labour of love.

The area itself is just perfect for all tastes - If you have a desire for history there is Carcassonne, and the various abbeys/monasteries/chateaux in the area, plus lots of other historic towns that we didn't get a chance to visit. If you want to kick back and relax, there's the small but perfectly formed pool, and the secret garden to sit and relax in with a good book, or perhaps borrow one of their collection of hundreds of DVDs if the weather's not up to much. There are beaches approx 30 minutes drive away, or for adrenalin junkies, there's a paragliding centre 5 minutes up the road, treetop climbing centres, kayaking, plus there's river swimming, caves, markets, beautiful villages & towns, vineyards (and a local winery within staggering distance if you fancy a quick tasting sesh!) I could ramble on forever, but essentially, in every direction from the property, there are so many varied options for day trips, or quick visits; most are within 30 minutes, so not too taxing for children, if you have them.

Our personal favourites were: river swimming at Ribaute - and it was only thanks to seeing Honor coincidentally being there with her family, who forced my daughter into the river with her, which meant we had to go back the next day with one of the other families from the gites, to show them the spot! Another was Carcassone, very busy but very beautiful, and also Lagrasse - not much there, but a very pretty town, with lovely restaurants. Somail is a great spot to see part of the Canal du Midi, and hire small motorboats to tour up and down, or take a 2 hour boat tour. The other high point, was the wine tasting evening - very civilised, and certainly influenced our wine purchases for the rest of the holiday!

This place was slightly beyond our intended budget for the week, but I promise you that it is worth EVERY penny, just to be in one of the most picturesque and unspoilt areas of France, in one of the highest quality properties (and remember, there are only 3 gites, so it's very intimate and means no stress around the pool - there are enough sunbeds for all, which is worth the money in itself!)

So please go, and go with an open mind and empty itinerary, as Honor will certainly take you under her wing and help you have the holiday of a lifetime! Absolutely brilliant - thanks millions guys!! xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - can't specify!
Liked least: The limited locations to get wifi connectivity
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison P
Crawley, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Staying here is a must!!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I'm not gifted with being able to describe things as well as Stephen Fry but here goes:)
The Gite's and the welcome you receive at Maison de la Roche speak volumes...From the first emails I sent to Honor and Simon I felt at ease and wanted to book my holiday asap..
As we drove into Maison de la Roche I couldn't wait to see the rest of the property, having only seen little snippets from the photos they posted online.
It's a beautiful place, all the gite's are stunning, designed and decorated so beautifully and very clean.
They have thought of everything, we drove, so brought basically the whole house bar the kitchen sink...but we needn't have worried, they have shopping bags, cool bag, picnic hampers, towels, games for the children etc etc...even and Trampoline... and BOB the dog...(my boys love him)..Honor and Simon always took time to ask where we'd been that day or offer advice on stunning places to see and I tell you we saw loads, I think you'd need many trips to see even half of the pretty villages, towns and vin yards ( I wont get started on the fab wine).
Carcassonne is amazing, the jousting is a must, Ribaute for river swimming, Leucate, Port Vendres..all lovely. I won't waffle on, just go and see for yourselves......oh just one for thing.. the wine tasting with Matt Stubbs that Honor and Simon can arrange was very interesting and fun. We've already booked to go back next year as we love the area and Maison de la Roche so much..
Honor, Simon, Holly and Bob...Thank you for the best holiday I've had in years...:)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole holiday
Liked least: Having to come home..
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanePSWri...
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location for a family holiday”
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our family of four (including two older teenagers) had a lovely relaxing fortnight based at Maison de la Roche. For us, it was all about the location:
• travel was straightforward – easy ½ hour drive from Carcassonne airport
• being so close to the motorway was great (easy to get to Narbonne and beaches), but equally you felt off the beaten track being based in Ferrals-les-Corbieres
• also easy driving on the back roads to the local villages and towns with lovely views of course
• we got to explore lots of different places – many on Honor’s recommendation
• food shopping was easy - croissants & bread a short stroll away in the village and supermarkets were only 5 minutes drive

Whilst it was easy to “do stuff” we also did a lot of lazing at the Gite - that’s teenagers for you! The swimming pool area was lovely and relaxing with plenty of sunbeds and option to sit in sun or shade.

We stayed in Gite 1 which was “spacious and homely” (quoting my son!) and perfect for all our needs and the bathroom/shower was fab. It was darker than Gite 2 which looked very light and sunny, but I think ours was probably cooler because it had more shade. N.B. The fans in each bedroom were very welcome at night-time as it was very hot when we were there! I missed being on the ground floor, but that’s purely personal choice and the Secret Garden Cottage is the one to book if that is your preference (would have been mine, but unfortunately the dates didn’t work for us).

Local restaurants were fine. The staff in Les Calicots (Fabrezan) and Café du Port (Paraza) were very friendly and we really enjoyed a lunch of fish and meat skewers at the La Voile Blanche restaurant on the beach at the far end of Les Ayguades (between Gruissan and Narbonne).

As every reviewer mentions, the owners are very welcoming and friendly hosts. It’s definitely advantageous to have them on site with all their insider knowledge and Honor’s timely suggestions. Our daughter loved the vide grenier on the Canal du Midi and I was happy to be shown a running route round the vineyard! The trip to Carcassonne Lake and the floats/inflatables were a great success – and Honor’s tip to get there early (11ish) meant that our teenagers had it to themselves (got busier after 12). Lagrasse was lovely and we also enjoyed a visit to the beautiful Abbey de la Fontaine (although be warned that the tour is all in French). Trips to the river at Ribaute and the beaches were also enjoyable although we did get sand-blasted one day - so don’t forget to check the wind speed on the weather forecast (unlike us…!). I also highly recommend the wine tasting evening that Honor organised – it was really enjoyable and a relaxing way to meet other guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidgLew...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing luxury away from the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We spent a week at Maison de la Roche in July after spending a few days touring through france.

We were greeted by Honour, Simon and Holly and made instantly welcome. The bread and cheese on the table and wine cooling in the fridge was brilliant, thank you!

The Gite itself was lovely, very well converted stone barn with a very comfortable living area, plenty of room around the kitchen table and a kitchen equipped with everything you need.

Both bedrooms were great with a lovely shower room with walk-in power shower and feature basin.

Outside there are two areas for BBQ's and relaxing whilst eating providing some shade from the sun and the pool area was cosy, private and great for a dip and relaxing on the sun loungers.

The surrounding area has loads to do with some pretty villages to visit, fab swimming in the local rivers and only about 40 mins to the beach at Narbonne.
Carcasonne was a good day out, but busy.

We would recommend this to people with kids of all ages from babies to teenagers and hope to visit again soon.

For foodies, Les Calicots in Fabrezan provided us with a lovely meal out on our last night.

Thanks again to Honour, Simon and Holly for being great hosts, always on hand with helpful advice and tips on where to go

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great luxury whilst retaining the rustic feel
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzanne A
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect! Charming French Gite, with great hosts!!”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have Just returned from a week staying with our friends at Maison De la Roche. Wow !! What a fantastic place !! Credit to Honor, Simon, Holly and of course Bob who were great hosts from arriving to the end of our stay. The Gites are charming and well equipped. Honor gives it that special touch with some little French treats as a welcome which we loved!! A great base for exploring .. Thank you for making our holiday special and look forward to returning in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rustic Charm! Hospitality!!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing