We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant”
other travellers have booked this property
Enjoy a glass of rose in the Secret Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy a glass of rose in the Secret Garden
Comfortable Master Bed in Upper Gite 2 Cosy bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
191 reviews
Enjoy a glass of rose in the Secret Garden
Comfortable Master Bed in Upper Gite 2
Cosy bedroom
Stylish Gite
Modern Bathrooms with a twist
Secret Garden Cottage twin room - Time for bed
Another lovely bedroom
Private dining
Nearby Grottes - Stunning
Short stroll to the boulangerie in Ferrals
Nearby Carcassonne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Ferrals-les-Corbieres, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 191 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Italian first
Japanese first
Norwegian first
Any
English first
CiaraSNot...
Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We booked this gite after reading all the fantastic reviews and we weren't disappointed. The gite is fabulous, spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and well equipped. The location puts you in easy reach of lots of things to see and do-kyaking, walking, cycling routes plus lots of spectacular sights. The owners Honor and Simon were friendly and helpful. We would recommend and hope to return ourselves in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lotta70
Vasteras, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful vacation”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed in this lovely gite for a wonderful week in June. We were warmly welcomed by Honor and Simon and spent a perfect week in the cosy apartment. What could be better than a warm sunny week with newly baked baguettes and croissants from the local bakery for breakfast, nice bicycle tours along the Canal du Midi, sunny days on the beach and picturesque medieval villages to stroll in?

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCassidy
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect holiday”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Our holidays usually start with me having a strop as soon as we step into the accommodation. There is always something; whether it be poorly cleaned rooms or the wrong kind of bed linen.. Yes, I am picky. So it was a huge surprise (and a relief!) to both the husband and me to enter a truly beautiful, clean and very tastefully renovated and decorated gite. The open kitchen and living room area was huge (we stayed at the Upper Gite 1) and the bedrooms were large and lovely. The piece de resistance, however, I found to be the absolutely stunning bathroom. It is not often than you find yourself preferring the shower at your holiday accommodation but it was the case here.

Honor, the owner of the Gite, had left us a fresh baguette, cheese and a bottle of rose to start off our holiday well.

The gite had a well stocked kitchen with microwave oven, "real" oven and a hob. No dishwasher but I found we didn't really use enough dishes to make me annoyed of having to hand wash. There was also a television and a DVD player. All rooms, including the living room, had fans which came in handy as the weather was 30C most days. I had expected the bedrooms to get hotter at night considering they were at the upper level, but found the fans ensured we were kept cool enough. There was even a cooler bag, plastic picnicware and a beach bag in the gite (all came in handy).

All three gites share access to a washing machine, and most times we found it to be available when we needed it. There are also hoovers and mops available. Another added perk was a playroom which had a selection of toys, sand buckets, fishing nets for catching small fish etc. Perfect, as it means you don't have to pack or buy all that stuff that you will need on your holiday but then not again for at least a year.

The two upper gites share a landing but this isn't obtrusive at all - all accommodation is very private. If anything, the other guests were lovely and we often shared tips on what to see and where to go - and which wines to try. Everything also felt very secure as the Maison is behind a locked gate; we got very lazy about locking our door as we really didn't feel we needed to.

The pool was our favourite spot, of course. Shared by the three gites, we still had it all to ourselves on most days we decided to have a lazy day and not venture out. There are plenty of sun loungers even if everyone decided to use it at the same time. The pool is surrounded by some tall trees which do dictate a little bit how much sun it gets on some of the sides but on the other hand it can get quite hot and some shade is lovely.

Maison de la Roche is in a very accessible area close to the A61. The village itself has a small bakery, so you can easily get your "daily bread". Two supermarkets are about 5mins away along with a pharmacy, butchers, bakery etc. One tip would be to definitely have cash on you at all times, we found a lot of places didn't take cards (like the tapas bar in Ferrals-les-Corbieres). The closest ATM is at the Intermarche. There is so much to do and see nearby, especially the old cathar castles. There are also caves, some of which still have some ancient cave paintings in them. Honor has compiled a very, very useful "bible" on what to see and we definitely recommend that you take her up on the tips. She is usually also always at hand with suggestions and tips on markets, festivals etc and really knows her stuff. We found ourselves doing things we would never had otherwise even thought of, such as spending a day at the water cascades at Ribaute (a must!). Bring towels, a blanket and a picnic as well as some of the small fishing nets from the play room and you will have the best day. Another thing I would definitely recommend you do, is the wine tasting that Honor can arrange with a local expert. We did this with another couple and had a really fantastic evening. It is not often you get a Master of Wine all to yourself! It was lovely as it wasn't at all pretentious and we got to ask all the stupid questions that had been on our minds, like; does red wine come from red grapes and white wine from white grapes... Added bonus was that he left us with whatever was left of the wine so we all got together and continued "tasting" into the early hours.

If I had to find some negatives, the WIFI was a bit patchy (but a great excuse not to check those work emails, like you shouldn't anyway when on hols!)

Honor and Simon are very friendly and knowledgeable hosts and we left feeling like we had made new friends. What they have done with Maison de la Roche is really wonderful; they have truly created a holiday heaven. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful accommodation and the pool. Oh, and there are NO mosquitoes!!
Liked least: Patchy wifi
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for such a fantastic review. You were perfect guests and we thoroughly look forward to seeing you again. You won't have any more problems with the WIFI (which was much stronger in the other gites) as we have now added another router to get through those thick stone walls!! See you soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A comfortable, relaxing place to stay”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We enjoyed our stay here, in a beautiful well appointed gite which has been tastefully done out, with a well equipped spacious kitchen and modern bathroom. It was lovely to have the pool to cool down in after a hard day sightseeing or playing at the beach! Honor was a friendly and helpful host, with lots of tips and recommendations on where to go and things to do.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny655
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I wish there was a higher rating to give this lovely gite!”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

I have just returned from a wonderful 2 weeks in France. I choose my accommodation based on previous tripadvisor reviews although they seemed almost too good to be true. Well this little corner of the Languedoc deserves all the rave reviews and more. The location is a wonderful base to explore and even after 2 weeks I had so much more I wanted to do. The gite is beautifully appointed- spacious, well-equipped, beautifully decorated (also the bathroom was great, brilliant power shower which is something you usually don't get in this type of accommodation).
However what makes this place truly out of the ordinary are the hosts Honor and Simon - I know it has been said before but they have an amazing ability to be incredibly welcoming, always there if you need them, fabulous advice but at the same time never ever intrusive.
SO many things I enjoyed but highlights would be the Bella Mia cruise on the Canal de Midi, wine-tasting in the garden of the property, a magical piano recital in a little church in a nearby village which I went to with Honor and her friend. Also an unexpected brilliant experience was the "Flyzone" - simulated parachute jump just 5 minutes away. My son has learning difficulties and the staff there went out of their way to make sure he could do it too - they got an extra instructor for him and were just lovely.
In the words of Arnold "I'll be back"!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: I liked everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stewart R
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Superb gite & pool, fantastic countryside, great hosts”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We spent a week at Maison De La Roche in June with our two young children (2 & 6 months). The gite was very well equipped and decorated to a very high standard. The accommodation was child friendly (cot was provided), with a large playroom full of toys which our daughter really enjoyed. There were some steep steps upto the gite, but not a problem with some care and attention. There are numerous places to sit and relax or eat and drink around the grounds & the pool was excellent. Our daughter also enjoyed the trampoline. The only change I would suggest would be a larger BBQ - the small cauldron BBQs look great, but I struggled to cook anything properly before the charcoal was spent.

Honor and Simon were great hosts and had lots of ideas of things to do. Some of the highlights of the holiday were picnic and paddling in the river at Ribaute, lunch at Café Du Port in Paraza over-looking the Canal du Midi, and the wine tasting evening that Honor arranged with local wine expert Matt Saunders at the gite.

This was our second visit to the Languedoc area, and we'll definitely go again, as there is so much to see and do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accomodation, pool, location
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIchelle1...
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Picture perfect”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A perfect location for touring a beautiful region. Our gite was spacious,comfortable and stylish. The secret garden and pool area are beautiful.
Honor was on hand when we needed her for a man flu emergency and day trip/restaurant/market/beach suggestions. Nearby walks through the vineyards, visits to Narbonne and scenic drives towards Spain via Collioure were highlights.
There is so much to see and do in the area.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing